View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:01 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
The OTA DTV stations are beginning to advertise that a rescan of your digital channels will be necessary after analog cutoff. This hasn't been much explained, but it appears that they intend to drop the channel numbers which were based on the old analog channel numbers (ie: 5.1, 8. 1) for the actual digital channel numbers (41, 9).

How will Schedules Direct and the Mythtv guide cope with this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:31 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
In my area, some of the channels are moving assigned frequencies after the February DTV switch. I am going to do the channel scan in mythtv-setup. Then get the line-ups new channels running mythtfilldatabase with the refresh-all option:

Code:
mythfilldatabase --refresh-all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
I really don't think SD and MythTV will have anything to do as the guide data is already there. As novellahub stated, scan and refresh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:01 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
novellahub wrote:
In my area, some of the channels are moving assigned frequencies after the February DTV switch. I am going to do the channel scan in mythtv-setup. Then get the line-ups new channels running mythtfilldatabase with the refresh-all option:

Code:
mythfilldatabase --refresh-all


I noticed recently that three PBS OTA stations in my area were not tunable by my HDHR anymore. There were a couple of cable channels that my HDHR could no longer tune as well (Tuner 1 is cable, Tuner 0 is OTA).

I rescanned both Tuners and found that there were many more cable channels scanned than before.

So, what's changed? Many of these "new" channels are tunable by my PVR-250, so they were not encrypted. Why suddenly can my HDHR "see" these channels? (most of them are reported as nonsense channel numbers (i.e., 103#3, etc)).

It's not much fun "decrypting" the channel information so that the channel guide looks...well, more professional...and I know I'm not alone in my feelings about this, so I'll shut up about it and hope that the correct channel information is someday included in the broadcast signal...someday...

I'm thinking that preparing for the "deactivation" of my PVR-250 would be prudent.

Am I barking up the right tree or what?

I'd rather use my HDHR than the PVR-250 as the picture quality is much better, so I have no complaints if my PVR-250 gets retired.

Anybody else seeing this?

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
novellahub wrote:
In my area, some of the channels are moving assigned frequencies after the February DTV switch. I am going to do the channel scan in mythtv-setup. Then get the line-ups new channels running mythtfilldatabase with the refresh-all option:

Code:
mythfilldatabase --refresh-all

Is there a way I could assign this command to a button in the Mythtv GUI - so my non-Linux friends can activate the command without my help?

The channel rescan process, with a forced mythfilldatabase at the end was just needed on Feb.18 because some of the digital channels in Minneapolis changed channel numbers at midnight on Feb.17-Feb.18.
The same process is going to be necessary again when we come the final anlog-off date in June, when Minneapolis DTV stations are going to change frequency, channel number, etc.

Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
neutron68 wrote:
Is there a way I could assign this command to a button in the Mythtv GUI

Of course!

Code:
$ diff /usr/share/mythtv/tv_schedule.xml /home/mythtv/.mythtv/tv_schedule.xml
279a280,291
>     <button>
>        <type>TV_REFRESH</type>
>        <text>Update Listings</text>
>        <action>EXEC xterm -fn *18* -e mythfilldatabase --refresh-all</action>
>     </button>

>     <button>
>        <type>TV_RESCHED</type>
>        <text>Re-schedule</text>
>        <action>EXEC mythbackend --resched</action>
>     </button>
>

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
From my understanding, the original channel numbers will remain so that folks can go to their favorite just as before which is the reason for the mapping process. With the digital they now may have more options as in the original analog transmission it was a single station. Switching to digital allows that same bandwidth to carry more than a single stream of data so there could be possible 4 streams. ie, .1 .2 .3 .4

With the total shutdown of the analog transmitter, some stations will be coming back on air with the same channel assignment only now with a digital signal. I believe for those situations a rescan would be advisable as while the station was running both the analog & digital, the digital would have been on a different temporary channel which could be someone elses future digital carrier when the switch over is completed.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Code:
$ diff /usr/share/mythtv/tv_schedule.xml /home/mythtv/.mythtv/tv_schedule.xml
279a280,291
>     <button>
>        <type>TV_REFRESH</type>
>        <text>Update Listings</text>
>        <action>EXEC xterm -fn *18* -e mythfilldatabase --refresh-all</action>
>     </button>

>     <button>
>        <type>TV_RESCHED</type>
>        <text>Re-schedule</text>
>        <action>EXEC mythbackend --resched</action>
>     </button>
>
Hi Nigel. Thanks for stepping forward with a method. I'm not sure what to do with this, however.

I see the new button names and the code to perform the actions. That makes sense.
Then, I see a diff command (which I've never used before ) and 2 different file names listed - add this button code to BOTH of the files? And where in the files does it get added?

I need a little clarification, if you have time.

Thanks,
Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
diff compares two files and shows how they differ. In this case it's telling you that after line 279, 11 lines (280-291) were inserted (the '>' in the first column) with the contents shown.

What you should do is copy the file from /usr/share/mythtv:
Code:
cp /usr/share/mythtv/tv_schedule.xml /home/mythtv/.mythth/tv_schedule.xml

Then add the 11 lines shown. If you're moderately clever you can do it via cut and paste from a browser to a shell session (edit the file with nano).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
The diff isn't quite ready to use as a patch (I should've used diff -u). I assumed you would just edit the file and add those lines near the end, but yes, I can clarify. As the mythtv user (i.e. start an xterm with Alt-X),

Step 1: Create a patch file
Code:
cat >/tmp/sched.patch
--- /usr/share/mythtv/tv_schedule.xml   2008-07-02 14:05:15.000000000 +1000
+++ /home/mythtv/.mythtv/tv_schedule.xml        2009-01-16 23:32:18.000000000 +1100
279a280,291
>     <button>
>        <type>TV_REFRESH</type>
>        <text>Update Listings</text>
>        <action>EXEC xterm -fn *18* -e mythfilldatabase --refresh-all</action>
>     </button>
>
>     <button>
>        <type>TV_RESCHED</type>
>        <text>Re-schedule</text>
>        <action>EXEC mythbackend --resched</action>
>     </button>
>
and press control-D. Note that the last line has a space and newline after the >

Step 2: Make a copy of the existing Scheduling menu:
Code:
cp /usr/share/mythtv/tv_schedule.xml /home/mythtv/.mythtv/tv_schedule.xml


Step 3: Add those sections in:
Code:
cd /home/mythtv/.mythtv
patch tv_schedule.xml </tmp/sched.patch


Step 4: Restart the frontend, go into the TV -> Schedule Recordings menu, and try the button.


If you have problems with the patch, I can put the patch file up somewhere on the Wiki. I will need to know what version of the menus you have, though (e.g. mythbackend --version)

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
neutron68 wrote:
novellahub wrote:
In my area, some of the channels are moving assigned frequencies after the February DTV switch. I am going to do the channel scan in mythtv-setup. Then get the line-ups new channels running mythtfilldatabase with the refresh-all option:

Code:
mythfilldatabase --refresh-all

The channel rescan process, with a forced mythfilldatabase at the end was just needed on Feb.18 because some of the digital channels in Minneapolis changed channel numbers at midnight on Feb.17-Feb.18.
The same process is going to be necessary again when we come the final anlog-off date in June, when Minneapolis DTV stations are going to change frequency, channel number, etc.
Eric


On a separate note on those PBS stations changing, I have reported the lineup changes to Schedule Direct. They replied and said the lineup change is being sent Tribune. So far schedules direct still has the old listing lineups of the KTCA 17 set that does not exist anymore. I was able to scan for the new channels but they are associated still with the old channels.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: got it
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Thanks very much for the lessons, everyone. :D

nigelpearson wrote:
I assumed you would just edit the file and add those lines near the end

Yes, that's what I plan to do. I fully understand that process - including copying text from this forum and pasting it into an SSH (putty) window, with the nano editor running.

Now that you've explained the diff command and process, the process does make sense to me. However, in this particular situation, it seems like a lot of steps to perform just to insert 10 lines of text. So, I'll print and file this knowledge in my Knoppmyth 3-ring binder for future reference.

addition:

I just started the edit process and looked for the 2 files mentioned and discovered that there was no /home/mythtv/.mythtv/tv_schedule.xml file. Should there be? I have R5.5 installed with auto upgrade.

After adding the edits to the /usr/share/mythtv/tv_schedule.xml file and saving the file, the desired menu options are available to me in the Mythth GUI menus. I guess this is the file that matters, of the 2 mentioned?

Thanks again,
Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: got it
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
neutron68 wrote:
I just started the edit process and looked for the 2 files mentioned and discovered that there was no /home/mythtv/.mythtv/tv_schedule.xml file.


Step 2, Eric :)

Having a local copy of any menu changes you make means that it will keep working between backup/upgrade cycles of KnoppMyth

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Step 3 is profit?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 7:18 pm
Posts: 55
Thanks for the info! You guys helped me a lot.

Two of our channels (by an amazing coincidence the two channels that broadcast about 90% of the shows we watch) stopped working. Rumor was that they are neighbors physically so they share a common power supply and it went out... But it turned out to just be a rescan thing.

Our local PBS station now suggests to "rescan monthly". :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu