View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 140 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Re: frontend-ish Dragon
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 8:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
Human wrote:
For people who are interested in a frontend-only version of Dragon, we recently added some options to the Dragon configuration page for people who want to build frontends using the Dragon hardware. If you select the downgraded HDD (160GB) and choose the option for no tuners, the base price drops from $1157.57 to $1022.57.


Human et al.,
Any thoughts about a diskless frontend from your shop? That's at the top of my list for my KnoppMyth system: a nice, quiet, small case and HiDef capability...

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: frontend-ish Dragon
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:15 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
steeve wrote:
Human et al.,
Any thoughts about a diskless frontend from your shop? That's at the top of my list for my KnoppMyth system: a nice, quiet, small case and HiDef capability...

-sTv

Hi, Steeve!

The Western Digital drives we use are very quiet. They're one of the few hard drive manufacturers who publish their noise levels in their specs. Given the low cost of a 160GB drive, I wonder if it'd suit your needs and cost less than CF-based storage for the frontend installation.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 am
Posts: 389
Hi Human,

My Dragon2 frontends are working fine. However, it would be nice to use the remote power button to put them in/out of sleep. Does the Dragon2 motherboard and KnoppMyth support S3 (suspend to RAM) sleep?

Something like:
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/MC ... end_To_RAM

And also:
http://www.linux.com/articles/54610

Running 'cat /sys/power/state' returns 'mem'. So maybe it can be made to work.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
We've had issues w/ suspending in the past... That is why it was removed in the past. The next release will have 2.6.23 which (from my understand) was better support for suspend. However it isn't something we've played with as of yet... Everything should be in place for you to test this when the next release is available.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 am
Posts: 389
Hi Cecil,

After a couple hours of experimentation, I could make it suspend and wake up keeping the graphics intact. However, the kernel seems to not come back properly. Issuing commands like 'ps', 'sync' and such yield an I/O error. However, disk access is fine, the USB keyboard/mouse work and X11 is fine. The StreamZap remote does not work. Restarting X11 (Alt-Ctrl-Backspace) causes a hard hang.

I'll give the upcoming release a shot.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 140 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu