LinHES Forums
http://forums.linhes.org/

Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE
http://forums.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=24284
Page 1 of 1

Author:  vabiro [ Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:04 am ]
Post subject:  Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Hi,

After more than a decade of upgrading KnoppMyth and LinHes I have embarked on a scorched earth policy, creating a new install on my backend and two frontends using 8.3.

Everything seems to be working well, but I'd like to have SSH access to my backend server,but for some reason it isn't allowing me to log in using any account. I can log into both my frontend machines with the root account, but not the backend.

I have gone so far as to reinstall, just in case I didn't check the "Allow remote access for root" on the account setup.

I have confirmed that the root password is fine, and can log in locally and using Webmin, but not with SSH/SFTP.

I have also confirmed that the sshd_config file is identical between the frontends that work and the backend that doesn't.

I am sure that I am forgetting something, and I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks,
Victor

Author:  tscholl [ Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Edit the " /etc/ssh/sshd_config" file. Look in the Authentication section and then uncomment PermitRootLogin and change to yes if needed.
Code:
# Authentication:
#LoginGraceTime 2m
PermitRootLogin yes
#StrictModes yes
#MaxAuthTries 6
#MaxSessions 10

Then run this command.
Code:
sv restart sshd

Author:  vabiro [ Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Hi,

Thanks for the info, but I had confirmed that that option was enabled and restarted.

Did it again, but no joy.

Like I said, no problems logging into either frontend, but for some reason the MythBackend machine isn't accepting my login.

Are there any other config files that I can check to see if they are correct?

I didn't notice this before, but the login prompt is different between the MBE and the frontends:

MBE: Password:
Frontends: root@192.168.1.11's password:

I'm not sure if this hints at the problem.

Victor

Author:  mattbatt [ Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

This isn't the answer that you are looking for but..... Can you log in as mythtv and then
Code:
Su
yourself up to root level?

Author:  vabiro [ Fri Mar 04, 2016 6:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Hi

I tried mythtv with password of mythtv and still no luck.

What keeps sticking in my mind is that the password prompt is different between the machines that work and those that don't.

From the working frontends:
Code:
root@192.168.1.11's password:


From the backend machine that doesn't:
Quote:
Password:


I keep getting the feeling that the missing
Code:
root@192.168.1.11's


Is indicative of something that is different in the configuration, but I can't seem to figure what that would be.

Victor

Author:  tscholl [ Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

When you ssh into a remote host regardless of what it's role you should get:
Code:
login as:

Then when you put in the user name it should return
Code:
"UserName"@someIPaddress's Password:

do you get the "login as" prompt on the MBE?

Author:  vabiro [ Fri Mar 04, 2016 4:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Hi,

I am using Terminal in OSX and the connection command I am using is:
Code:
ssh -p 22 root@192.168.1.8


When I am connecting to the frontend I am using the same command , except the IP is different, and I get a different prompt:
Code:
root@192.168.1.11's password:


This is what is puzzling me: I am using exactly the same (except IP) command to connect to the two machines, but the prompt for password is different.

Victor

Author:  tscholl [ Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Just curious but what is returned when you just ssh to the ip?

Code:
ssh "mbe'sipaddress"  <enter>

Author:  tscholl [ Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Just another thought, If you didn't selected apply password, the password may be null.

Try just hitting enter.

Author:  vabiro [ Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE (SOLVED)

I am unsure which fixed it, but I "changed" the root password using passwd after su'ing from the mythtv account on the desktop, and then I reinstalled openssh using
Code:
pacman -SyU openssh


I was then able to login using the root account, but interestingly, the login prompt remains different from the frontend machines.

I am also pretty sure that this wasn't an error during the original install. When I first did the fresh install of 8.3 I had problems logging in to the root account and assumed that I had made an error when working through the configuration screens, so I did a completely new install, formatting the hard drive and starting from scratch, with a special emphasis on making sure that the password was set and that remote access was enabled.

In any case, the problem is fixed.

Thanks to everyone for your help.

Victor

Author:  tscholl [ Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Remote SSH access on new 8.3 BE

Quote:
the login prompt remains different from the frontend machines.

What does the login prompt look like?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/