View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: forcedeth.c
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:55 pm
Posts: 245
Location: South Jersey
My SBE's nic occasionally goes bizerk and floods my hub preventing any other traffic. The only solution I've found so far is to bounce it. Has anyone seen anything like this before?

It's using the forcedeth driver:

forcedeth.c: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.60.
forcedeth: using HIGHDMA
eth0: forcedeth.c: subsystem: 01462:7309 bound to 0000:00:07.0

Thanks, -Abs

_________________
R6.04, dual core 3ghz, 3 gig memory, Zotac 8400 passive heat sink dvi/hdmi out video, 500 gig sata, dual tuner hdhomerun, streamzap remote

Abby


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
I saw a lot of TX/RX errors on my main workstation using the forcedeth driver (I don't recall the version). Like you, my solution was bounce it and install a PCI gig-e card. I recall finding some google hits about forcedeth problems, but I can't point you to anything directly. This was about 6 months ago.

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:02 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:55 pm
Posts: 245
Location: South Jersey
I'd rather not sacrifice a pci port for a nic. I do have a pci 1x slot open but an New Egg search for that architecture didn't bring up anything cheap.

Gig-E >> do you find you need it? Or was it more just a matter of "well I might as well"...

Thanks, -Abs

_________________
R6.04, dual core 3ghz, 3 gig memory, Zotac 8400 passive heat sink dvi/hdmi out video, 500 gig sata, dual tuner hdhomerun, streamzap remote

Abby


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:26 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
abigailsweetashoney wrote:
Gig-E >> do you find you need it? Or was it more just a matter of "well I might as well"...


Depends on what you're using it for. On a frontend box, 10/100 is fine. On a backend you may consider gig-e if you have more than 2 fe's that pull from it concurrently. For my workstation, I frequently push or pull large files (>10 GB) to/from my backend, so the extra speed of gig-e is helpful. I do have both 10/100 and gig laying around, so desiring faster transfers, I chose gig-e.

You can also try to compile a newer kernel to see if your problems go away. Copy cesman's config and configure anything new in the latest kernel and give it a whirl.

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: forcedeth.c
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
abigailsweetashoney wrote:
My SBE's nic occasionally goes bizerk and floods my hub preventing any other traffic. The only solution I've found so far is to bounce it. Has anyone seen anything like this before?

It's using the forcedeth driver:

forcedeth.c: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.60.
forcedeth: using HIGHDMA
eth0: forcedeth.c: subsystem: 01462:7309 bound to 0000:00:07.0

Thanks, -Abs

I had the exact same symptoms and I also use "forcedeth.c". I also had to bounce my myth box to stop the problem. After quite a bit of experimenting I found that adding the "noapic" option to /etc/lilo.conf solved the problem. I have been running without any problems for over a month now since making this change. So at this time my R5.5 /etc/lilo/conf "append=" line looks like this:
Code:
append="apm=power-off nomce quiet vmalloc=256m SELINUX_INIT=NO noapic"

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Last edited by marc.aronson on Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:55 pm
Posts: 245
Location: South Jersey
Great. I'll give it a try.

_________________
R6.04, dual core 3ghz, 3 gig memory, Zotac 8400 passive heat sink dvi/hdmi out video, 500 gig sata, dual tuner hdhomerun, streamzap remote

Abby


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:55 pm
Posts: 245
Location: South Jersey
Box has not crashed at all since and the port hasn't flooded the hub either. Fyi.

_________________
R6.04, dual core 3ghz, 3 gig memory, Zotac 8400 passive heat sink dvi/hdmi out video, 500 gig sata, dual tuner hdhomerun, streamzap remote

Abby


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
abigailsweetashoney wrote:
Box has not crashed at all since and the port hasn't flooded the hub either. Fyi.

Glad to hear it worked for you. I ran some fairly extreme stress tests without problems and I've been running stable now for ~3 months since making this change.

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
I'm running R6 with .22 and seeing a lot of "too many iterations" using the forcedeth driver. Is the above lilo fix still in order? and where is it? TIA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
Too Many Secrets wrote:
I'm running R6 with .22 and seeing a lot of "too many iterations" using the forcedeth driver. Is the above lilo fix still in order? and where is it? TIA


I believe that R6 uses grub so I'm not sure how to make the change. Does your network connection die or are you simply getting log entries that state "too many iterations"?

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
asking Google about "Grub noapic" returns:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ub-599143/

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
marc.aronson wrote:
Too Many Secrets wrote:
I'm running R6 with .22 and seeing a lot of "too many iterations" using the forcedeth driver. Is the above lilo fix still in order? and where is it? TIA


I believe that R6 uses grub so I'm not sure how to make the change. Does your network connection die or are you simply getting log entries that state "too many iterations"?


I've been getting lockups the last couple days, so went digging and the everything.log is showing dozens of these warnings. At the moment, I don't know if the two are related, but figured I'd start with this as it seems the largest error in the log file.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu