View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:35 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:29 am
Posts: 41
Location: Goettingen, Germany
Hello all.

I did a fresh install of KnoppMyth 5A10, got my wlan card working an now try to make my AverMedia DVB-T (761) work. I read that I need to edit settings.pro, but I can't seem to find it...
find -name settings.* brings up nothing...
Another question is how to bring up the mythtv configuration again. mythtv-configure doesn't seem to work for me...

Help appreciated


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 8:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:04 pm
Posts: 369
It's mythtv-setup and I believe you have to run this as root, so su first.

Why are you running R5A10 and not R5A12?

-brendan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
settings.pro has to do with compiling MythTV. MythTV is already compiled w/ DVB support. All you may need is the firmware for that card.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 1:17 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:29 am
Posts: 41
Location: Goettingen, Germany
Sorry I'm using R5A12... Got the number wrong...
I put the firmware into /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware/ (sc_main.mc)
On boot the card is detected and devices bttv0, dvb0, video0 and remote0 created, but the mythtv-setup can't detect anything...
I'm a real linux-noob so I will need to read some I guess ;-)

Thanks for the help anyway guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:42 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:29 am
Posts: 41
Location: Goettingen, Germany
@cesman: Do you happen to know where do need to copy the firmware. Some docs say /usr/lib/hotplu/firmware for the 2.4 Kernel, others say /lib/firmware for Kernel 2.6. I had no /lib/firmware dir so I made one and copied the sc_main.mc to both dirs. Still the card doesn't work...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 745
Location: Sydney, Australia
rarefluid wrote:
I put the firmware into /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware/ (sc_main.mc)
On boot the card is detected and devices bttv0, dvb0, video0 and remote0 created, but the mythtv-setup can't detect anything...


OK. That is the correct location for the firmware. Did you add any lines into /etc/modules ? For that card, you need to add sp887x then dvb-bt8xx

That will create /dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend which mythtv-setup should then be able to try and tune.

The lines that you saw at boot (something like this?):

bttv1: detected: AverMedia AverTV DVB-T [card=124], PCI subsystem ID is 1461:0761
bttv1: using: AverMedia AverTV DVB-T 761 [card=124,autodetected]
bttv1: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=009f009d [init]
bttv1: using tuner=-1
bttv1: registered device video0
bttv1: registered device vbi0
bttv1: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok
bttv1: add subdevice "remote1"
bttv1: add subdevice "dvb1"

are not from the DVB drivers, but the Video4Linux card driver (which lets you access the composite and S-video inputs on the card).

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:29 am
Posts: 41
Location: Goettingen, Germany
Tried that.
Now the drivers seem to get loaded, but I can't open the device to scan for channels in mythtv-setup, DVB Card #0 is always "in use".
I got an i²c error on bootup "sendbyte error: bailout"...
Is the position of the DVB-modules in /etc/modules important? Where should I place them (in respect to firmware_class and the i²c stuff)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 745
Location: Sydney, Australia
rarefluid wrote:
DVB Card #0 is always "in use".


That could be because the backend has it open. Try shutting it down (sudo /etc/init.d/mythtv-backend stop) and trying mythtv-setup again?

Quote:
I got an i²c error on bootup "sendbyte error: bailout"...


I think I used to get that error with the 761, but it was not a problem.

Quote:
Is the position of the DVB-modules in /etc/modules important?


I now always put them right at the top of the file, because I had problems with one card not being correctly identified if its drivers were loaded late.

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel@ind.tansu.com.au
| Telstra BID, Sydney, Australia
|
|"Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:29 am
Posts: 41
Location: Goettingen, Germany
Thanks guys!
I made it. The card finally works!
Another problem is the bad DVB-T reception I have here, but I guess I'll work that out too...
Thanks for your help!


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu