LinHES Forums
http://forums.linhes.org/

Rip audio of TV?
http://forums.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=14392
Page 2 of 3

Author:  cliffsjunk [ Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:07 am ]
Post subject: 

You know what we really need to do is have a process listen
to your favorite audio TV channel when the box is idle, you
know the 50 extra channels that the satellite company gives
you so they can claim 250 channels instead of 200...

Use OCR on the video to get the title and artist, save the audio
as an MP3/OGG with filename and ID3 taken from the OCR.

I recall someone did some of this a couple years ago (probably
not for MythTV) and posted it, but got shut down quickly.

Cliff

Author:  tscholl [ Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:01 am ]
Post subject: 

cliffsjunk wrote:
You know what we really need to do is have a process listen
to your favorite audio TV channel when the box is idle, you
know the 50 extra channels that the satellite company etc.....

Cliff


Now that sounds like a cool idea.

Author:  mythedoff [ Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:22 am ]
Post subject: 

Thank you for this script.

In trying it out I find that it can over-write files. I've added %STARTTIME% to the output filename.

/usr/local/bin/myth2mp3 "%FILE%" "%TITLE% - %SUBTITLE% - %STARTTIME%" "%CHANID%" "%STARTTIME%"

And perhaps switching %SUBTITLE% - %STARTTIME% to %STARTTIME% - %SUBTITLE% to help with sorting episodes of the same title.

Author:  kit [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:16 pm ]
Post subject: 

tscholl wrote:
cliffsjunk wrote:
You know what we really need to do is have a process listen
to your favorite audio TV channel when the box is idle, you
know the 50 extra channels that the satellite company etc.....

Cliff


Now that sounds like a cool idea.


I added a custom menu entry in library.xml to play the audio from a channel. The screen remains on the library menu, but I have separate speakers for sound, so I can turn the TV off.

Code:
# library.xml
   <button>
      <type>HAUPPAUGE_STREAM</type>
      <text>Listen to TV</text>
      <action>EXEC /home/mythtv/bin/hauppauge_audio.sh</action>
   </button>


And in mythtv/bin/hauppauge_audio.sh:
Code:
cat /dev/video | mplayer -vo null -

Author:  tscholl [ Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:14 am ]
Post subject: 

Kit,

Thanks for the update!~ No channel selection required? Or are you making the selection from your cable sat box?

Tim

Author:  kit [ Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:10 pm ]
Post subject: 

Tim,

You're right. The channel is selected through the cable/sat box. It was a quick hack to get the music channels.

Author:  brfransen [ Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:56 pm ]
Post subject: 

I have updated myth2mp3 so that it will no longer overwrite existing files.

Britney

Author:  Too Many Secrets [ Wed Aug 20, 2008 1:18 pm ]
Post subject: 

brfransen wrote:
I have updated myth2mp3 so that it will no longer overwrite existing files.

Britney


This isn't working for me in 5.5 is it the ffmpeg issue? Nothing pops in the log. I've got myth2ipod working so I'm not looking forward to recompiling ffmpeg if I don't have to... TIA

Author:  babblefish [ Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:39 pm ]
Post subject: 

Quote:
This isn't working for me in 5.5 is it the ffmpeg issue?


I believe there is an (upstream) issue that has been introduced into mythtranscode which causes it to fail for DVB radio recordings where mythtv has provided a dummy video stream. myth2mp3 is using mythtranscode to process the cutlist. I have always used nuvexport for this task and it also uses mythtranscode and as a result suffers from this issue in R5.5.

Would this explain your issue?

This is the last thing preventing me from upgrading to R5.5. I may have to go straight to ffmpeg and accept that the whole recording will be converted without cutlists.

Author:  Too Many Secrets [ Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

babblefish wrote:
Quote:
This isn't working for me in 5.5 is it the ffmpeg issue?


I believe there is an (upstream) issue that has been introduced into mythtranscode which causes it to fail for DVB radio recordings where mythtv has provided a dummy video stream. myth2mp3 is using mythtranscode to process the cutlist. I have always used nuvexport for this task and it also uses mythtranscode and as a result suffers from this issue in R5.5.

Would this explain your issue?

This is the last thing preventing me from upgrading to R5.5. I may have to go straight to ffmpeg and accept that the whole recording will be converted without cutlists.


Well like I say, nothing dumps in the myth2mp3 log so I don't have much to detail. I run from the recordings prompt and it sits in the queue, then within seconds displays successful completion but nothing in the /myth/music directory.

The script uses ffmpeg to transcode to mp3. I was just thinking that this was one of the ffmpeg problems that has reared it's ugly head.

Author:  brfransen [ Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:37 am ]
Post subject: 

Too Many Secrets wrote:
The script uses ffmpeg to transcode to mp3. I was just thinking that this was one of the ffmpeg problems that has reared it's ugly head.

The problem was the ffmpeg codec that myth2mp3 was using (mp3) is not in R5.5 but the LAME mp3 encoder (libmp3lame) is. I have updated myth2mp3 to v0.7. This version works in R5.5 with or without cutlists for me.

Britney

Author:  mythman13 [ Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:21 am ]
Post subject:  cutlist not working for me

Hi thanks, this is a very neat script but it seems to have a few problems for me. I've downloaded the latest version 0.7 using wget and then made it executable with a chmod +x myth2mp3 but it only seems to procduce an audio extract with a recording that does not have a cutlist or if I select "use cutlist = N" in the script itself. I've got a new version of ffmpeg (not the one that came with R5.5) because I wanted to get the mythweb flash player working. If I run the script manually from the command line ffmpeg errors out with:
Code:
/myth/tmp/toMP3-5756.mpg: no such file or directory
chown: cannot access `/myth/tmp/toMP3-5756.mp3': No such file or directory

Which suggests to me that the temporary file that was meant to be created with the cutlist using mythcommflag and mythtranscode does not exist and hence why ffmpeg errors out.

Has anyone else experienced this or is there some subtle method I must follow to get it working with the cutlist?

Thanks,
Mythman

Author:  brfransen [ Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:59 am ]
Post subject: 

Mythman,
If you have USECUTLIST=Y then you have to feed the script 2 extra parameters, CHANID and STARTTIME so that mythtranscode can pull out the cutlist:
Code:
/usr/local/bin/myth2mp3 "%DIR%/%FILE%" "%TITLE% - %SUBTITLE%" "%CHANID%" "%STARTTIME%"
If you didn't provide CHANID and STARTTIME I would expect the error you are seeing.

Britney

Author:  mythman13 [ Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:13 am ]
Post subject: 

Hi Britney,
Thanks for the advice, sorry for the delay in replying.
I think you're right - it was erroring out because I running it manually without all the commands.
So I've added it to the job list in the mythtvbackend setup so that I can just run it. I've ensured it is exactly the same command as you've posted.
However it gets stuck with the status "job queued" in the mythfrontend.
I've ensured that I've run chmod a+x on myth2mp3 and chmod a+w on myth2mp3.log and it seems to run fine manually if the file dosen't have a cutlist. So I tried selecting usecutlist=N in myth2mp3 and the same problem happens. Also it doesn't matter whether the file has a cutlist or not in either case.
Am I missing something?
Thanks,
Mythman

Author:  brfransen [ Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:26 pm ]
Post subject: 

If the status never changes from "Job Queued" then Myth is never running the job for some reason. What is in the myth2mp3.log file? Do any other jobs get run?

Britney

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/