View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 5:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 85
I tried upgrading my LinHES from 8.3 to 8.4. What could go wrong? :roll:
The pacman upgrade went smoothly enough but when I rebooted and tried to update the DB schema get a message about a backup file to use if needed and this line:

Quote:
There are also other clients using this database. They should be shutdown first.

What do I need to shutdown?

Also, how do I stop the annoying error message 'Waiting for connection to mythbackend'. I don't want to start the backend before the DB upgrade.

s


Last edited by sparks on Fri May 20, 2016 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 9:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Lexington, Ky
I ran into this same problem upgrading one of my test machines. Anyone have any ideas?

No backends or frontends are running.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 7:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 85
I was using Alt+S to update the DB. When I used mythtv-set from the CLI I got some info.

Quote:
Database Backup complete.
2016-05-20 09:15:02.658057 C Backed up database to file:
'/data/storage/ST31000524AS_6VPFKXFP/backup/mythtv_backups/mythconverg-1318-20160520131453.sql.gz'
2016-05-20 09:15:15.378785 C Upgrading to MythTV schema version 1319
2016-05-20 09:15:15.379199 E DB Error (Performing database upgrade):
Query was: ALTER TABLE program ADD COLUMN season INT(4) NOT NULL
DEFAULT '0', ADD COLUMN episode INT(4) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0';
Error was: Driver error was [2/1060]:
QMYSQL: Unable to execute query
Database error was:
Duplicate column name 'season'

2016-05-20 09:15:15.379216 E Database schema upgrade failed.
2016-05-20 09:15:15.379760 E Couldn't upgrade database to new schema.
2016-05-20 09:15:15.699039 I OpenGL2: Deleting OpenGL Resources
2016-05-20 09:15:15.699117 I OpenGL: Deleting OpenGL Resources


Where do I go from here?

S


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 9:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 85
I finally fixed this. I did a restore of the DB, not the lastest one but one from before the pacman upgrade. Evidently my machine ran the daily backup job when I started my machine for the day. I did this from the web interface on another box. By the time I looked up from the laptop (took me a few minutes; I get hung-up), mythtv was running with no other input from me, IOW I never ran mythtv-setup after the restore.

When I started the frontend I got a screen saying myth wanted to update the schema from 1318 to 1320. When I started mythtv-setup, one of the lines stated that the DB schema was 1344 so I just exited out and used my myth box. Looks real nice too. Like the new default theme.

S


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu