View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
I have done a fresh install of LinHES 6.04, and am using storage groups. In addition to the boot drive (WD 640GB), I have three storage drives: Samsung 2TB F4 HD204UI, WD 2TB EARS, and a WD 1TB Green. The 2TB drives are AFT (advanced format), and have been properly aligned using Gdisk.

I created three additional directories (/myth2, /myth3, /myth4), and placed them in /etc/fstab.
Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=c9254a1c-728f-40f4-a419-63d279b53ac4    /    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=214ec27f-616c-42bc-afc5-945e2917cf89    /myth    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=cd56feef-c101-4577-9fc8-0f563b2041e8    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
UUID=6ffe340f-d5e1-4806-85c2-bb238aa21c0d /myth2 auto defaults,noatime 0 1
UUID=56533860-7953-4d1c-b932-5d335e420989 /myth3 auto defaults,noatime 0 1
UUID=0918f839-4fb0-404d-9221-5cec0afe04c7 /myth4 auto defaults,noatime 0 1
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB

I then created the /tv subdirectories for each, chmod and chown'd each one, and added them under mythtv-setup in section 6 storage directories.

My problem is, in going to system status->machine status, under Mythtv Drive #2 it is showing /myth2/tv, but only reporting 19GB, of which 3.4GB are shown as being used. It should read 1.8TB available, not just 19GB.

I have redone this several times, with the same result each time. I have hit the wall on this one, even with an ample dose of googling. Please, if anyone has some insight, I would appreciate it.

Terry

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 12:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
What does df -h /myth* show? I'm guessing that the free space is only counting the first drive for some reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
I had a similar problem because i used the same mount point "/myth2" when i upgraded. Try naming the mount points something different. Somehow my upgrade "remembered" that I only had 14 gigs of free space on my old drive. http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... c&start=30
I don't know if you have the same problem.
Also try using the webmin tool http://your.mythbox.ip:100000 it has a good mounting tool with lots of options, well in true Linux fashion too many options.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
Thanks for replying fellas.

This is what df -h /myth* spit out:
Code:
[root@Mythtv]# df -h /myth*
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3             576G  4.3M  576G   1% /myth
/dev/sda1              20G  2.3G   16G  13% /
/dev/sdc1             1.9T  4.2M  1.9T   1% /myth3


Then I did df -h /myth2*:
Code:
[root@Mythtv]# df -h /myth2*
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1              20G  2.3G   16G  13% /


It would appear to be mounting /myth2 in the root.

One of the first things I do is install webmin. Webmin is not letting me mount /myth2 on /dev/sdb1 (the samsung F4). It says it is already mounted. I deleted /myth2 and created new /myth3,4,5 and here is the output:
Code:
[root@Mythtv]# df -h /myth*
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3             576G  4.3M  576G   1% /myth
/dev/sda1              20G  2.4G   16G  13% /
/dev/sdc1             1.9T  4.2M  1.9T   1% /myth4
/dev/sdd1             932G  4.2M  932G   1% /myth5

Code:
[root@Mythtv]# df -h /myth3*
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1              20G  2.4G   16G  13% /


Not sure why it won't let me mount /myth3 to /dev/sdb1. Argghh!!! :x

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Ah, it sounds like the extra partitions aren't getting mounted. Do this:
Code:
mount

If that doesn't show all the disks mounted try this:
Code:
ls -ld /myth*

If you don't see existing directories for all the mount points you need to create them.
Code:
mkdir /myth2 /myth3 /myth4

I would also check that your UUIDs are correct using blkid and that the disks have valid file systems on them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
Thanks tjc. It's still not working. mount gives me this:
Code:
/dev/sda1 on / type auto (rw,noatime)
none on /dev type ramfs (rw)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
/dev/sda3 on /myth type xfs (rw,noatime)
/dev/sdc1 on /myth4 type xfs (rw,noatime)
/dev/sdd1 on /myth5 type xfs (rw,noatime)
none on /proc/fs/nfsd type nfsd (rw)

ls -ld /myth outputs:
Code:
drwxrwxrwx 24 mythtv mythtv 4096 2011-03-19 23:24 /myth

The directories are created:
Code:
mkdir: cannot create directory `/myth3': File exists
mkdir: cannot create directory `/myth4': File exists
mkdir: cannot create directory `/myth5': File exists


here is my /etc/fstab:
Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=85b31359-19b8-4433-96ba-8f833c9126d1    /    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=6b194255-adb9-4d53-971a-d0d19e381819    /myth    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=fb50cb83-64f7-408e-85ee-ea9132f119c9    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
UUID=6ffe340f-d5e1-4806-85c2-bb238aa21c0d /myth3 auto defaults,noatime 0 1
UUID=56533860-7953-4d1c-b932-5d335e420989 /myth4 auto defaults,noatime 0 1
UUID=0918f839-4fb0-404d-9221-5cec0afe04c7 /myth5 auto defaults,noatime 0 1
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB

and here is blkid:
Code:
/dev/sda1: UUID="85b31359-19b8-4433-96ba-8f833c9126d1" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda2: TYPE="swap" UUID="fb50cb83-64f7-408e-85ee-ea9132f119c9"
/dev/sda3: UUID="6b194255-adb9-4d53-971a-d0d19e381819" TYPE="xfs"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="SamsungSpin" UUID="6ffe340f-d5e1-4806-85c2-bb238aa21c0d" TYPE="xfs"
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="WD2TB" UUID="56533860-7953-4d1c-b932-5d335e420989" TYPE="xfs"
/dev/sdd1: LABEL="WD1TB" UUID="0918f839-4fb0-404d-9221-5cec0afe04c7" TYPE="xfs"

Everything appears to be correct, but my linux knowledge is limited to just beyond cut and paste, so perhaps I'm still missing a piece of the puzzle.

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:53 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Let's redo the
Code:
ls -ld /myth*

Make sure to include the '*' wild card so we can see what the other mount points look like. The "file exists" errors could mean any kind of file system object.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
I thought I had included that in there, but must have missed it.
Code:
[root@Mythtv]# ls -ld /myth*
drwxrwxrwx 24 mythtv mythtv 4096 2011-03-19 23:24 /myth
drwxr-xr-x  3 root   root     15 2011-03-20 18:15 /myth3
drwxr-xr-x  3 root   root     15 2011-03-19 08:54 /myth4
drwxr-xr-x  3 root   root     15 2011-03-18 15:02 /myth5

I waylaid the UUID's and went back to /dev/sdx.

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
OK what happens when you run:
Code:
mount /myth3

If there is no output follow up with a:
Code:
mount -l


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 7:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
I did a clean install without using the samsung F4, thinking it might have something to do with it. And voila!- that didn't do it.

mount /myth2 gives me:
Code:
[root@Mythtv ~]# mount /myth2
mount: Structure needs cleaning

Not sure what that is all about.

Thanks for all your help tjc!

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 7:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Wow, never seen *that* error before... Google says it has something to do with a corrupt XFS file system. See the XFS FAQ for suggestions on fixing that.
http://xfs.org/index.php/XFS_FAQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
Yeah, I've already been poking around there. Hopefully I can solve it soon, for the waf is plummeting with regard to turnaround on this project! :wink:

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
Well, I re-installed one more time, and this time the mounts seem to be playing nicely:
Code:
[root@Mythtv ~]# df -h /myth*
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3             575G  4.3M  575G   1% /myth
/dev/sdb1             1.9T  4.2M  1.9T   1% /myth2
/dev/sdc1             1.9T  4.2M  1.9T   1% /myth3
/dev/sdd1             932G  4.2M  932G   1% /myth4


But now, under system status->machine status in the frontend, it is only showing three Myth Drives. /myth2 and /myth3 are shown on the second drive, whereas they should be on their own drives (drive #2 and drive #3). Instead of approximately 5TB of storage it is just showing 3.3TB. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks!

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 104
Location: Dearborn, MI
Well, my wild storage groups ride has come to an end. Not sure why they were screwy during my first few attempts, but they are mounting and reading properly now.

As for not seeing all 5.1TB's of storage under the machine status tab, it turns out that Mythtv sees identical drives as one until recordings are placed on them. Then it can differentiate between the two of them. I had eight gigs record today, and voila!, all my storage was being seen.

Thanks for all your help tjc. I learn something new everyday...

_________________
LinHES 8.4.3 Backend on MSI Z97 PC Mate with Pentium CPU, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, Two HD Homeruns + One HD Homerun Prime, 20 TB of storage


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu