View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I have just got my first camera a D-Link DCS-2630L and it is a lovely camera however I can't get it to work with Zoneminder. I can use ONVIF on Windows and it finds the camera without issue, however my ZM install returns a error status of "2".

Adding a monitor I can do that but no matter what settings I set I can't seem to get a picture. I am using LinHES as my Myth install.

Googling I have seen settings for similar cameras, but nothing I can see actually tells me where to put these settings or how to change the camera to match what is required.

Does anyone know where I can find a simple step by step or can tell me which configure files to change to get my camera working?

Also once I get it up and running is there a mobile app that people suggest.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 177
Zoneminder is not the easiest to configure. You camera appears to be similar to other D-Link cameras. This should help: https://wiki.zoneminder.com/D-Link

From looking on-line, it appears yours is similar to the DCS-2210 and DCS-2230. Use that as a starting point.

You have to read the Zoneminder Wiki about how to configure a camera/monitor, this should be a good starting point: http://zoneminder.readthedocs.io/en/stable/userguide/definemonitor.html

I was not aware, but an app is available for Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.html5clouds.zmview&hl=en

I have not used the app so I cannot make any further comments.

Best of luck to you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Thanks bobmyth, that has worked to some extent, except that when I watch the feed via the local network it deosn't seem to update as I think it should.

I will take my problem across to the zoneminder forums and once I get the message up I will link it here for reference.

Thanks all for your help and guidance.

Cheers

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:43 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Message posted in Zoneminder forum: https://forums.zoneminder.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=25984

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
To update this thread, I posted on the Zoneminder forums and they were ZERO help.

I have since built a CentOS7 box and installed Zoneminder and found I can get my camera to work. Can anyone suggest how I go about looking at the differences to find out why my clean install works and my LinHES version doesn't?

Wanting to make this work so only have a single server running.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 177
What version of zoneminder are you using on the CentOS system?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
My LinHES system is running 1.30.2 and my CentOS box is running 1.30.4.

From my further playing it only appears to be an issue in showing the camera, everything else appears to be working, but without a picture I cannot confirm.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 177
What is the output of the following command:
Code:
ldd /data/srv/httpd/cgi-bin/nph-zms | grep found


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 6:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
On my mythbox I get nothing just returns me to the command prompt.

On my Zoneminder server I get
Code:
ldd: /data/srv/httpd/cgi-bin/nph-zms: No such file or directory

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 177
Sorry, I am running 1.30.0 so there may be some differences.

Try this:
Code:
ldd $(locate cgi-bin/zms) | grep found


This will help determine if all required shared libraries are installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Sorry Bob empty:

Code:
[root@vmmythtv ~]# ldd $(locate cgi-bin/zms) | grep found
[root@vmmythtv ~]#

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 177
Well, it appears the installation is correct. My next suggestion would be to compare the logs of the working system and the non-working system. Maybe that will lead to some insights.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu