View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:20 pm
Posts: 17
Hey guys, I'm having trouble figuring this one out. Whenever I issue any of the normal shutdown commands (e.g. 'poweroff' or 'shutdown -h now') my system just reboots instead. I got it into my head that I wanted to get wake timers sorted out today, but since I can't actually power off my computer, I can't even begin with that. I've had my setup running 24/7 since installation, so I really don't know if this is a problem caused by an update or if it's always been like this. I'm running an AsRock 760GM-GS3 motherboard and have an nVidia Geforce 610 installed (if that's relevant). Official nVidia drivers are in use, and the system is fully up-to-date. I've already updated my BIOS and I've messed with every 'wake' function I can find in it, to no effect. I've seen recommendations to look in my logs for errors, but I can't find where the relevant logs are on this system. Does anybody have any idea where to start with this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:20 pm
Posts: 17
*Sigh*

I thought I finally stumbled onto something relevant, someone else with an AsRock motherboard and the same problem, and they had to unbind ehci devices before shutdown to avoid an automatic reboot. But I just tried both their script, and manually unloading the modules to no effect.

I also tried 'acpi=off', 'acpi=force', 'acpi=Windows', and maybe a few others in my GRUB configuration, but none of those helped either.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:18 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:20 pm
Posts: 17
Alright, well... I guess if nobody can offer me help by this afternoon, I'll just switch distros. I use Arch on my desktop, and I have verified that I can shut down properly from the Arch installation ISO, so that might be my next stop.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1268
Location: Orlando FL
I'm sorry if this is too stupid of a question but.... did you try "sudo poweroff" or just "poweroff"?

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu