View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:01 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
I recently found that I was no longer able to tune in Comcast digital channels 704 (KRONDT2) and 712 (KBCW). The usual process of rescanning did not help. Some more digging showed that these channels had been moved to 519mhz in my area. Here is how I resolved the problem on R5.5:

1. Deleted the row for 519mhz from the table dtv_multiplex

2. Deleted all rows in table channel that reference the row deleted in step 1.

3. In mythtv-setup, input connections, allow tuning of encrypted channels and allow tuning of audio-only channels.

4. Full rescan, minimal updates.

I was now able to tune in 704 on freqid=73, serviceid=1; 712 on freqid=73, serviceid=5. If anyone requires more detailed instructions, let me know.

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
This is totally weird, but I noticed I can't receive OTA broadcasts for channels 2, 4, and 5 in Santa Clara. I haven't had the time to look into why -- I just assumed something went wonky in my receiver card. I'm away from home for a few days so it will be a little while before I can look into it, but I wonder if something happened during the great "transition"...

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:44 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
Joe, there are two possibilities. First try simply re-scanning -- this solved it for my brother who lives in Ohio and uses OTA. It also appears that some of the stations haven't yet turned up to full power yet, so some people are having temporary reception problems w/ some of the channels.

My problem was caused by all the massive channel juggling that Comcast is doing as they do their own conversion...

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
The odd thing is all my OTA stations were working before "the switch" but FOX (2), KRON (4), and NBC (5) failed afterwards. It's probably just my setup since no one else is screaming here. No Simpsons?!?! Oh, the humanity!

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu