View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:39 am
Posts: 20
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
I'm trying to get DVD Ripping to work on my R5A12 installation.

As recommended in several posts I have updated transcode, got my dvd drive to work and actually managed to do a perfect rip.

However if I want to get an 'excellent' or 'good' rip I end up with no files.

Here's what mtd.log says:

Quote:
22:49:58: launching job: job dvd 1 1 6 0 -1 /myth/video/MARISAMONTE
22:49:58: transcode command will be: transcode -i /myth/video/MARISAMONTE/vob/ -
g 720x480 -f 0,1 -M 2 -V -X 2,0 -y xvid,null -o /dev/null --print_status 20 --co
lor 0 -R 1,twopass.log
22:49:58: job thread beginning to rip dvd title
22:56:22: job thread finished ripping dvd title
22:56:25: transcode command will be: transcode -i /myth/video/MARISAMONTE/vob/ -
g 720x480 -f 0,1 -M 2 -V -X 2,0 -y xvid -o /myth/video/MARISAMONTE.avi --print_s
tatus 20 --color 0 -R 2,twopass.log
22:56:27: job finished succesfully: job dvd 1 1 6 0 -1 /myth/video/MARISAMONTE


Analysis:
1) Files are ripped alright and saved in /myth/video/MARISAMONTE/vob/ -- I confirmed this by checking the directories while it was ripping
2) the transcode command doesn't do anything at all (too quick)
3) trying to run the transcode command manually errors out as the files are not there anymore
4) running the transcode command on a previously done perfect rip works alright (i.e. replacing /myth/video/MARISAMONTE/vob/ by a link to the vob-file)

[EDIT] couldn't confirm what happens between the finishing of the ripping and the execution of transcode yet. I could imagine that the files are somehow deleted before transcode starts, but couldn't check that yet.
--> I could confirm that the files were created, renamed to .vob and disposed of...
[/EDIT]

[EDIT]
I just changed the xvid - divx settings in the settings dialogue and it seems to make a difference. Now transcode is working - I'll have a good night's sleep and check in the morning if it was successful
[/EDIT]

I have tried googling and searching the mythtv and knoppmyth-forum with no success.

Has anyone run into similar problems? Can anyone give me a clue where to look for further anlysis?

Thanks for any tips...

Stefan

_________________
Shuttle SN41G2V2
AMD Athlon XP-3000+
Lite-On 832S IDE, +/-R
200 GB Western Digital
Hauppauge PVR-350
Xbox Frontend


Last edited by LaGaffe on Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:46 am, edited 2 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 4:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
This is a great post. Yes everyone who has tried to transcode a dvd rip in R5A12 has experienced this error, but you have come closer to pinpointing it than anyone else has. Now that the focus can be narrowed I'm sure someone will find the problem soon. since there seem to be several people that desire this feature.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:39 am
Posts: 20
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Replying to my own post - the situation looks like this now:

1) Fiddled around with the settings:
a) change the directory for temp files to /myth/video rather than /myth/tmp as the ripping automagically rips to /myth/video but transcode searches for the files in /myth/tmp (forgot to mention that in my first post. This was after having a closer look at mtd.log and checking where the files are going)
b) change the settings to use divx rather than xvid

2) Ran the job again and voilĂ :
Quote:
23:34:59: launching job: job dvd 1 1 6 0 -1 /myth/video/MARISAMONTE
23:34:59: transcode command will be: transcode -i /myth/video/MARISAMONTE/vob/ -g 720x480 -f 0,1 -M 2 -V -X 2,0 -y divx5,null -o /dev/null --print_status 20 --color 0 -R 1,twopass.log
23:34:59: job thread beginning to rip dvd title
23:41:19: job thread finished ripping dvd title
00:58:09: transcode command will be: transcode -i /myth/video/MARISAMONTE/vob/ -g 720x480 -f 0,1 -M 2 -V -X 2,0 -y divx5 -o /myth/video/MARISAMONTE.avi --print_status 20 --color 0 -R 2,twopass.log
02:21:57: job finished succesfully: job dvd 1 1 6 0 -1 /myth/video/MARISAMONTE


I now need to verify if it was just a lucky strike...

_________________
Shuttle SN41G2V2
AMD Athlon XP-3000+
Lite-On 832S IDE, +/-R
200 GB Western Digital
Hauppauge PVR-350
Xbox Frontend


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 9:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 10:44 am
Posts: 677
Location: WA
so any word?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 3:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:39 am
Posts: 20
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
So, finally got around to test it out some more.

With all the changes mentioned in the above posts it seems to work for me. The ripped films in 'excellent' and 'good' quality are a little choppy though - this will need some further inspection when I have time.


Here's a summary of what I did to get DVD ripping to work:

1) Get the DVD drive to work as mentioned in other posts
2) Update transcode
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install transcode

3) In the DVD settings, set the temporary directory to /myth/video
4) In the DVD rip settings, set transcode to use divx rather than xvid

Make sure you restart mtd.

Hope this helps

Stefan

_________________
Shuttle SN41G2V2
AMD Athlon XP-3000+
Lite-On 832S IDE, +/-R
200 GB Western Digital
Hauppauge PVR-350
Xbox Frontend


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: transcode
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 1:09 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Chicago, USA.
I still had problem after re-installing transcode. So I copied /usr/bin/transcode to /usr/local/bin/transcode. After this I had a successful backup of my DVD. Only problem now is it is taking 5 hours to transcode, whereas it took only 1.5 hours before (R4V5). Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: transcode
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:04 pm
Posts: 369
sivasankar wrote:
I still had problem after re-installing transcode. So I copied /usr/bin/transcode to /usr/local/bin/transcode. After this I had a successful backup of my DVD. Only problem now is it is taking 5 hours to transcode, whereas it took only 1.5 hours before (R4V5). Any ideas?


Are you saying the measurement was in R4V5 or are you currently running R4V5? I ask only because on my R5A12 system, `transcode` is already in /usr/local/bin/transcode and there is no /usr/bin/transcode.

-brendan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 1:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 1:09 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Chicago, USA.
I used to have R4V5 and had no problem with that for dvd copy and transcoding took about 60-90 minutes. After upgrading to R5A12, it did not work initially and I removed transcode and re-installed it. By default this gets installed under /usr/bin (and it installs the latest version).
I think the version under /usr/local/bin is little bit older and is part of knoppmyth distribution. I noticed the problem when I tried to use /usr/local/bin/transcode. (Same thing happened with mythburn and that is another story). So I tried copying the /usr/bin/transcode over here and it seemed to work. I also noticed /usr/local/bin/transcode is almost 3 times the size of /usr/bin/transcode.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:04 pm
Posts: 369
I suspect the one you replaced was a) compiled for more recent processors and/or b) compiled for sse/sse2 and similar enhanced instruction sets and/or c) compiled with more optimizations.

-brendan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 10:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 1:09 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Chicago, USA.
But it did not work for me.

SIVA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
not sure if this really helps, but I have successfully tested dvd ripping with transcode in R5

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu