View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 10:51 am 
Migrating from Mythdora to LinHES or
“What I did for my entire Summer Vacation”

Note,  Since I could not find a specific guide on how to migrate from Mythdora to LinHES, I thought it might be nice to attempt to document the process and save the next poor bastard a ton of frustration and time on research. I’m no Linux expert, there are probably much easier ways to do what I’ve done here, but these are the steps that worked for me, YMMV. Good luck!

I did try and do the various “migrating a backend” steps outlined on mythtv.org, but had no success doing the steps outlined, nor did I have any success with partial database restores or other forms of recommended migration paths. So what you see here is a compilation of steps from many different websites that allowed me to migrate from Mythdora to LinHES, a huge thanks to these “unsung heroes” who took the time to post the snippets I was able to borrow and use successfully!

So with Mythdora being shelved 4 or so years ago and the Mythtv version sitting at 0.24 fixes, I felt it was time to move on to a package that would get me into current versions of Mythtv. Doing some looking around, I read up on LinHES and it fit the bill for what I was looking for.

My setup was 4 Zotac Atom/Ion based boxes with 1 MBE/FE and 3 SBE/FE. My system has been up for around 4 years and I had about 270 shows recorded (about 1.4 TB of video) that I wanted to migrate (mandated by WAF requirements).

Having all of that extra hardware to play with, it was no big deal to take one of the SBE/FE boxes and repurpose it for LinHES.