View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 10:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
There's a config utility. I forget the name but it starts with 'a', maybe alsaconf? (I just typed 'a', hit tab to get the completions, and looked for any likely suspects.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 10:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
so it is in the alsa configuration and not like a device configuration separate? cool I'll take a look

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
no good

heres a pic of the error

Image

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
I really have no idea why it would work when booted from the disk, but not from the install

it seems audio related as I can get the errors to change slightly when I changes myth's mixer device

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
IDEAS IDEAS IDEAS


I need your ideas

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
seems there is a table crashed in the database. have you tried running the optimize_db.sh script? or maybe repair from mythweb?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:17 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
ran that, it made my main frontend/backend work better, but no go on the new frontend

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
So the frontend won't start? or frontend come up fine, just no sound? Seems no frontend. If so, what is the output of # cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log Maybe there is a video driver error in there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:07 pm
Posts: 821
Location: Melbourne, Australia
electrohacker wrote:
ran that, it made my main frontend/backend work better, but no go on the new frontend


Did it repair the table? I would have run:
mysqlcheck -r -u root mythconverg inuseprograms

Not 100% sure of the syntax, but it's something like that.

If you can't start the frontend, try starting it from an xterm. The error messages will be right in front of you then. It *looks* like you are running either an incompatible version of libmyth or a kernel module is missing. If it's not verbose enough you can set the level on the command line.

Also, since your onboard audio has been problematic, you should disable it in the BIOS. You did install an ensonique, didn't you? Alsa is obviously having trouble with /dev/mixer, and it could be the onboard audio chip's presence causing it.

Mike

_________________
*********************
LinHES 7.4
Australian Dragon
*********************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:13 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
mike look up, I posted a screen shot of the output when the front end crashed


basically I go to play a recording or watch live tv and it crashes the front end works well otherwise, it reads the backend the preview window functions, that's why I assume its an audio issue

i also did disable the onboard, apparently it uses the same driver as the ensonique card though

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 4:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:07 pm
Posts: 821
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I'm looking at the screenshot now and it clearly shows that you have (or had) a crashed table: Perhaps you didn't look at your own message.
You never mentioned if you fixed the inuseprograms table, which I just asked you. If necessary, have another look at the log to see if it's still giving this or any other DB error.

Did you read my suggestion about debugging the front end? It appears you didn't: Assumptions are not helpful in diagnosing a problem, and if you've swapped the onboard for a known good card and still have the same problem, it's time to drop this assumption because it's likely to be wrong, and start proper diagnosis.

If you come back with a reaction rather than a proper answer, I will stop trying to help you.

EDIT: TMS asked you for log output, which you also didn't supply

_________________
*********************
LinHES 7.4
Australian Dragon
*********************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:57 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
I'm new to all this log stuff, so if I dont get it right the first time SORRY, and I have no idea what most of that log is saying... guess I need to get the new error output maybe there's something I'm missing

I'll see about getting this info for you guys

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu