View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:44 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:45 pm
Posts: 389
Location: Fargo, ND, USA
Dos caller ID work in LinHES 7.4 or 8.1 ? When I check the boxes below and a call comes in the modem will answer the phone and start the handshake which sounds similar to a fax machine. Needless to say it should be listening and not answering the call. The Wiki on this subject is geared to LinHES 6 and version 0.76 not LinHES 7 and version 0.83-1 . The last posts on this subject are all ten years old. Dos anyone have any steps to get this working also dos anybody know what the script name that install this from the LinHES menus.

http://linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/Caller_ID_displayed_on_your_LinHES_screen

LinHES Setup Menus +++++++++++++++++++
Service Menu > LinHES Configuration > Advanced Settings (1/3)
Checked: Run Caller ID -------- (run backend program)
Serial Port: TTYS0 --------------- (set serial port to 0)

Checked: Show Caller ID ------- (run frontend program)
++++++++++++++++++++
US Robotics Modem 3CP5610A ----- ( I use the same model modem 5610b on my windows machine for caller ID Info )

Dmesg.log
[ 0.714789] 0000:01:06.0: ttyS0 at I/O 0xcc00 (irq = 19) is a 16550A

> lspci
01:06.0 Serial controller: 3Com Corp, Modem Division 56K FaxModem Model 5610 (rev 01)

Installed program: ncid 0.83-1

++ Running Programs: ++
runsv ncid-logger
tclsh /usr/bin/ncid --no-gui --program /usr/bin/ncid-log.py 127.0.0.1 3333
runsv ncid-server
/usr/sbin/ncidd -D -t /dev/ttyS0
runsv ncid-client
tclsh /usr/bin/ncid --no-gui --program /usr/share/ncid/ncid-linhes localhost 333 ...

Thanks
TVBox

_________________
TVBox
LinHES R8.4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 7:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
Yes caller id does work in LinHES and it's been working fine for me.
From what you described the modem is setup to auto-answer which is not what you want.

By default LinHES doesn't really use the ncid config file, instead it starts the program with all the option on the command line.

To use a config file name it /etc/ncid/ncidd-user.conf. Anything in that config file will be used and the LinHES menu settings ignored.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu