View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
Has anyone tried it at all?
seems that you can buy it... be keen to read a review...

Nathan

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:17 am
Posts: 359
I can't comment on the Aussie Model, but I can say the US product is great, and the company itself is wonderful. They had an issue with their wall-wart power supply, and they did an excellent job getting it fixed. You learn a lot about companies/people by how they fix their problems, and they handled that one beautifully. SiliconDust is good people.

I don't think I have EVER seen a negative comment on the net.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
nmcaullay wrote:
Has anyone tried it at all?
seems that you can buy it...


Errr, where from?

I have been waiting for this for 3 years, but their web page still says "In development"

http://www.silicondust.com/products/hdhomerun_dvbt

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 6:25 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Perth, WA
http://www.hdhomerun.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 3:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
Thanks for the link (wish they linked to that from the main site).

Just bought one. Will report as soon as it succeeds (or fails?)

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
OK. It works, but MythTV needs patches to use it. See this ticket: http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/6274

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
Impressive... buy the hardware... then patch the software yourself... 4 days from order to patch... nice work...

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:40 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 464
Location: UK
Does anybody know when or where we'll be able to buy the HDHomeRun DVB in the UK?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
Yes - the Silicondust guys were pretty quick preparing a patch.

As for UK purchases, mayke ask on one of Silicondust's forums. They may already be negotiating a dealer? If not, I'm sure Lako Pacific will ship it out to you for a bit extra.

Note that the device's box is actually labelled "HDHR-EU (AU)". A snoop around in its config yesterday revealed channel tables for europe, australia and taiwan.

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
Nigel, do you have a HDRN-DVB? Perhaps I can provide you a patched MythTV (for R6) to test?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
cecil wrote:
Nigel, do you have a HDRN-DVB? Perhaps I can provide you a patched MythTV (for R6) to test?

I do, although I am in the middle of testing/applying/improving Silicondust's patches, and that is taking much of my spare time.
So yes, but don't hurry.

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
mad_paddler wrote:
Does anybody know when or where we'll be able to buy the HDHomeRun DVB in the UK?

http://pctvok.com/catalog/product_info. ... ucts_id=28

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I have bought one and it has arrived. I haven't installed it yet as my Mythbox's main drive died and I will have to reinstall from scratch. I will be loading LinHES R6.00.07 sometime during the week and I would really like to get my HDHomeRun working during this time.

Let me know what you need.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Sydney, Australia
Well, the patches have been in SVN trunk and 0-21-fixes for a while, so all you need is an updated libmythtv (to record) and mythtv-setup (to scan).

Of course, a newer build of the rest of mythtv works, too. Hopefully, Cecil has something you can upgrade with pacman?

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Yeah I am still fighting with my R6 box at the minute, trying to tidy up some lose ends. I will wait till I hear back from Cecil.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu