View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:19 pm
Posts: 70
Based on a recent experience with a new 5.5 install, it appears
that if somebody leaves a single-tuner backend running in
"live-TV" mode, then no programs will be recorded until
somebody exits the live TV mode.

I thought there was a configuration option that would allow
scheduled recordings to override live-TV mode, but I haven't
been able to come up with Google keywords that have revealed
the mysql table/entry to tweak.

Is there a way to configure R5.5 so that a scheduled recording
will override live TV?

_________________
Grant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:52 am
Posts: 187
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Not sure if this is what your looking for

Utilities/Setup -> Setup -> TV Settings -> General

at the bottom their are some check boxes.

"Avoid conficts between live tv and scheduled shows"
"Allow live tv to move scheduled shows"

Mine are both unchecked and and I have experienced it boot me from a live tv session in order to meet a recording. (it gives a menu to continue watching or switch to recording if I recall)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:19 pm
Posts: 70
goofee wrote:
Not sure if this is what your looking for

Utilities/Setup -> Setup -> TV Settings -> General

at the bottom their are some check boxes.

"Avoid conficts between live tv and scheduled shows"
What that does is tell live tv to start grabbing tuners at the
other end of the list. If there's only one tuner, it doesn't
matter which end of the list you start at.
Quote:
"Allow live tv to move scheduled shows"

Mine are both unchecked
As are mine.
Quote:
and and I have experienced it boot me from a live tv session in
order to meet a recording. (it gives a menu to continue
watching or switch to recording if I recall)

So it didn't "boot" you. It prompted you to allow the
recording to start. In my experience, if you aren't there to
respond to the prompt, the recording wouldn't have been made,
and "live TV" mode would have continued running.

_________________
Grant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:52 am
Posts: 187
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Grant_Edwards wrote:
If there's only one tuner, it doesn't
matter which end of the list you start at.
Agreed.
Grant_Edwards wrote:
So it didn't "boot" you. It prompted you to allow the
recording to start. In my experience, if you aren't there to
respond to the prompt, the recording wouldn't have been made,
and "live TV" mode would have continued running.

It prompts "Record and Watch", "Record and Exit to Main Menu", "Don't Record, I Want to Watch TV". Record and Watch is highlighted by default and after a 30 second timer expires it auto tunes to the recording channel and lets me watch it as it records.
This is on the MBE/FE machine if that matters.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:19 pm
Posts: 70
goofee wrote:
It prompts "Record and Watch", "Record and Exit to Main Menu",
"Don't Record, I Want to Watch TV". Record and Watch is
highlighted by default and after a 30 second timer expires it
auto tunes to the recording channel and lets me watch it as it
records. This is on the MBE/FE machine if that
matters.

That doesn't seem to be what happens on the R5.5 machine in
question. If it's left running in live TV mode, then none of
the scheduled recordings are done. I'll try to set up a test
and observe what happens.

It sounds like this is the behavior enabled by the "Allow live
tv to move scheduled shows" checkbox, but I swear that wasn't
checked when I looked at it.

_________________
Grant


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu