View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:18 pm 
I have been running the same BE/FE for a few years now and it has been rock solid. Within a day of upgrading from 8.3 to 8.4, I have started to have the whole system lockup. Remote wont respond, no VNC, no mythweb, no linhes webpage. Looking at the box, I see the number lock and scroll lock on the keyboard both flashing. The only option is a hard reboot.

The most recent lockup was lastnight at 1:07 (I can tell because the clock on the FE is fronzen). Looked at the XYMON on the linhes page does not show any high temps or full memory type stuff. Looking at the logs, I dont see anything unusual happening at that time. The only unique thing I see is about 1 minute before the lockup, the system did a smartctl on both drives. Not sure if that is relevant or not.

Considering this started within a day of the upgrade, I am thinking software. Maybe driver related. My video card is a NVIDIA GT218 GEForce 210. I have a firewire card that is no longer used that I could remove. Any thoughts?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:16 pm 
I have 3 boxes with 210s and they have all been solid on R8.4 for months.

Combined with your other thread about losing a table I would suspect a possible drive issue. I had a drive go bad about a year ago. It never showed smart errors but the whole box would just lock up like you describe.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:31 am 
Another lockup last night at 12:07AM. Still nothing to be learned from the logs. These intermittent issues are the worst. Ugh!

I agree that it smells like a hardware problem but the fact that it has been rock solid for so long and then started freezing up the same day as the upgrade make me really think that is too much of a coincidence. I am also hoping that is the case as I don't really have any funds for a new drive right now.