View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:12 am
Posts: 80
How does one change scheduling defaults? HD playback stutters on my system (2.4 gHz 300mb ram -- help!), so I want to configure scheduling defaults so that everything Myth captures (via HDHomeRun), by default is immediately converted to lower quality media.

NooBill


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:07 pm
Posts: 821
Location: Melbourne, Australia
If it does it immediately, you won't be able to watch anything for a long time. Transcoding takes a lot of CPU time and you'll probably find it an even less desirable alternative.

Incidentally, this sort of thing is well documented and, well, kind of obvious (start at Utilities/Setup --> Setup). There's also a HOWTO at http://www.mythtv.org/docs/mythtv-HOWTO-23.html#ss23.14

Regards

Mike

_________________
*********************
LinHES 7.4
Australian Dragon
*********************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:12 am
Posts: 80
Okay, you and a few experiments convinced me, I'm best off keeping the raw recording. Three questions.

You said this sort of thing is well documented... but I've been searching for my card, my tuner, stuttering, and coming up with squat :( -- can you direct me?

How do I change my screen resolution? Maybe reducing 800x600 to 640x480 will help reduce stuttering?

Also, if I swap out ram or my display card (in hopes of alleviating this horrible display stuttering), how do I get knoppmyth to update my hardware configuration without having to re-autoinstall it?

Recap:
OSD (on screen display, menues, CC etc.) almost halts playback. Otherwise, playback constantly stutters slightly.

_________________
==========
Knoppmyth R6 Preview auto - Dell Dimension 2400 2.4 GHz - 1.2gb ram - Sparkle GeForce 8400GS (was MX4000 128MB) PCI TV-out - HDHomeRun dual ATSC over gigabit. It's not Greek to me, just Linux


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu