View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:39 am
Posts: 25
I just added an ATI HDTV Wonder to my R5.5 backend. I have Comcast in the Philadelphia area. I just want clear QAM so I set it up as a "DVB DTV capture card (v3.x)" and left all the other settings as defaults. I set up the source channel listing to "Local Broadcast Listings" from schedules direct. I attached the two as an input connection and scanned for channels using the frequency table as "Cable" and the modulation as "Cable (QAM-256)". It seemed to scan well and found all of the channels that I expected. I quit mythtv-setup, and ran mythfilldatabase. I launched MythWeb and scheduled a manual recording on channel "3.1" with no errors in the mythtv logs. An invalid 376B (byte?) recording was produced every time. I tried other channels also with the same result.

My other tuner is a firewire connection using a SA 4250HDC and it works very well.

I searched all over for a solution. Any ideas? Where else should I look? Thanks in advance...


Last edited by tombongo on Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:39 am
Posts: 25
Just a little update:

I have spent countless hours trying everything that I could think of so far. I decided to take MythTV out of the equation and follow the old manual steps to adding ATSC channels to MythTV without the later MythTV steps.

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Adding_Digit ... USA/Canada)

I used scan with the /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/atsc/us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256 input file. It found 348 channels and created a channels.conf file. I then ran the clean up script because the channel names were not clean or unique. I then ran the mencode scan.sh script. It only created two AVI files. This didn't seem like it could be correct so I decided to use mplayer to tune channels directly. I used my cable box's service menus to figure out the frequencies of each the clear QAM 256 channels. I then looked up the lines in the channels.conf that correspond to those frequencies. I then used mplayer with the corresponding "channel names" from the channels.conf file to tune and watch those channels.

Guess what, they ALL worked. So if I can tune and watch them with mplayer than why can't I with MythTV?

Does mplayer and MythTV use different drivers/software/etc?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:39 am
Posts: 25
I was looking through the database and verified that all of the frequencies, card ids, multiplex ids, etc all looked correct. I even compared it to a friend's database with a Hauppage 1250. I can't find anything wrong. I was even looking in the MythTV backend log and all looked exactly as I would expect, but no valid recordings. I also see NO errors. Are there ways to make MythTV more verbose or other logs to look at?

The database looked like this:
Code:
+--------+---------+----------+----------+-----------+------------+------------+-----------+
| chanid | channum | callsign | sourceid | frequency | modulation | sistandard | serviceid |
+--------+---------+----------+----------+-----------+------------+------------+-----------+
|   4121 | 12.1    | WHYY-DT  |        4 | 615000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         1 |
|   4031 | 3.1     | KYW-DT   |        4 | 615000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         2 |
|   4123 | 12.3    | WHYY-DT  |        4 | 615000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         4 |
|   4122 | 12.2    | WHYY-DT  |        4 | 615000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         3 |
|   4571 | 57.1    | WPSG-DT  |        4 | 687000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         1 |
|   4101 | 10.1    | WCAU-DT  |        4 | 729000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         2 |
|   4102 | 10.2    | WX-PLUS  |        4 | 729000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         5 |
|   4063 | 6.3     | WPVI-WX  |        4 | 729000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         4 |
|   4062 | 6.2     | WPVI-SD  |        4 | 729000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         3 |
|   4061 | 6.1     | WPVI-HD  |        4 | 729000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         1 |
|   4291 | 29.1    | WTXF-HD  |        4 | 747000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         2 |
|   4171 | 17.1    | WPHLD (  |        4 | 747000000 | qam_256    | atsc       |         1 |
+--------+---------+----------+----------+-----------+------------+------------+-----------+


Code:
+--------+----------+
| cardid | sourceid |
+--------+----------+
|     20 |        4 |
|     11 |        1 |
|     18 |        4 |
+--------+----------+


The important part of the channels.conf file that I made with scan and use with mplayer:
Code:
144:615000000:QAM_256:144:145:3
145:615000000:QAM_256:208:209:4
146:615000000:QAM_256:16:17:1
147:615000000:QAM_256:80:81:2
257:687000000:QAM_256:16:17:1
291:729000000:QAM_256:272:273:5
292:729000000:QAM_256:208:209:4
293:729000000:QAM_256:144:145:3
294:729000000:QAM_256:80:81:2
295:729000000:QAM_256:16:17:1
296:729000000:QAM_256:336:337:6
329:747000000:QAM_256:16:17:1
330:747000000:QAM_256:80:81:2


The log looked like this when I attempt a recording:
Code:
2009-03-03 12:57:40.052 Reschedule requested for id 203.
2009-03-03 12:57:40.222 Scheduled 44 items in 0.2 = 0.01 match + 0.15 place
2009-03-03 12:57:40.236 TVRec(18): ASK_RECORDING 18 0 0 0
2009-03-03 12:57:40.467 TVRec(18): Changing from None to RecordingOnly
2009-03-03 12:57:40.473 TVRec(18): HW Tuner: 18->18
2009-03-03 12:57:40.547 AutoExpire: CalcParams(): Max required Free Space: 3.0 GB w/freq: 15 min
2009-03-03 12:57:40.551 Started recording: 3.1 (KYW-DT) "Tue Mar 3 12:53:00 2009": channel 4031 on cardid 18, sourceid 4
2009-03-03 12:57:41.189 TVRec(20): ASK_RECORDING 20 0 0 0


Also, the wiki says to check for the following in dmesg when the system is booting:
Code:
CORE cx88[0]: subsystem: 1002:a101, board: ATI HDTV Wonder [card=34,autodetected       ]
TV tuner 68 at 0x1fe, Radio tuner -1 at 0x1fe
tuner 1-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (cx88[0])
tuner 1-0061: type set to 68 (Philips TUV1236D ATSC/NTSC dual in)
PCI: Found IRQ 9 for device 0000:02:0b.2
cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:02:0b.2, rev: 5, irq: 9, latency: 32, mmio: 0xe1000000
cx88[0]/2: cx2388x based dvb card
nxt200x: NXT2004 Detected
DVB: registering new adapter (cx88[0]).
DVB: registering frontend 0 (Nextwave NXT200X VSB/QAM frontend)...


R5.5 says:
Code:
Linux video capture interface: v2.00
cx88/0: cx2388x v4l2 driver version 0.0.6 loaded
Switched to high resolution mode on CPU 0
cx2388x alsa driver version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.6 loaded
ohci1394: fw-host0: OHCI-1394 1.1 (PCI): IRQ=[18]  MMIO=[e0002000-e00027ff]  Max Packet=[2048]  IR/IT contexts=[4/8]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:05.0[A] -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
cx88[0]: subsystem: 1002:a101, board: ATI HDTV Wonder [card=34,autodetected]
cx88[0]: TV tuner type 68, Radio tuner type -1
cx88[0]/0: found at 0000:01:05.0, rev: 5, irq: 16, latency: 32, mmio: 0xdc000000
tuner' 1-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (cx88[0])
tuner-simple 1-0061: type set to 68 (Philips TUV1236D ATSC/NTSC dual in)
cx88[0]/0: registered device video0 [v4l2]
cx88[0]/0: registered device vbi0
cx88[0]/2: cx2388x 8802 Driver Manager
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:05.2[A] -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:01:05.2, rev: 5, irq: 16, latency: 32, mmio: 0xde000000
cx88_audio: probe of 0000:01:05.1 failed with error -2
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1f.5[B] -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1f.5 to 64
cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared
cx88[0]/2: subsystem: 1002:a101, board: ATI HDTV Wonder [card=34]
cx88[0]/2: cx2388x based DVB/ATSC card
nxt200x: NXT2004 Detected
DVB: registering new adapter (cx88[0])
DVB: registering frontend 0 (Nextwave NXT200X VSB/QAM frontend)...


Is the newer driver OK? It looks like it loaded OK. Is it safe to assume that if mplayer can do it, so should MythTV? I think that mplayer uses the video ID and audio ID, but MythtTV doesn't. Is this correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:39 am
Posts: 25
I hesitated to say solved, because I gave up and did a fresh install to a hard drive that I planned on upgrading to anyway. I don't consider that a real solution, but the card worked right away with no special configuration. I just added it like any normal DVB capture card. I am not sure if this will help anyone, but that was my solution...


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu