View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 83 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
try a dig on the SBE to see if DNS is working properly.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 1:14 pm
Posts: 145
Location: Charlotte NC USA
Has anyone tried this script with R5F27?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 87
I used it on my fresh R5F27 install yesterday. It worked fine to install the dvd codecs, swiss file knife, and easytag. I think some of the others are already included in the default install of the new release, and the rest I didnt' need.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:33 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 1:01 am
Posts: 21
datobin1 wrote:
Has anyone tried this script with R5F27?



Yes it works on R5f27

_________________
My Frontend/Backend System in The Garage!

KnoppMyth R5F27
Case - Enermax / 420 Watt PWS
Motherboard - Asus A7N8X
Video Card - PNY 6600GT
Processor - AMD Athlon 2500
Ram - 1.0Gb PC3200 ram
HD - 250GB IDE
TV TUNER - PVR -150
Giga Lan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 5:26 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Winnipeg - Canada
I've downloaded and attempted to run this script to install pineapple and the other accompanying option. I don't want to get into too much detail as I know this is a topic that must be very gently skirted around.

I'm using R5F27 and the basic end result is that I was given an error stating " dpkg: unable to acces dpkg status area: No such file or directory"

I did get this twice, and it's probably worth noting that I was running thing from a diskless frontend.

If anyone is able to shed some light on this that would be excellent. I really don't even know where to begin with this.

_________________
Currently Running:
Too lazy to update this with my current hardware, I'll redo it during my next install =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Install it on your backend and it should then be available on your frontend (because /usr is mounted from the backend).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 5:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 5:26 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Winnipeg - Canada
Thank you Greg, I will give that a try.

_________________
Currently Running:
Too lazy to update this with my current hardware, I'll redo it during my next install =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 5:26 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Winnipeg - Canada
Install process went flawlessy on the backend and performs exactly as expected. I'm still however unable to play a disc from my FE machine. It's not especially critical as there can very easily be a standalone DVD player moved to that room, but if I can get things working with my MythFE as my primary DVD player that will of course mean less devices in the room and is appealing to me.

_________________
Currently Running:
Too lazy to update this with my current hardware, I'll redo it during my next install =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Is the disk in your FE machine or your BE machine? I don't have any drives in my diskless FE machine, but I would like to be able to pop a DVD in the BE and watch it from the FE without ripping it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 5:26 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Winnipeg - Canada
The disc is in the machine that I'm watching at. I've not mad any attempts and putting the disc in the BE and watching on the FE. I'm not even sure how one would go about trying that.....

_________________
Currently Running:
Too lazy to update this with my current hardware, I'll redo it during my next install =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 7:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
rando wrote:
The disc is in the machine that I'm watching at. I've not mad any attempts and putting the disc in the BE and watching on the FE. I'm not even sure how one would go about trying that.....


I tried putting a DVD into the diskless FE = no play on FE.

DVD into BE = play on BE, no play on FE

Not sure where to go from here. Diskless FE works great out-of-box!

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 198
steeve,

Did you install everything (tweaks and what not) on the BE before you ran the script to create the diskless FE? Also is it giving you any erros?

_________________
Marty

Long live Myth and Knoppmyth!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
sinspot1 wrote:
steeve,

Did you install everything (tweaks and what not) on the BE before you ran the script to create the diskless FE? Also is it giving you any erros?


Yeah, I did. I made sure that my MBE was setup before attempting a diskless FE.

I didn't see any errors in any of the logs, no error messages popup in myth.

I have since temporarily abandoned the idea of DVD hardware in my diskless FE so that I can concentrate on getting a good working remote for the diskless FE.

Any help there (or with the DVD/diskless FE project) is much appreciated!

-sTv

EDIT 09-29-07 747PM: Oh, good heavens! I'm so sorry, everyone. I fear that I have helped to hijack this thread! Shall we start another one for diskless FE + DVD hardware? If the admins want to move our posts to another thread, I've no objection.

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
steeve wrote:
rando wrote:
The disc is in the machine that I'm watching at. I've not mad any attempts and putting the disc in the BE and watching on the FE. I'm not even sure how one would go about trying that.....


I tried putting a DVD into the diskless FE = no play on FE.

DVD into BE = play on BE, no play on FE

Not sure where to go from here. Diskless FE works great out-of-box!

-sTv


Solution:

Utilities / Setup --> Setup -- > Media Settings -- > DVD Settings -- > General Settings -- > Location of DVD Device:

-change /dev/dvd to /dev/hd(n) *

* /dev/hd(n) refers to your CD-ROM or DVD-ROM device. Mine is /dev/hdc. :lol:

yay!

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Doing:
Code:
ls -l /dev/dvd

would probably be enlightening. It _should_ be a symlink to the real drive, however, if you have multiple optical drives in the machine the setup scripts can be fooled and get this wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 83 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu