View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
Hi guys!
Running the front end from a usb stick works, but when performing an installation to hard disk, it fails. This seems regardless of chosen file system (I prefer ext4 these days).
The partitioning/formatting step completes to 3% and then I get the following error message:
Quote:
Welcome to LinHES!
LinHES 8.0 (Trip the bits)
Mythtv source: fixes/0.25
FAILED

Running rsync -arp /image_mount/lib/*/new_boot/lib/

The installation seems to stop there. Anyone seen this or knows how to move forward?

Thanks,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Last edited by cahlfors on Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:05 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
look in /tmp/mythvantage*.log for clue as to why it failed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
OK, here is a transcript:
Quote:
....
Creating mountpoints /new_boot/data/srv/mysql
____starting swap_____
____Transferring to disk_____
Transferring system
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
**************************************************
error: Running rsync -arp /image_mount/lib/* /new_boot/lib/
**************************************************
ERROR: mv_install.py: Running rsync -arp /image_mount/lib/* /new_boot/lib/
**************************************************
mv_install.py exit code 1
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error
(standard_in) 1: parse error

etc 100:s of lines

In the mean time, I have upgraded (reinstalled) my other front end (with the same parameters). That went entirely without hiccups from the same usb stick. :roll:

The cause of the error and what's happening is not clear to me?

Thanks,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
That looks like mv_status what does /tmp/mythvantage_install.log and /tmp/mv_debug.log say ?
One of those should give you the msg as to why rsync failed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:07 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
That was the mythvantage_install.log.
mv_status just says that all partitions were created ok, formatted ok and that mountpoints were created ok. In the Transferring to disk section, it just relates to the same error msg regarding rsync.
Here is a transcript (there may be an occasional typo) of mv_debug.log:
Quote:
...root - INFO - __________Transferring to disk__________
...root - DEBUG - mount /run/archiso/sfs/data-storage-disk0-pacman-pkg/data-storage-disk0-pacman-pkg.fs /image_mount/data/storage/disk0/pacman/pkg
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - mount /run/arciso/sfs/lib-modules/lib-modules.fs /image_mount/lib/modules
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - mount /run/arciso/sfs/usr-share/usr-share.fs /image_mount/usr/share
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - mount /run/archiso/sfs/root-image/root-image.fs /image_mount/root
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - mount /run/archiso/sfs/var-lib-pacman/var-lib-pacman.fs /image_mount/var/lib/pacman
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - install
...root - INFO - Transferring system
...root - DEBUG - rsync -arp /image_mount/root/* /new_boot
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - rsync -arp /image_mount/lib/* /new_boot/lib/
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - rsync -arp /image_mount/usr /new_boot
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - rsync -arp /image_mount/var /new_boot
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - DEBUG - rsync -arp /image_mount/data/storage/disk0/* /new_boot/data/storage/disk0/
...root - DEBUG - (3072, 'rsync: mkdir "/new_boot/data/storage/disk0" failed: Input/output error (5)\nrsync error: error in file IO (code 11) at main.c(587) [Receiver=3.0.9]\nrsync: connection unexpectedly closed (9 bytes received so far) [sender]\nrsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(605) [sender=3.0.9]')
...root - DEBUG - echo Running rsync -arp /image_mount/data/storage/disk0/* /new_boot/data/storage/disk0/ >> /tmp/.install_error
...root - DEBUG - (0, ' ')
...root - CRITICAL - ***************************************
...root - CRITICAL - error: Running rsync -arp /image_mount/data/storage/disk0/* /new_boot/data/storage/disk0/

So, rsync fails because the connection was unexpectedly closed? By what and why?

I tried running the failed command "by hand" and got the same error messages:
Quote:
rsync: mkdir "/new_boot/data/storage/disk0" failed: Input/output error (5)etc..

Then I tried (from /new_boot/data/storage)
Code:
mkdir disk0
just to see and it produced the following:
Quote:
sh: mkdir: command not found


Still stuck...
Thanks,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:11 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 680
I have a dedicated R8.02 frontend with an ssd. While testing I had to install it a couple of times over time no big.

Quote:
(5)\nrsync error: error in file IO (code 11)


seems like a permission issue, were the user is trying to preform the task instead of root. Is there anything custom about your setup?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
Interesting - the frontend that worked has a mechanical hard disk and the one that is giving me trouble has an SSD.
The only thing custom is that I have to choose special hardware and vesa drivers - standard setup just hangs.

Thanks for helping me out,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:07 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 680
My SSD is OCZ and I used the OCZ tool to completely wipe the drive out every time before I did the install again. Just to be sure is was completely blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
This is moving from interesting to amazing. :shock: To try to copy your total wipe of the SSD without any tool, RacerX, I just used dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda and after that, the installation failed immediately. So it does seem to have to do with SSD technology (I just happen to use OCZ, also...). Now, this front end is an old hog and I managed to find an old, forgotten, mechanical hard disk deep inside and tried the installation on that. Success on the first try! :shock:
The good news is that it works and that I can move on to get everything tuned. The bad news is that I don't understand this. :roll: Later I will try to clone the front ends onto SSD:s.

Thanks for helping me out on this!

/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1263
Location: Orlando FL
When I installed 7.4 on my secondary front-end recently I noticed that I had to actually format the drive with g-Parted because some of the first install was getting in the way. It seems that the LinHES wipe and install isn't actually wiping all that much.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 680
Thanks Matt for pointing that out. On my OCZ drive the vendor has a tool called secure erase. Basically it's a bootable utility cd (linux based) that gives options like upgrade the firmware, erase the disk, etc. Unfortunately it only works with OCZ drives but it is very effective.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 12:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
the install wipes away MBR but didn't always do gpt.
That has been fixed in the current version, however it's not in iso format yet.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu