View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Charlotte, NC
I am currently running LinHES 8.4.3 and am experiencing some unusual memory issues. See below... As far as I know nothing was changed in the system (famous words that we all have used) except an upgrade - which was done through the "update LinHes" button... Has anybody else experienced this behavior? Other than Xymon showing yellow on memory, everything seems to work fine... Thanks...


Attachments
mem.jpg
mem.jpg [ 88.38 KiB | Viewed 343 times ]

_________________
Backend server - 3.5 TB 3.0ghz dual core 2 gig RAM, nVidia 9400, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 MB, 2 HD-5500, 1 HD Homerun dual tuner, 5 frontend machines (2 Zotac machines) - LinHES 8.4.1
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 993
Location: SC
I think with the Xymon update either actual or real was added. Real is how much RAM is being used including disk buffers and cache and this should most of the time be close to 100%. Actual is how much RAM is being used with disk buffers and caches counted as free.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Charlotte, NC
OK - That makes sense. Question, then, is how does my graph compare to others and, if similar, then issue is that Xymon should be altered to reflect this 'norm'. Where does one find the limits that define Xymon status (red, yellow, green)?

_________________
Backend server - 3.5 TB 3.0ghz dual core 2 gig RAM, nVidia 9400, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 MB, 2 HD-5500, 1 HD Homerun dual tuner, 5 frontend machines (2 Zotac machines) - LinHES 8.4.1


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:17 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 993
Location: SC
My MBE with 3GB RAM and 2GB swap only occasionally shows swap as yellow (greater than 50% used). None of my FEs have ever been in yellow or red that I remember.

The limits are defined in /home/xymon/etc/analysis.cfg on the last 3 lines. Note that when xymon is next updated any changes to this file will be overwritten.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu