View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 75
Location: Raleigh, NC
After upgrading from R5D1 to R5E50 (thanks tjc for the excellent post) I noticed the picture quality didn't seem as good from my two PVR-150's. In poking around on the ivtv mailing list, it appears that the 0.8.2 version of ivtv changed the defaults on a filtering setting ... in particular the temporal filter.

You can determine the current setting with the following command ...

Code:
v4l2-ctl -C temporal_filter -d 0


I found it was zero, and it appears the recommended value should be 8, for a full screen capture (720x480). You can change it with this command ...

Code:
v4l2-ctl -c temporal_filter=8 -d 0


Note the -d 0 parameter on both these commands refers to the value of your video device. If you have multiple cards you'll have to set it for both. In my case I set it for devices 0 and 1.

If you ssh into your box while it's playing LiveTV, you can see the changes in real time.

In my case it has made a significant difference in quality, with no impact on performance because it's a parameter on the hardware encoder.

Note that the change does not persist after a reboot, so you'll have to add the command(s) to ....

Code:
/home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps


or other location so the commands are issued at startup. You can read more about the issue here ...

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/ivtv/users/33616?#33616

and more about other filter parameters here ...

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/ivtv/users/33617?#33617

Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:53 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:11 am
Posts: 61
Thanks,

This made an easily noticeable improvement on my analog cable input. (On my clean digital cable signal it made things worse.) No overhead penalty that I could detect with top.

I went into the box via ssh and issued the commands to change the temporal filter while the tv was running and you could watch the change occur in live time. The difference was big enough that my wife and kids (8 & 11) could easily notice the change so this is not a subtle improvement for me.

I added the following line to the /home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps file as you recommended to make things permanent:

Code:
[startup] {v4l2-ctl -c temporal_filter=8 -d 2}

_________________
BE: R8.4, HVR2250, MCE media center remote, GigaByte GA-EP43-UD3L, 2gb ram

FE: Linhes 8.4, Mythbuntu, Linux Mint DE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
That's what /etc/init.d/set_ivtv_params is for...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 75
Location: Raleigh, NC
I didn't set it in set_ivtv_params because it still uses the ivtvctl command rather than v4l2-ctl.

The implication in the ivtv wiki is that v4l2-ctl is taking over most of the functions of ivtvctl, but I couldn't find specifics.

Do you know if it would work to just change the definition of IVTVCTL set_ivtv_params to v4l2-ctl?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
It would not. There is a patched version I need to post. Look for it over in the upgrade hint thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 75
Location: Raleigh, NC
Will do.

Thanks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
Thanks for the fix guys!!! This made a dramatic improvement with my PVR-500. I can actually watch a little bit of Standard Definition TV now without wanting to vomit. My wife noticed the improvement as well.

For those who are lazy the fix is here:

http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... 8&start=30

fifth post down.

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:44 am
Posts: 287
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Thanks, I'll have to give this a try when I get my new PVR-150 this week.

_________________
Tim

LinHES 8.4
HDHR3
BioStar A770, AMD X2 4050e, 2GB RAM
GigaByte GeForce 8400, Chaintech AV710
USB-UIRT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 10:22 pm
Posts: 73
Any ideas why my R5E50 box doesn't know what "temporal_filter" is?

Code:
root@mythtv:~# v4l2-ctl -C temporal_filter -d 0
unknown control 'temporal_filter'


Thanks!

-seano

_________________
Dragon 1.0 +
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
Corsair 2GB PC3200 400MHz DDR DIMM
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Plextor PX-716A
WD3200SB
2 x pcHDTV HD-3000
1 x PVR 150
ASUS Extreme N6200TC256/TD
Chaintech AV-710
Nexus NX-4090
Silverstone LC-10


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Dunno. Use the list option to dump the control settings it knows about and their current values. Are you sure it's really R5E50? We had someone else who'd gotten an R5D1 image from one of the mirrors...
Code:
cat /etc/KnoppMyth-version


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 5:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 30
Location: Cleveland, OH
seano wrote:
Any ideas why my R5E50 box doesn't know what "temporal_filter" is?

Code:
root@mythtv:~# v4l2-ctl -C temporal_filter -d 0
unknown control 'temporal_filter'




Here are the things that I learned about this command. Hope it helps:

1. The command is "v4l2-ctl" with the letter "L" not the number "1".

2. The capitalization of "-C" or "-c" is important. Uppercase "-C" means "get the value of the control", in this case temporal_filter. Lowercase "-c" means "set the value of the control."

Get the value
v4l2-ctl -C temporal_filter -d 0

Set the value to 8
v4l2-ctl -c temporal_filter=8 -d 0

3. The "-d" parameter is "device number." So I have a BTTV WinTV-Go tuner card as "video0" and an IVTV PVR-150 tuner card as "video1." This "temporal_filter" command is only applicable to the IVTV card, so I needed to use "-d 1" to specify it.

v4l2-ctl -C temporal_filter -d 1

Otherwise, the "-d 0" command went to the "video0" and it returned "unknown control."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 7:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Run v4l2-ctl --help | more to see all of the options.

BTW - Lest there be any confusion about look alike letters and numbers that's "Victor-Four-Lima-Two-Dash-Charlie-Tango-Lima" all in lowercase.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:20 pm
Posts: 102
I definitely see an improvement on some channels, but not others.
Weird.

Still, any improvement is good improvement! :)

_________________
R5.5
p4/3.0 GHz
2GB PC3200
Abit IC7-G
3x Seagate 7200.10 SATA (raid1 /, raid5 /myth)
eVGA FX-5500 AGP
3x PVR-150 (model 1045)
MCEUSB2 remote w/Philips USB transceiver


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 10:22 pm
Posts: 73
tjc wrote:
Dunno. Use the list option to dump the control settings it knows about and their current values. Are you sure it's really R5E50? We had someone else who'd gotten an R5D1 image from one of the mirrors...
Code:
cat /etc/KnoppMyth-version


Turns out my card's sorta dead...
http://www.mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=14224

Which is why it's not responding at -d 0

-SeanO

_________________
Dragon 1.0 +
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
Corsair 2GB PC3200 400MHz DDR DIMM
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Plextor PX-716A
WD3200SB
2 x pcHDTV HD-3000
1 x PVR 150
ASUS Extreme N6200TC256/TD
Chaintech AV-710
Nexus NX-4090
Silverstone LC-10


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 1:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:05 pm
Posts: 77
Am I missing something, I did tjc's "Updated /etc/init.d/set_ivtv_params script" from the hints page. I changed the value in the script for temporal_filter to 8. But this didn't hold through a reboot.

Is that supposed to work? I had to modify the the fluxbox setting to make it stick. If anyone can clarify that for me, I would much appreciate it.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu