View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 2:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I had been having problems getting my HDHomeRun to record, so I was happily doing maintenance on my system includigg a full system upgrade and now I can't get MythTV to use my HDHomeRun.

Backend Log says this when trying to use the tuner:
Code:
2009-07-26 23:03:18.274 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Playback
2009-07-26 23:03:18.277 adding: mythtv as a client (events: 0)
2009-07-26 23:03:18.281 TVRec(6): Changing from None to WatchingLiveTV
2009-07-26 23:03:18.288 TVRec(6): HW Tuner: 6->6
2009-07-26 23:03:18.292 HDHRChan(12103c69/1): device found at address 192.168.254.84
2009-07-26 23:03:18.301 TVRec(6) Error: Failed to set channel to 1. Reverting to kState_None
2009-07-26 23:03:18.302 TVRec(6): Changing from WatchingLiveTV to None


From my investigation I believe I have killed MythTV's channel changing ability, I have tried to upgrade the software for the HDHomeRun but this has had no effect.

Can anyone point me in the right direction, thanks guys.

_________________
Girkers


Last edited by Girkers on Sat Aug 08, 2009 1:51 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
Hey Girkers,

Not sure if youve got anywhere with this yet, but i had the same problem... full system upgrade (using pacman), and the hdhomerun stopped working... so i installed the libraries and the hd_homerun_gui again, and did the mysterious ldconfig, and could scan using hdhomerun tools...

To get my myth working again, I had to downgrade the pacman installed mythtv package (I cant remember the previous version). I did this by executing a command something like this
Quote:
#pacman -U /data/something/something/pacman/cache/pkg/mythtv-previousversion


Then, the scanning, and tuning and watching and recording all worked again... it seemed it was nothing (or little) to do with the hdhomerun install, and more to do with the mythtv upgrade breaking something.

Hope this helps,

Nathan

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
Just incase someone come across this thread, or I forget what I have done to solve my own problems...

Any pacman update beyond mythtv-0.21-73 (at the moment the latest is mythtv0.21-76) does not work with my hdhomerun dvb-t.

I issue the following commands for a systemwide updgrade
Code:
#pacman -Sy
#pacman -Sfuv

This updates everything including mythtv. Watchtv and recordings do not work after this sort of upgrade. I need to downgrade mythtv to mythtv-0.21-73 to get the watchtv and recordings to work with hdhomerun device.
Code:
#pacman -U /var/data/cache/pacman/pkg/mythtv-0.21-73.i686.pkg.tar.gz

Thought I might post the info, incase anyone else encounters the problem, or knows what has happened since mythtv-0.21-73?

Cheers,

Nathan[/code]

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
What changeset is in mythtv 73?
There was a hdhomerun patch that was made recently in SVN that stopped the mythtv package from building. As a result I reversed the patch in the PKGBUILD. That was done for 75.
20877 was the offending changeset.
If you happen to have -74 lying around, id be interested in the changeset number for that one too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
Hi Greg,

mythtv 73 was the last working version i have cached. I must have missed 74, as I only have 75 and 76.

I'll get the changeset number when i get home tonight, is it the 5 digit number in the system information screen?

Cheers,

NAthan

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Does anyone know if this has been fixed yet?

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
From memory I tried 76, and it didnt work, so I reverted to 73. I dont have 74 in cache, so am not sure if 73 or 74 is the last working version for hdhomerun.

I'm guessing that the hdhomerun patch that made svn compile fail could be fixed by now, and the patch could be re-applied? This maybe just wishful thinking.

For now, I'm staying at 73.

Nathan

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
out of interest, on the svn pages for mythtv, the following patches/changesets look to be interesting/related...

hdhomerun fixes reconnection problems
http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/6672

fixes some compiler errors
http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/changeset/21016

Multirec for hdhomerun, I would really like this :)
http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/6138

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
According to the two bugs you quote they were fixed in release 20877, how does that number relate to the releases of MythTV that we have on LinHES?

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I don't have a /var/data directory, I do have a /var/cache/pacman directory but that is empty.

Ahh it is /data/var/cache/pacman/pkg/mythtv-0.21-73-i686.pkg.tar.gz

I too don't have a 74 version, just been skipped over. Something that may be of interest I did a pacman upgrade today and there was the latest released firmware for the HDHomeRun in the repos and was installed.

I will regress to 73 and see if my HDHR works again.

[edit] Scanning is now working again[/edit]

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
cesman has pushed a new version of mythtv without the changeset 20877 reversion. Please test and report back regarding hdhomerun functioning.

New version is mythtv-0.21-78-i686.pkg.tar.gz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
will try tonight, thankfully its easy to rollback if it doesnt work.. hopefully i can get to the box before the cricket starts..

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:07 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
The new mythtv works a treat.... with the hdhomerun... so, whatever wasnt applied seems to have made the difference...

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 1:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I too can confirm that the latest update to version -78 works. Thanks Cecil fo getting this update out, it is a big relief.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu