View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:05 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:07 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I am having similar issues. After getting to this stage:
Code:
Starting the backend.  This will automatically update the schema.
I'll launch an xterm so you watch output backend log.
Once the schema updates are complete, switch back to this xterm.
When you see "Upgrading to MythTV schema version 1244"
You can switch back to this xterm.
Note:After pressing <ENTER>, I'll be asleep for 30 secs...
This will give the schema time to upgrade.
Press <ENTER> to continue...
Press <ENTER> to continue once the schema upgrade is complete.

I get an endless repetition of the following (mainly the second and third lines):
Code:
2010-03-07 09:28:17.150 Reschedule requested for id -1.
2010-03-07 09:28:17.290 MainServer::HandleVersion - Client speaks protocol version 40 but we speak 50!
2010-03-07 09:28:17.484 MainServer, Warning: Unknown socket closing MythSocket(0xffffffffa72d8300)
2010-03-07 09:28:17.510 Scheduled 12 items in 0.4 = 0.32 match + 0.03 place

Any ideas!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 690
Graysky

The problem that you are having is that the sql schema upgrade is failing. This didn't happen when I ran the upgrade. However, it has to finish properly in order for the db to work. I did some digging and here is what I found.

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/users/406111#406111

Here is another theory, what if the thing is common is changing the host name of your machine. It touches the database all over the place. Have you ever done this? How old are the oldest shows in myth/tv ?

Lots of ideas on gossamer regarding Schema upgrade failure

What do you think?


Last edited by RacerX on Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
@RacerX - thanks for the tip. I can't do the partial restore:


I can drop the db okay:
Code:
$ mysql -umythtv -p mythconverg
Enter password:
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Welcome to the MySQL monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 535
Server version: 5.0.75 Source distribution

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.

mysql> DROP DATABASE IF EXISTS mythconverg;
Query OK, 54 rows affected (0.01 sec)

mysql> CREATE DATABASE IF NOT EXISTS mythconverg;
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> ALTER DATABASE mythconverg DEFAULT CHARACTER SET latin1;
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.01 sec)

mysql> quit
Bye


I can restore the blank one okay:
Code:
[mythtv@mythtv ~]$ /usr/share/mythtv/mythconverg_restore.pl --dir=$HOME --file=mythconverg-1214-blank.sql.gz --verbose

Configuring environment:
  -    username: mythtv
  -        HOME: /home/mythtv
  - MYTHCONFDIR: /home/mythtv/.mythtv

Parsing configuration files:
  - checking: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/config.xml
     parsing: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/config.xml
  - checking: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/backuprc

Applying command-line arguments.

Checking configuration.

Database Information:
         DBHostName: localhost
             DBPort: 0
         DBUserName: mythtv
         DBPassword: XXX
             DBName: mythconverg
        DBSchemaVer:
  DBBackupDirectory: /home/mythtv
   DBBackupFilename: mythconverg-1214-blank.sql.gz
    create_database:

Executables:
       mysql_client: mysql
         uncompress: gzip -d

Miscellaneous:
    partial_restore: no
   restore_xmltvids: no
    change_hostname: no

Checking database.

Found 0 tables in the database.

Backup file is compressed.
 - Uncompressing backup file with IO::Uncompress::Gunzip.

Attempting to use supplied password for mysql command-line client.
Any [client] or [mysql] password specified in the MySQL options file will
take precedence.

Executing command:
'mysql' --defaults-extra-file='/tmp/RCfj5LUMX4' --host='localhost' --user='mythtv' 'mythconverg'

mysql exited with status: 0

Restored 1553 of 1553 lines.

Successfully restored backup.


But I can't restore my backup:
Code:
[mythtv@mythtv ~]$ /usr/share/mythtv/mythconverg_restore.pl --dir=$HOME --file=mythconverg-1215-20100306190349.sql.gz --verbose

Configuring environment:
  -    username: mythtv
  -        HOME: /home/mythtv
  - MYTHCONFDIR: /home/mythtv/.mythtv

Parsing configuration files:
  - checking: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/config.xml
     parsing: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/config.xml
  - checking: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/backuprc

Applying command-line arguments.

Checking configuration.

Database Information:
         DBHostName: localhost
             DBPort: 0
         DBUserName: mythtv
         DBPassword: XXX
             DBName: mythconverg
        DBSchemaVer:
  DBBackupDirectory: /home/mythtv
   DBBackupFilename: mythconverg-1215-20100306190349.sql.gz
    create_database:

Executables:
       mysql_client: mysql
         uncompress: gzip -d

Miscellaneous:
    partial_restore: no
   restore_xmltvids: no
    change_hostname: no

Checking database.

Found 54 tables in the database.
WARNING: Database not empty.

ERROR: Unable to do a full restore. The database contains data.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Seems like the missing step was to use the --partial_restore switch when doing Mike's steps...

Code:
$ ./mythconverg_restore.pl --dir=$HOME --file=mythconverg-1214-20100307062803.sql.gz --partial_restore --verbose

Configuring environment:
  -    username: mythtv
  -        HOME: /home/mythtv
  - MYTHCONFDIR: /home/mythtv/.mythtv

Parsing configuration files:
  - checking: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/config.xml
     parsing: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/config.xml
  - checking: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/backuprc
     parsing: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/backuprc

Applying command-line arguments.

Checking configuration.

Database Information:
         DBHostName: localhost
             DBPort: 0
         DBUserName: mythtv
         DBPassword: XXX
             DBName: mythconverg
        DBSchemaVer:
  DBBackupDirectory: /home/mythtv
   DBBackupFilename: mythconverg-1214-20100307062803.sql.gz
    create_database:

Executables:
       mysql_client: mysql
         uncompress: gzip -d

Miscellaneous:
    partial_restore: yes
   with_plugin_data: no
   restore_xmltvids: no
    change_hostname: no

Checking database.

Found 54 tables in the database.

Backup file is compressed.
 - Uncompressing backup file with IO::Uncompress::Gunzip.

Attempting to use supplied password for mysql command-line client.
Any [client] or [mysql] password specified in the MySQL options file will
take precedence.

Restoring partial backup with filter:
(40101 SET NAMES |^INSERT INTO \`?(oldrecorded|record|recorded|recordedmarkup|recordedprogram|recordedrating|recordedseek)\`? )

Executing command:
'mysql' --defaults-extra-file='/tmp/kUypOugWIw' --host='localhost' --user='mythtv' 'mythconverg'

mysql exited with status: 0

Restored 13 of 3383 lines.

Successfully restored backup.


I'd still like to know why my rsync restore failed: Can anyone give me a clue as to why this is happening or what I can do to fix it?

graysky wrote:
After rsyncing back the backup of my / partition and rebooting, The box is just stuck in an endless loop of:

Code:
Starting Hal  [BKGD]
Starting SSH  [BKGD]
Starting Mysql  [BKGD]
Starting lighttpd  [BKGD]
Starting Avahi  [BKGD]
Starting Hal  [BKGD]
Starting SSH  [BKGD]
Starting Mysql  [BKGD]
Starting lighttpd  [BKGD]
Starting Avahi  [BKGD]
Starting Hal  [BKGD]
Starting SSH  [BKGD]
Starting Mysql  [BKGD]
Starting lighttpd  [BKGD]
Starting Avahi  [BKGD]
etc.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:57 am
Posts: 106
Sorry to hear you having so much troubles upgrading. You have worked so hard on this and I have to say I don't know how to solve your specific problem.

But how about a plan like this:

1) Backup your best 0.21 data base.
2) Backup any recordings that you really care about.
3) Install fresh 0.22/R6.

When I flipped to 0.22 last summer, I had been running R5E50 (yeah really old) and I just assumed keeping the database was a long shot - so I didn't bother. I followed this page to get my "previously recorded" data into 0.22.

http://www.mythpvr.com/mythtv/tips/migrate-recordings.html

I followed that page and it partially worked. My history was remembered but I never got my old recordings playable as TV recordings. I ended up having to put them in mythvideo so we could watch and then delete them from there.

Yes I had to re-do my recording rules but at least the new system did not record old episodes recorded before because that data was migrated. Overall a solution that worked and with probably less work than what you have done so far.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
I summarized the steps taken to get this NEARLY fixed in this howto. I still can't get mythvideo working though, nor was I able to run cesman's script /usr/LH/bin/update_schema_021_to_022.sh

If you can help, please post in that howto.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 690
Graysky

Glad to see that you made more progress, in .22 there is some depreciation of the functions. For example when you are in the main window you select escape. It will show you a menu to exit, exit and reboot, exit and shutdown. Also scanning for new videos is now done inside of myth video in a menu.

Here is a transition guide that explains some of the changes in mythvideo .22

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/MythVideo_.22_Transition_Guide


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
RacerX wrote:
Graysky

Glad to see that you made more progress, in .22 there is some depreciation of the functions. For example when you are in the main window you select escape. It will show you a menu to exit, exit and reboot, exit and shutdown. Also scanning for new videos is now done inside of myth video in a menu.

Here is a transition guide that explains some of the changes in mythvideo .22

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/MythVideo_.22_Transition_Guide


Thanks for the tips, RacerX. This upgrade has really broken me down. I just reverted to R6.01 and am in the process or getting it setup to my liking again. I don't want to upgrade to R6.02 now. R6.01 just worked for me. R6.02 with my database has caused nothing be problems. That's not to say that R6.02 is the problem, but with my database... I just don't know.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 690
My advice is setup a test from scratch under 6.02. This will allow you more time to test it out to clearly understand your requirements and how that pertains to myth .22. Also read the transition doc because I know you are big into myth video and there are significant differences in playback if you using programs other than internal.

I really like the changes because it seemed to me that the front end was really old looking compared to XMBC. I'm looking forward to .myth .23.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 387
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Well looks like I just fell into the same tar pit but I dont have a full image backup. My database upgrade made it a bit further then graysky's. It is trying to upgrade from 1230 to 1231 and is stuck in the endless loop.
I have not rebooted or anything since doing the upgrade for fear of corrupting something. I am updating from R5.5 to 6.02. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Is the blank database fix as suggested by http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/users/406111#406111 something I should try?

_________________
LINHES 8.6.1 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 4GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime. Nvidia GT210. MCE remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:30 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 387
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Well an update for anyone out there.
I followed the blank database fix as suggested in the earlier post (and executed by Graysky) which seemed to work. I used the mythconverg backup that was stored in /myth/backup. After that mythbackend started up, told me that it needed to upgrade the schema, and got to the same point before endlessly looping again.
I repeated the fix a second time but wound up with an error stating that the database was not blank(???). I proceeded but this time went to myth-setup instead of starting the backend and it told me it would upgrade the schema. I got no further messages about the database after that and was able to start the backend multiple times without any error messages.
I guess that means that I am up to the latest schema since the backend is working. Can someone confirm that or tell me how to check what schema is running?

_________________
LINHES 8.6.1 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 4GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime. Nvidia GT210. MCE remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
Quote:
Can someone confirm that or tell me how to check what schema is running?


mysql> select * from settings where value='DBSchemaVer';


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 10:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:11 am
Posts: 127
Location: Perth
I've had this issue as well. I tried methods listed here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p= ... ostcount=8

But in the end, I just watched the errors and altered the mythconverg tables by hand until the schema upgrade behaved.

_________________
DRM 'manages access' in the same way that jail 'manages freedom.'
_________________
Intel P4 2.6
Intel Desktop Board
2GB DDR400
nVidia 6600GT
Dvico HDTV+
Dvico Dual 4
200GB WD for Swap /boot & /
2x 500GB WD with LVM & XFS for /myth/tv


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu