View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
My HD tuners are the two HD HomeRun tuners. One is set up for over-the-air tuning, the other for QAM channels over cable.

Woke up this morning to discover that MythTV didn't record the Lost season premiere last night. Ouch. It thought there was a conflict, since Lost goes to 10:02 and I was also recording Law and Order in HD. However, since I have two HD tuners that shouldn't be a conflict.

The problem seems to be due to slight differences in the callsign vs channel name, for OTA vs QAM, in my database.

For instance, the primary HD channel for the local ABC affiliate is channum 7.1 for both tuners 2 and 3 (my two HD tuners). However, the callsign for Tuner 2 (OTA I think) is "WJLADT" and callsign for Tuner 3 is "WJLA-HD" Similarly for channum 7.2... different callsigns "WJLADT2" versus "WJLA-SD" where both channel names are "WJLA-SD"

I was going to use MythWeb to make things consistent but thought I'd post here first to see if anyone else has had this problem, and if anyone thought I'd be screwing something up if I did so. I imagine I'll have to possibly delete and re-enter some shows to record.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:05 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:48 am
Posts: 852
Location: London, UK
I am wondering if this is relevant, so please ignore if it's not.

A while ago I reordered my channels through mythtv-setup and accidentally gave two channels the same channel number. On the one occasion I wanted to record on a channel that shared the same channel number it recorded something else.

All I needed to do was renumber one channel so it was unique and problem was solved. So I think yes, it should solve without any issues.

_________________
Version:R8
Intel C2D 7400, Nvidia 5600 via HDMI to Samsung B37B650TW (PAL), Asus P5QL-E mobo, 4Gb PC6400 DDR2 ram, Samsung Spinpoint 500 Gb & 1Tb drive, Nova-HD-S2 (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
Yep, definitely a related problem, and the fix was indeed to standardize on callsigns and channel names. No more conflict at 10:01 PM when both Lost and Law & Order are recording... two tuners will record as they should. Will have to add this to my installation cheat sheet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:05 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:48 am
Posts: 852
Location: London, UK
Glad to hear it. When I read your post I hadn't been up long so was half asleep!

Good you got it sorted tho.

_________________
Version:R8
Intel C2D 7400, Nvidia 5600 via HDMI to Samsung B37B650TW (PAL), Asus P5QL-E mobo, 4Gb PC6400 DDR2 ram, Samsung Spinpoint 500 Gb & 1Tb drive, Nova-HD-S2 (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Girkers and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu