View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: KM Distro
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:07 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Minnesota- Brrrrr!
I am interested in using Webmin and need distro info to determine if KM is supported.

I found this on the KM pamphlet:
Quote:
With the release of KnoppMyth R5, KnoppMyth is no longer remastered but built from scratch using Debian GNU/Linux and the wonderful programs from Knoppix.


I also found this blurb that (in general?) distro information can be found in \etc\release or a variant therof:

Quote:
there should be a file in the /etc directory called "release", or some variation of it. if you cat that file, it'll tell you the distribution & the release info. for instance, in red hat, it's called /etc/redhat-release. in suse, it's /etc/SuSE-release. in solaris, it's just /etc/release. note: for suse, i don't remember if it's "suse" or "SuSE". you'll have to confirm. or, just type 'cat /etc/*release'.


I was unable to find this in KM. That bein said Webmin supports "Debian Linux" and has a downloadable Debian package here: http://www.webmin.com/support.html.

I would appreciate any guidance \ warning before I try to apply this to my system. I would hate to booger up my KM box without taking due diligence. Thanks.

_________________
R7.3: 0.22.20091023-1, Hauppauge PVR-500 (Philips FQ1236A MK4), Gigabyte Gigabyte EG45M-UD2H, E5200 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 256MB


Last edited by gatorback on Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:19 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 4:14 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Webmin 1.350 already is included in KnoppMyth R5.5 (and has been for quite a few releases). To start it, as root, run
Code:
# /etc/init.d/webmin start

To have it start automatically when your system boots, run
Code:
# update-rc.d webmin defaults

It may be activated by default in R5.5; I cannot remember if I activated it myself or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Webmin
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Minnesota- Brrrrr!
Thanks akulcsar. I was curious if webmin was running so I tried this:

Code:
 ps -ef | grep webmin


and the system returned:
Code:
user    21482 21433  0 05:50 ttyp1    00:00:00 grep webmin


So I guess that it is already running. Now I need to go off to Webmin Wiki to learn how to access Webmin.

Turns out that I had to start the webmin process and point the browser to port 10000.

_________________
R7.3: 0.22.20091023-1, Hauppauge PVR-500 (Philips FQ1236A MK4), Gigabyte Gigabyte EG45M-UD2H, E5200 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 256MB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 9:08 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
This is covered in the R5.5 Hints, with full instructions for setting it up.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu