View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:23 am
Posts: 26
Location: South Dakota, USA
I have just pulled the rip cord on Mythbuntu, as development on it seems to have stopped, and the last released version was barely usable.

I have decided to give LinHES a try again. Much has changed I see, and for the better. I am glad I decided to give it another try. But I am sorry to say my initial installs have not gone well, at all. I keep getting the following error, and the installation just stops:

"Failed to extract static mount from /tmp/mount2.28.2.tar.xz" :shock:

The installation stops there and goes no further. My system is a 1U server of 2006 vintage, with an LSI MegaRAID SAS controller, where I have a RAID 0 disk (72 Gig) set as my boot drive, and a 3 disk RAID 0 array (3 x 2 Gig) for recording and video storage.

Initially, I thought my issues were due to a DNS hostname selection, but later found out that the setup only allows the selection of the first two NIC's in the system, and mine has four. So I shifted my Ethernet cable to ETH0, and solved that issue, but this other one has me stumped. There is nothing about this error in the forums or online anywhere. Could it have something to do with my selection of disk or sizes for the various partitions? I increased the OS to 10G, and doubled the database partition, and increased the Home partition to 50G.

Thanks for any suggestions.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 990
Location: SC
After it fails open an xterm and confirm that /tmp/mount2.28.2.tar.xz exists. Also the ouput of df and tar -xvf /tmp/mount2.28.2.tar.xz -C /tmp/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:23 am
Posts: 26
Location: South Dakota, USA
Okay,

Stupid question: How do I open an xterm window? All I see is the installation splash screens...

I assume it is some key combination :?: :?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 990
Location: SC
Alt+x


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu