View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 5:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 22
Location: San Diego, CA USA
I have an existing LinHES 7.4 setup that I'm quite happy with except I want to migrate it from its current 500GB drive to a 4TB drive. I know I can't do a normal install and restore so my plan is to partition the disk and format using gparted to be the same layout as the 7.4 system (sda1 for /, sda2 for swap, and sda3 for /myth) and then rsync the old disk to the new disk. I can then boot the new disk using either a grub2 CDROM or USB loader. Ideally I'd like to boot straight from the hard drive using grub2.

Is there a way to install grub2 directly into LinHES 7.4 so I can boot directly? I see that there are grub2 packages for LinHES 8.1. Would those work, or is there someplace I can get the grub2 packages that will work with LinHES 7.4? I'm not sure how much customization was done to ArchLinux to make this work.

I've seen the thread here:

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=23692&p=137051&hilit=grub2#p137051

but it doesn't have the info I need.

My LinHES case is tiny and can only accomodate a single drive so adding the 4TB drive as additional storage won't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 6:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:28 am
Posts: 698
Location: Germany
I would recommended using clonezilla to clone the whole 500G drive to the 4T drive. Then used gparted to either grow sda3 or create a new sda4 and use storage groups. There are several linux live CDs around with these tools. It will save messing with grub and any other problems such as changing disk UUIDs.

_________________
ASUS AT3N7A-I (Atom 330)
TBS 8922 PCI (DVB-S2)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 8:03 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1240
Location: Orlando FL
Just for the record:
Would this also work for 8.x? or is 8.x more complicated?

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 9:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 678
I recommend a test drive

backup your old drive then pull it
Install the 4TB drive then Install R8.1.1
Test it out and see how you like it,
If you have any issues (ie, grub) post it
Copy your data to the 4tb drive
Copy your Linhes backup to the new drive
Restore the Linhes backup into R8.1.1
Use the 500Gb drive for something else

If your not satisfied then go with clonezilla etc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 10:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1052
Location: SC
gwirth wrote:
Is there a way to install grub2 directly into LinHES 7.4 so I can boot directly? I see that there are grub2 packages for LinHES 8.1. Would those work, or is there someplace I can get the grub2 packages that will work with LinHES 7.4?
It would be possible to install grub2 in R7.x if you build and test the package yourself. You cannot use the R8.x grub2 package, or any other R8.x package in R7.x, due to the architecture (32 bit vs 64 bit) difference. Upgrading to R8.1 with the new disk would be a much easier course of action unless there is another reason you haven't mentioned for not wanting to go to R8.x.
mattbatt wrote:
Would this also work for 8.x? or is 8.x more complicated?
Installing R8.x on a drive larger than 2TB should just work as it formats as gpt and uses grub2.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2014 4:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 22
Location: San Diego, CA USA
I don't want to upgrade because all my front ends are on mythtv-0.25 and can't be upgraded (old hardware and software). LinHES 8.1.1 is on mythtv-0.27 and is incompatible. I would need a significant monetary and time investment to upgrade everything to handle LinHES 8.1.1


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2014 4:53 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1052
Location: SC
R8.0 is still mythtv 0.25 and should install to your 4TB drive.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu