View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Mike - that's a really good way to get your system very wedged. You're potentially overriding the systems safety features and ejecting a drive that it still thinks is mounted. Things can get ugly from there... It's the type of thing where you may have to resort to the real power switch or pulling the plug with all the hazards those entail.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi tjc,

You are too kind and I do appreciate the words of caution. I have been fixing broken "stuff" for a very long time, remember the the Intel 4004? Anyway, this drive was of a vintange where it has a hole to be used just for that purpose, manual ejection of the optical media.

When I was first working the script to eject the disk, that was the drive I was using and it through me for a few moments. Sometimes it worked, sometimes not and by watching the ps ax, one could see the incompleted eject command. Once the operation was satisfied, the command would clear.

Anytime anyone goes after their machine with a "tool" of any fashion, paper clip, butter knife, what ever of course they should be expecting possible issues.

Thanks
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: icon change
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 170
in response to the 'change icon' request, you have to edit the xml file for your theme, I assume you are using the BLUE theme. Go somewhere along the lines of:

nano /usr/share/local/mythtv/themes/blue/XXXX.xml

you can see from reading the xml file various info like the alignment of icons in the Menu Button spaces, file to use for the icon etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: DVD won't eject
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:30 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:09 pm
Posts: 57
I did try adding the button to the optical_menu.xml
button>
<type>DVD</type>
<text>Eject DVD</text>
<action>EXEC umount /dev/cdrom;eject</action>
</button>
when i hit the new button i see the dvd unit light up but nothing seems to happen
also I can eject the dvd by running the umount /dev/cdrom:eject command.
Has anyone else got this working?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 9:36 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:15 pm
Posts: 288
parkinpants : thx .
I'm gonna check that !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 1
Try using EXEC umount /mnt/auto;eject work's every time for me.
hope this help's


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 748
Location: Sydney, Australia
I have had a few lock ups with CD ejects, and found that the best way was to make sure Linux wasn't trying to mount the CD or DVD. Check /etc/fstab has no (uncommented) lines for /dev/cdrom or /dev/dvd

After this, you can simplify the command in the eject button to just "EXEC eject -r" or "EXEC eject"

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel.pearson.au@gmail.com
| "Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:59 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Thanks for that tidbit Nigel! I'll ensure this is correct in a future release.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 1:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
nigelpearson wrote:
I have had a few lock ups with CD ejects, and found that the best way was to make sure Linux wasn't trying to mount the CD or DVD. Check /etc/fstab has no (uncommented) lines for /dev/cdrom or /dev/dvd

After this, you can simplify the command in the eject button to just "EXEC eject -r" or "EXEC eject"


this works for me:

Code:
 <button>
 <type>DVD</type>
 <text>Eject Disc</text>
 <action>umount /mnt/auto;eject</action>
 </button>



If I include "EXEC" I get this:

Code:
sh: EXEC: command not found


-Bob K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:48 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:15 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Michigan
New here, and glad to help:

I had this same problem and came looking here for help. And you all did help me! This is what fixed the problem for me, though:

in /etc/fstab, I had to remove (comment out) the /dev/cdrom and /dev/cdromhdc mountpoints! The knoppmyth distro obviously has an automounter, so I don't know why/how these mountpoints got put into fstab. In any case, both the eject button (my original goal) and the optical_menu trick work. (And what's even better, I know how to edit menus now!)

So, try to look at your /etc/fstab.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:36 pm
Posts: 18
Planman wrote:
Go to usr/share/mythtv
edit dvdmenu.xml
add this at the bottom:

Code:
<button>
      <type>DVD</type>
      <text>Eject DVD</text>
      <action>EXEC umount /dev/dvd;eject</action>
</button>



in R5A26 of KnopMyth, you wan to do this in the file /usr/share/mythtv/optical_menu.xml instead...

And don't bother with the UMOUNT part of the command...
Just use 'EXEC eject' and that will take care of everything.

Also, make sure you re-start mythfrontend so this change is picked up.

-Ben

_________________
ABIT AS8-V
Pentagram 4 HT - 3.0 jigahurtz
512 Megabites
250 jigabite Hdisk

pcHDTV3000
PVR-350
nVidia FX5200 AGP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:43 pm
Posts: 748
Location: Sydney, Australia
Ben, it depends of what menu theme you are using as to what file to edit.

/usr/share/mythtv/optical_menu.xml is for the "Default" menus.
/usr/share/mythtv/dvdmenu.xml is for the "Classic" menus.

_________________
| Nigel Pearson, nigel.pearson.au@gmail.com
| "Things you own end up owning you" - Tyler, Fight Club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 1:40 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:36 pm
Posts: 18
nigelpearson wrote:
Ben, it depends of what menu theme you are using as to what file to edit.

/usr/share/mythtv/optical_menu.xml is for the "Default" menus.
/usr/share/mythtv/dvdmenu.xml is for the "Classic" menus.


True enough - since I was still working with "out of the box" setups - I didn't know that... thus the post. Hopefully these points will make it clearer to the user.

Thanks for the update,

-Ben

_________________
ABIT AS8-V
Pentagram 4 HT - 3.0 jigahurtz
512 Megabites
250 jigabite Hdisk

pcHDTV3000
PVR-350
nVidia FX5200 AGP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I found that if I disabled automatically monitoring the CD/DVD drive it works fine with the eject button.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 170
As far as ejecting is concerned I've fixed this problem using this method pinched from another post:

Code:
edit /usr/share/mythtv/optical_menu.xml (my suggestion)
add Code:
   <button>
      <type>DVD</type>
      <text>Eject Disk</text>
      <action>EXEC sudo eject -r</action>
   </button> 

# visudo
add ,/usr/bin/eject to mythtv user line


Previously i could put a disc in and it would mount automatically, i wouldn't even need to do Scan for Videos it would just pick it up via the symlink.

However using R5A30.5 discs no longer mount automatically, even though Enable CD/DVD Monitoring is on. This means that, since Cecil removed the reference to /cdrom in fstab, i have to re-amend fstab so that I can mount manually.

Needless to say I do not want to mount manually full stop. In any case the line i added to fstab was:

/dev/cdrom auto defaults,user,auto

This mounts as "read only"

I could never figure out how to get automounting working!!!!
What do I do to fix this without going back to eject problems??


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu