View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:53 am 
Hi.

I've just installed Knoppmyth 5.5 and I have a few questions if I may. I've tried to research this myself, but I'm a newbie to linux too, so I'm having to work out what it is that I actually don't know (in linux speak) before I can go looking for a solution. Most of the issues are comparatively minor, except for 1.

My configureation is as follows:

ASUS M3N78-VM motherboard
AMD Athlon X2 4850e
2 gigs DDR2 ram
DVICO FusionHDTV dual express
Antec NSK2480B case with 380 watt psu
Samsung 1TB SATA II Echo Green 32M(HD103UI/Y)
LGE GGW-H20N/L Black Blue Ray HD Writer

I have this connected to a Samsung 6 series 46 inch LCD HDTV using the HDMI connection on the motherboard.

I was suprised at how easily Knoppmyth installed. In fact it was the only one of the three distros which installed "out of the box". Mythbuntu didn't recognise the tv card. Mythdora froze when trying to load the ahci drivers

Not everything is exactly as I would like it, though.

I want to use this to control an Austar paytv set top box. I've seen the link on how to set it up in ozmyth.com. I was wondering if anyone knows where I can buy an IR blaster that works via USB, in Australia. This motherboard doesn't have a serial port connection, although it does have provision for connecting one to the motherboard. It has an abundance of USB ports though.

Australia uses PAL format for DVD recordings, but I have a fair few DVD's which are NTSC. Is it possible to configure Knoppmyth to so that it will read either PAL or NTSC DVD's in the same drive? If not, could it be done with a second DVD drive?

By default, the TV card displays in widescreen, but with two black strips at the top and bottom. I can't eliminate those without making the display out of proportion.