View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 9:45 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
/etc/apcupsd/ exists:

[root@mythtv6 apcupsd]# dir
apccontrol apcupsd.css commfailure hosts.conf multimon.conf onbattery upsimage.cgi
apcupsd.conf changeme commok multimon.cgi offbattery upsfstats.cgi upsstats.cgi

running your commands raises questions ??

[root@mythtv6 apcupsd]# sv status apcupsd
fail: apcupsd: unable to change to service directory: file does not exist

[root@mythtv6 apcupsd]# sv restart apcupsd
fail: apcupsd: unable to change to service directory: file does not exist

If I just type apcupsd:

[root@mythtv6 apcupsd]# apcupsd
[root@mythtv6 apcupsd]#

It doesn't error ?
The .conf file lines are correct as you listed them.

And NETSERVER on

but it has a connection problem ?

[root@mythtv6 log]# apcaccess status
Error contacting apcupsd @ localhost:3551: Connection refused

I have apcupsd running on another machine (running 5.5) and may steal that conf file, but this machine running 6 may have version differences.

This test machine ran apcupsd fine when it was running 5.5.

I may still have something obvious, but every time I look at it I see 2 + 2 =5.. . Nods OK... moves on..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
snaproll wrote:
[root@mythtv6 apcupsd]# sv status apcupsd
fail: apcupsd: unable to change to service directory: file does not exist

[root@mythtv6 apcupsd]# sv restart apcupsd
fail: apcupsd: unable to change to service directory: file does not exist


Code:
# add_service.sh apcupsd ; sv restart apcupsd

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Code:
[root@mythtv6 greg]# add_service.sh apcupsd ; sv restart apcupsd
adding apcupsd
warning: apcupsd: unable to open supervise/ok: file does not exist
[root@mythtv6 greg]#


So I repeated the sv restart command by itself.. then-



Code:
[root@mythtv6 ~]# cd /var/log/
[root@mythtv6 log]# dir
Xorg.0.log      auth.log      errors.log        kernel.log.1  messages.log.1           old           user.log
Xorg.0.log.old  auth.log.1    errors.log.1      lastlog       mysqld.log               pacman.log    user.log.1
acpid.log       btmp          everything.log    lighttpd      mythtv                   sv            utmp
acpid.log.1     daemon.log    everything.log.1  lircd         mythvantage_install.log  syslog.log    wtmp
apcupsd.events  daemon.log.1  fluxbox.log       lircd.1       network.init             syslog.log.1  wtmp.1
apcupsd.status  dmesg.log     kernel.log        messages.log  network.init.error       tweaker.log
[root@mythtv6 log]#


....& a nano of apcupsd status & apcupsd.events now prints them out...and-

Code:
[root@mythtv6 log]# apcaccess status   
APC      : 001,036,0895               
DATE     : Sat Mar 07 11:55:35 CST 2009
HOSTNAME : mythtv6                     
RELEASE  : 3.14.5                     
VERSION  : 3.14.5 (10 January 2009) unknown
UPSNAME  : mythtv6
CABLE    : USB Cable
MODEL    : Back-UPS ES 550
UPSMODE  : Stand Alone
STARTTIME: Sat Mar 07 11:44:28 CST 2009
STATUS   : ONLINE
LINEV    : 124.0 Volts
LOADPCT  :  32.0 Percent Load Capacity
BCHARGE  : 100.0 Percent
TIMELEFT :  14.6 Minutes
MBATTCHG : 5 Percent
MINTIMEL : 3 Minutes
MAXTIME  : 0 Seconds
SENSE    : Medium
LOTRANS  : 092.0 Volts
HITRANS  : 139.0 Volts
ALARMDEL : Always
BATTV    : 13.5 Volts
LASTXFER : Low line voltage
NUMXFERS : 0
TONBATT  : 0 seconds
CUMONBATT: 0 seconds
XOFFBATT : N/A
STATFLAG : 0x07000008 Status Flag
MANDATE  : 2008-07-03
SERIALNO : 3B1807X35264
BATTDATE : 2000-00-00
NOMINV   : 115 Volts
NOMBATTV :  12.0 Volts
FIRMWARE : 843.K1 .D USB FW:K1
APCMODEL : Back-UPS ES 550
END APC  : Sat Mar 07 11:56:21 CST 2009


Thank you sir !.... :lol:

Do you suppose my install dropped a stitch, or will everybody running a UPS on 6, need to run your commands to bring it up ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 884
Location: Lexington, Ky
I have apcupsd running but when I try to get it's status

apcaccess status

I get the following message:

Code:
Error contacting apcupsd @ localhost:3551: Operation not permitted


Does anyone know how to get around this error?

By the way it appears that I do have valid information written to the apcupsd.status and apcupsd.events files.

Thanks
Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 7:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 336
Ironically I just tried the same thing and I am having the same problem. I'll let you know if I find anything. (I haven't tried restarting yet)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 11:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 336
Any luck tscholl? I have been unable to make any progress. I wonder if installing from source could help...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 12:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 990
Location: SC
I can't reproduce the problem here but have you checked permissions on /sbin/apcaccess and /var/log/apcupsd.status? Do you get the same if you sudo apcaccess status?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 12:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 336
I do get the same message if I sudo and also if I am logged in as root. I didn't check permissions as I didn't suppose it would matter if it denied root access as well. I'll try to provide a lot more information about my software versions and the part # of my UPS, etc. when I have a chance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 8:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
Just a short note to say how bloody wonderous this forum is... took delivery of an APC Back-UPS 700 today, plugged it in... pacman installed apcupsd (as above), did the tricks above, and hey-presto... I have a UPS powered and protected LinHES system!

No configuration changes required, just that little dance about the services (sv etc).

Top stuff!

Nathan

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 10:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
A quick note:

I run four APC UPS's on linux machines running apcupsd in my house. I use Gapcmon (a linux apcupsd monitor program) to monitor all of them from one desktop (running Kubuntu).

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 3:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 884
Location: Lexington, Ky
No luck here, still getting the same message.

I think it is working but can't be sure. If you stop the service
Code:
sv stop apcupsd

you can run
Code:
 apctest

apctest works ok, and after you restart the service
Code:
sv start apcupsd

you do get good status information in
/var/log/apcupsd.status

It would be nice to get this resolved though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 3:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 336
Same here tscholl... I think I am on R6.00, how about you? I may just unplug the UPS sometime and see if my unit shuts down gracefully.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 4:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 884
Location: Lexington, Ky
I'm Running R6.02 and according to pacman it running
apcupsd-3.14.5-2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 336
After upgrading to 6.03 it does not work at all on my machine.
I have apcupsd v3.14.8
the message in /var/log/apcupsd.events is:
Code:
2010-10-31 20:09:55 -0500  apcupsd FATAL ERROR in linux-usb.c at line 609
Cannot find UPS device --
For a link to detailed USB trouble shooting information,
please see <http://www.apcupsd.com/support.html>.
2010-10-31 20:09:55 -0500  apcupsd error shutdown completed

It appears to keep attempting to restart every minute, which just fills the log. I tried removing it and installing from source, but the same problem there, too. I am just removing it for the time being.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu