View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: MythTV appliance?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 9:28 pm
Posts: 60
I'm currently running my frontends on XBOX. I'd like to start looking at upgrading to a frontend that can handle HD content from HD HomeRun or the Hauppague HD PVR.

Any advice on using AppleTV? How about the Roku HD1000 - it looks nice but it doesn't look like anyone's building Myth for it.

Any other choices?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:02 pm
Posts: 95
Some idea of what type of HD content you want to record/view would be helpful.

HD HomeRun (480p, 720p, 1080i mpeg2)


Hauppague HD PVR (480p, 720p, 1080p h.264)

HD PVR also offers adjustable bitrates.

So quite a choice of HD content formats and bitrates.

AppleTV
-- 480p, 720p, 1080i mpeg2 -> no problem
-- 480p, 720p h.264 (low to mid bitrates) -> no problem
-- 1080p h.264 -> not a chance.

Roku HD1000
-- 480p, 720p, 1080i -> no problem
-- h.264 -> not a chance
-- obsolete hardware/software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:36 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 9:28 pm
Posts: 60
The HDHR is recordring QAM from cable. I don't record HD now, but I would in the future.

I also have a PVR-500 recording analog cable.

The HDPVR would connect to a STB (either cable or satellite). I would like to record HD content via component video.


Just a side question... Can I hook up more than one HDPVR to a backend?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:51 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
jjoshua wrote:
Can I hook up more than one HDPVR to a backend?
Yes, you can. Plus remember at some point you'll have to take network bandwidth into consideration (think recording multple shows at once).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MythTV appliance?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 am
Posts: 389
jjoshua wrote:
I'd like to start looking at upgrading to a frontend that can handle HD content from HD HomeRun or the Hauppague HD PVR.

If you plan on playback of H.264 content like the HD-PVR, then you will need a lot of CPU power to decode (Core2Duo or better). IMHO, H.264 is the future and everyone is using it or similar encoding (DirecTV, cable, Flash video, etc...). A new Mac mini or similar would make a good frontend. Too bad Apple has not updated the mini with a new graphics/motherboard chip set, but the processor is good enough. There is speculation that they are updating the mini similar to the new Mac books (nVidia mobile), but there is also speculation that they are going to dump it altogether.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu