View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 5:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 999
Location: SC
that is up to you but you could have the same problem again since you are using a custom xorg.

One thing to try:
in /etc/systeconfig change XIgnoreConfig="1" to XIgnoreConfig="0"
run sudo xconfig.sh
restart the frontend sudo sv restart frontend
if MythFrontend/OSD/mythtv-setup work go into LinHES Settings > Display and uncheck User Supplied Configuration


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 5:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
I don't remember why I am using a custom xorg. I guess I'll find out the hard way.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 6:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
OK well that did something this time It did break my overscan fix but I can fix that again. Unfortunately All I can see is the bubble background and the LInHES logo.
I ran a Pacman -Syu again and it found two updates so I did them. I swear those weren't there yesterday.

Code:
[mythtv@gimli ~]$ sudo xconfig.sh
Detected NVIDIA as the video card type
  Checking for nvidia in cache or online
  Checking for nvidia-libgl in cache or online
  Checking for nvidia-utils in cache or online
  Checking for opencl-nvidia in cache or online
Installing current nvidia driver
    Setting modeline to 1920x1080
Running plymouth_config
[mythtv@gimli ~]$ sudo sv restart frontend
timeout: finish: frontend: (pid 12378) 424s
[mythtv@gimli ~]$ sudo pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core                                                                                           166.1 KiB  1038K/s 00:00 [########################################################################] 100%
 extra                                                                                          104.9 KiB  1665K/s 00:00 [########################################################################] 100%
:: Starting full system upgrade...
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...

Package (2)         Old Version  New Version  Net Change  Download Size

core/LinHES-config  8.4-7        8.4-8          0.00 MiB       0.30 MiB
core/mythinstall    8.4-3        8.4-4          0.00 MiB       0.36 MiB

Total Download Size:   0.66 MiB
Total Installed Size:  1.59 MiB
Net Upgrade Size:      0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
:: Retrieving packages...
 LinHES-config-8.4-8-x86_64                                                                     307.3 KiB  1397K/s 00:00 [########################################################################] 100%
 mythinstall-8.4-4-x86_64                                                                       367.1 KiB  1748K/s 00:00 [########################################################################] 100%
(2/2) checking keys in keyring                                                                                           [########################################################################] 100%
(2/2) checking package integrity                                                                                         [########################################################################] 100%
(2/2) loading package files                                                                                              [########################################################################] 100%
(2/2) checking for file conflicts                                                                                        [########################################################################] 100%
:: Processing package changes...
(1/2) upgrading LinHES-config                                                                                            [########################################################################] 100%
warning: directory permissions differ on /etc/
filesystem: 775  package: 755
warning: directory permissions differ on /usr/bin/
filesystem: 775  package: 755
    *TEMPLATES is not defined
    *using default value
____Start of IR____
    Trying to link /usr/MythVantage/templates/remotes/favorites/streamzap/lircd.conf.streamzap ->  /etc/lirc/lircd.conf.d/remote_lircd.conf
    Setting up lirc for Kodi
    Trying to link /usr/MythVantage/templates/remotes/favorites/streamzap/Lircmap.xml ->  /home/mythtv/.kodi/userdata/Lircmap.xml
    Setting up lirc for PlexHT
    Trying to link /usr/MythVantage/templates/remotes/favorites/streamzap/Lircmap.xml ->  /home/mythtv/.plexht/userdata/Lircmap.xml
    Adding service remotes
    Adding service irexec
    Configuring receiver streamzap
    Removing service igdaemon
    stop service igdaemon
    Removing service tatir
    stop service tatir
    HostBlasterType : None
    Triggering udev
    Disabling LCD support
    Removing service lcdd
    stop service lcdd
__End IR

____Start of vnc config ____
     Installing vnc system

____Start of vnc setup____
    Checking tigervnc for install
    tigervnc is already installed, will not install
    couldn't create vnc dir:/home/vncsvc/.vnc
*    vncsvc not found
    Trying to link /home/mythtv/.mythtv ->  /home/vncsvc/.mythtv
    /home/vncsvc/.mythtv is present, skipping...
    Writing out password
__End of vnc

    Adding service vnc
     Installing x11vnc system

    Checking x11vnc for install
    x11vnc is already installed, will not install
    Adding service xvnc
__End of vnc

____Start of locale/lang config ____
    locale is: en_US.UTF-8
    Generating locales
    Updating /etc/locale.conf
   Removing pts and shm from fstab...
(2/2) upgrading mythinstall                                                                                              [########################################################################] 100%
[mythtv@gimli ~]$


_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 6:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 999
Location: SC
Those were just pushed up this afternoon.
What did xconfig give you when you ran it?
Open an xterm and run mythfrontend. What does it give?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 7:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
Thank you for your help Bfransen, Sorry I have been sporadically online tonight, Sick kid.
OK so it looks like there is definitely some blockage with OpenGL I had no way to copy paste the results from the LinHES box so I had to pipe the command into text file. It did not write the OpenGL errors into the text file so I retyped them where they occurred naturally.
Code:
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623462 I  Setup Interrupt handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623507 I  Setup Terminated handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623518 I  Setup Segmentation fault handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623525 I  Setup Aborted handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623534 I  Setup Bus error handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623542 I  Setup Floating point exception handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623553 I  Setup Illegal instruction handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623562 I  Setup Real-time signal 0 handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623573 I  Setup User defined signal 1 handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623579 I  Setup User defined signal 2 handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623587 I  Setup Hangup handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623724 C  mythfrontend version: fixes/0.28 [v28.0-23-g370dd71] www.mythtv.org
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623734 C  Qt version: compile: 5.5.1, runtime: 5.5.1
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623740 N  Enabled verbose msgs:  general
2016-05-14 21:08:08.623763 N  Setting Log Level to LOG_INFO
2016-05-14 21:08:08.635303 N  Using runtime prefix = /usr
2016-05-14 21:08:08.635320 N  Using configuration directory = /home/mythtv/.mythtv
2016-05-14 21:08:08.635350 I  Added logging to the console
2016-05-14 21:08:08.635445 I  Assumed character encoding: en_US.UTF-8
2016-05-14 21:08:08.636128 N  Empty LocalHostName.
2016-05-14 21:08:08.636140 I  Using localhost value of gimli
2016-05-14 21:08:08.658478 N  Setting QT default locale to EN_US
2016-05-14 21:08:08.658499 I  Current locale EN_US
2016-05-14 21:08:08.658569 N  Reading locale defaults from /usr/share/mythtv//locales/en_us.xml
2016-05-14 21:08:08.678345 I  Starting process manager
2016-05-14 21:08:08.678382 I  Starting process signal handler
2016-05-14 21:08:08.678541 I  Starting IO manager (write)
2016-05-14 21:08:08.678576 I  Starting IO manager (read)
2016-05-14 21:08:08.729793 I  ScreenSaverX11Private: DPMS is disabled.
2016-05-14 21:08:08.758552 N  Desktop video mode: 1920x1080 60.053 Hz
2016-05-14 21:08:08.860248 E  Failed listening on TCP 127.0.0.1:6547 - Error 8: The bound address is already in use
2016-05-14 21:08:08.860278 E  MediaRenderer: HttpServer Create Error
2016-05-14 21:08:08.871443 I  Loading en_us translation for module mythfrontend
2016-05-14 21:08:08.881060 I  LIRC: Successfully initialized '/var/run/lirc/lircd' using '/home/mythtv/.mythtv/lircrc' config
2016-05-14 21:08:08.881708 I  No joystick configuration found, not enabling joystick control
2016-05-14 21:08:08.961975 E  CECAdapter: Failed to find any CEC devices.
2016-05-14 21:08:08.962370 I  CECAdapter: Closing down CEC.
2016-05-14 21:08:08.962396 I  UDPListener: Enabling
2016-05-14 21:08:08.963108 I  Binding to UDP 127.0.0.1:6948
2016-05-14 21:08:08.963143 I  Binding to UDP 192.168.0.164:6948
2016-05-14 21:08:08.963169 I  Binding to UDP [::1]:6948
2016-05-14 21:08:08.963268 I  Binding to UDP [fe80::20a:cdff:fe24:d8f1%eth0]:6948
2016-05-14 21:08:08.963299 I  Binding to UDP 192.168.0.255:6948
2016-05-14 21:08:08.991973 I  Using Frameless Window
2016-05-14 21:08:08.991979 I  Using Full Screen Window
Could Not initialize OpenGL for RasterGLSurface, reverting to RasterService.
2016-05-14 21:08:09.100712 I  UI Screen Resolution: 1920 x 1080
2016-05-14 21:08:09.261678 I  OpenGL: Sync to VBlank is enabled (good!)
Could not Initilize OpenGL
Handling Aborted
Aborted (core dumped)

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 7:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
Well this sucks. I tried installing from ISO but it gets stuck in the same place with the fat penguin and the bubbles. I tried running mythtv-setup in the live boot and it gives me the same openGL errors as listed above.

I also tried installing to a VM and got nowhere. Yes I checked the MD5 hash.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 8:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
OK I have a clue as to why I can't upgrade with the ISO. I'm not sure what exactly this means but when I try to install the ISO in Virtualbox. the first desktop image is of a holly leaf inside a globe or something. On my MythBox it's the same old blue background with the greenish circles all over the place.
Is the Live CD (usb) pulling settings from my installed drive?
If so that makes fixing catastrophic problems really hard.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 8:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 677
What model video card are you trying?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 8:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
My specs
Nvdia GT430
HDHR 2 tuner, AMD Athlon II X2 240, 4 gB of ram,

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 9:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 677
Matt

I'm using Nvida ION, The driver is Nvidia 340.96 Your card the GeForce GT 430 is supported by the driver

The process is Linhes boots with the Linhes logo and then it drops down, then there is a 30 second wait for the desktop to appear with a butterfly inside of a glass ball. The picture is really awesome and takes some resources. If you can try setting it up with a monitor instead of a TV. It is always easier that way. Opengl GLX has a lot of settings that show up in

Code:
 Nvida-settings


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 10:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
I wasn't trying to diss on the new picture. I'm just trying to say that the upgrade that automatically installed itself is botched and the iso on a thumb drive is pulling settings from the botched install. I am also remembering that the LinHES install disk can't actually wipe a drive from the GUI. I had to format the drive with Gparted first before I could install.
According to the Nvidia website the appropriate driver for my card is the 361.42 http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverRe ... 1423/en-us
LinHES has installed Nvidia.364.16-3 is the installed driver. Just for kicks I tried to install the 340.xx driver but the dependencies wouldn't allow me to.
Well I wiped the first partition on my secondary drive, unpluged my primary drive and just tried to install from the USB and I got the exact same thing. GRUMBLE GRUMBLE
I might have to pull a backup from a few days ago and install 8.3 just to get everything back.
The backend is running fine, the frontend is just eating up the CPU by constantly trying to start that thing.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 6:42 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 999
Location: SC
Booting from the ISO does not pull any settings from any drive until the setup is run, a drive selected and then it only does if you select an Upgrade. You can verify right after booting the ISO by running df and seeing that there are no mounts other than off the ISO. Since the installer is not running you are not getting to that point.

I believe what we have here is some problem with your video card and the nVidia driver since you are having the same problem in the ISO as well as your install. Both ISO and install use xconfig.sh to select and install the driver. The odd part is your 430 is supported by the 364.19 driver. http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L ... chips.html It is also supported by the 340 driver: http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L ... chips.html Try forcing the install of the 340 driver as show http://linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/ ... #xconfigsh
Code:
sudo VGACARDTYPE="nvidia-340xx" xconfig.sh


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 10:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 677
Matt

The first time i used it testing it was a bit of a surprise, The desktop graphic was really impressive, I could see the packages needed to be updated. Some of them are really old and did not meet the dependency for Firefox. I noticed a little lag so I upgraded to 4gb. Performance improved so I stayed with it. I am not using a remote. To narrow it down I recommend another test. This one is super limited. On a spare drive, full install the PC, use a monitor. Do not connect your remote or USB. See if that works. You can also download and try Knoppix cd it has a light load and works well for testing (it has GParted in it).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 12:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
Thanks RacerX, I used a mint live USB and it worked great. I tried to install to the first partition of my second drive and it didn't work. I realized it was my mistake the caused the VM to not install correctly. I forgot to "eject" the ISO before restarting the VM and then I quit the install somehow this left the boot "drive" read only.


Brfransen I ran that command and I got these results
Code:
[mythtv@gimli ~]$ sudo VGACARDTYPE="nvidia-340xx" xconfig.sh
Video card type forced to nvidia-340xx
  Checking for nvidia-340xx in cache or online
  Checking for nvidia-340xx-libgl in cache or online
  Checking for nvidia-340xx-utils in cache or online
  Checking for opencl-nvidia-340xx in cache or online
Installing nvidia-340xx driver
    Setting modeline to 1920x1080
Running plymouth_config
[mythtv@gimli ~]$


AND after a reboot it upgraded the Database and everything is working perfectly. Thanks to both of you. I guess I am still a Linux Noob.
:P :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 1:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 999
Location: SC
Glad it is working. I am still concerned that regular nvidia driver wasn't working as nvidia says it clearly should. That also means that a ISO install for you won't work. What is your video card device ID?
Code:
lspci | grep -i nvidia
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 220] (rev a2)

Then take what ever for you is the first numbers and put it in the grep quotes:
Code:
lspci -n | grep '01:00.0'
01:00.0 0300: 10de:0a20 (rev a2)


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu