View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:52 am 
Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone has experience with using their LinHES backend server, in addition to being the MBE, also as a server to which you could backup files? I'd like to get a large HD, and backup a few windows computers to it, if possible, and wanted to see if anyone else has tried this, and what they're doing/using. I'm not a Linux expert by any means, but can figure out how to start samba (and probably set it to start at boot :-) ) Any suggestions?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:05 pm 
I have been using mine as a data server for years. I have written scripts that run periodically throughout the day (cron jobs) that scan my networks for any of my Windows machines and pull data using rsync. I backup my 3 machines, my wife's, and all my children's. Has worked for a long time without a hitch...

I also have FTP running (Proftpd) with which I backup remote servers to my MBE machine through a VPN connection (could use standard FTP but I have a tunnel running anyway...). I have several terabytes of storge on my machine with my non-Myth data spread across multiple drives.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:37 pm 
I used to do it that way, just because my LinHES box was my biggest pool of disk storage, and I didn't want to buy more.