View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:21 am 
I have been using the HDHomerun for ClearQAM for a couple years now and decided to add an HDHomerun Prime to allow me to get encrypted channels in HD, too. I have a dual core processor (AMD Athlon X2 BE-2350 Brisbane 2.1GHz Socket AM2 45W Dual-Core Processor Model ADH2350IAA5DO) and 1.5 GB RAM. I have been using the on-board nvida 6150 DVI->HDMI output at 720p resolution.

When I play a local channel in 1080i (NBC for example), playback is perfect. I am using the standard decoder (ffmpeg) with xv-blit video renderer, Bob(2x) deinterlacer. It doesn't matter if it's from the HDHomerun or HDHomerun prime.

When I play a cable channel in 1080i (USA or Comedy Central for example), there is some sort of hesitation in the deinterlacing. I haven't noticed any difference in CPU usage, but it's almost as if it freezes ever so briefly on one frame, then catches back up. It is extremely noticeable in high motion scenes. At first, I thought it may have been the nvidia driver, so I have tried 173, 96, and 295 and it is the same with all of them. I have updated Xorg configuration to UseEvents 1, and nvagp 1.

I'm wondering if the solution might be to upgrade to a card that supports VDPAU, but I just don't understand why it is happening only on certain channels (and possibly only certain programs within those certain channels). The system does not appear to be underpowered, but I would appreciate any feedback which you can offer.

BTW, I am running LinHES 7.4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:08 am