View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:31 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
My TVs just sit there in stand-by, despite receiving a video signal. I have to have a separate remote just to power the TV on. Has anyone managed to bring life to their TVs from KnoppMyth?

I'm thinking to devise a little gadget that activates a relay for a few seconds on power up and install in my TVs (goodbye, warranty), but perhaps there is a simpler way?

I'm sure I'm not the only one on the planet with this problem?

Cheers,
/Chris[/img]

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Calgary, Canada
cahlfors wrote:
I'm thinking to devise a little gadget that activates a relay for a few seconds on power up and install in my TVs (goodbye, warranty), but perhaps there is a simpler way?

Clapper?

:) Sorry couldn't resist.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 355
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Many of the universal and semi programable remotes for myth will allow you to turn the TV on and off. I use the Microsoft Media remote which can be programmed to turn the TV on as well as adjust its volume.

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
Monitor? try DPMS http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Battery-Powered/displaytypes.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
@Big boy stan
Programmable remotes just might be the way to go here. I've disregarded them before for cost reasons, but that might have changed in the past few years. I'll look into that - thanks!

@Too Many Secrets
Monitor? No, TV.

Cheers,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I use the IR Blaster integrated as part of the MCE Remote receiver to turn my TV on and control the volume.

For this to work reliably, the TV's receiver needs to be shielded from the signal from the MCE remote. otherwise it gets confused by the fact that I am emitting IR from the MCE remote at the same time (or close to the same time) as the MCE blaster is emitting the TV on//off/volume signal.

I made a small black cardboard cup which I place over the TV's IR input (with the blaster emitter inside it).

This works well and I didnt have to hard-hack my TV with a computer activated relay (which I was considering before I got the blaster to work reliably).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
IR blaster is also an interesting solution. I'm using homebrew serial IR receivers currently, and I guess blasters would just replace those? Wonder if I could put one on my sound system, too?

Thanks,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 5:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: Farmington, MI USA
As you mention you would like to control the sound system too, I would recommend a Harmony remote http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/remot ... l_remotes/

You can go through a "trial-run" to see if it will work with your equipment: http://www.logitech.com/harmony_components You'll find a MythTV option under Video Recorder -> PVR in the trail-run - Emulates the Hauppauge silver remote. Or you can program it yourself to emulate any IR remote you like.

We have 3 model 676 and 1 model 688 (neither made anymore, but fully supported), they work great. Found the 676's on eBay for ~40 USD about a year ago.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu