View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Frozen box after update
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 383
Location: South New Jersey, USA
I got a message on my backend that updates were available. This morning i allowed the updates to take place and then forced a reboot and now the system is frozen. I can force it off by doing the 5 second power button thing. Then it will start the boot process. The screen shows:
- Motherboard splash screen comes up.
- Grub Loading/ Welcome to Grub
- error: file '/boot/grub/locale/en.mo.gz' not found
- 5,4,3,2,1
-Early console in decompress_kernel
- Decompressing Linux... parsing elf...done
- Booting the kernel

After that the Linhes splash screen with the 5 blinking dots appears and never goes away. At this point I cant do anything. No mythweb, No alt consoles (alt-F1,Alt-F2, Alt-F3).

I left it like this for 3 hours but still just the rotating blinking dots. I tried listneing to the box and didnt hear any disk activity going on so I do think it is a disk check.

Any ideas?

_________________
LINHES 8.6.1 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 4GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime. Nvidia GT210. MCE remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 3:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Yes, it is most probably a disk check. You can see what's going on by hitting "escape" on the keyboard. It will show you the messages displayed during boot up.

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 383
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Nope. Keyboard is dead at that point.

I have done a fresh install of 8.3 but the only "remote" backup I have is from March. Should I restore that and then add in the data drives and then do a restore from last night? Or just skip right to the restore from last night?

_________________
LINHES 8.6.1 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 4GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime. Nvidia GT210. MCE remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 7:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 383
Location: South New Jersey, USA
So I skipped the remote backup and just did a local restore of the database from last night. That got almost everything working except for the remote as well as I have no web access. I would like to do a restore of the /etc and the /home but cant find a description of the commands necessary. Can someone describe them to me?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

_________________
LINHES 8.6.1 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 4GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime. Nvidia GT210. MCE remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 9:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1338
Location: Orlando FL
after two consecutive power outages I noticed that when I re-booted LinHES got stuck on that "Parsing Elf" thing and the keyboard was useless.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 383
Location: South New Jersey, USA
@mattbatt is this recent? Were you able to recover from it or did you have to do a re install?

I did a clean install and after reconnecting my media drive (with the backups) restored the database only. No remote at the moment but I'll get through that.

Starting to see the beauty of the remote backup option.

Also does anyone know if the install with vnc option works. I tried it but could not connect. Since my box is in the basement with no monitor, and the tv is upstairs, I got my share of exercise yesterday.

_________________
LINHES 8.6.1 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 4GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime. Nvidia GT210. MCE remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu