View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
The installation process.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 6:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
BluesBrian wrote:
Sadly, in Linux land,
Quote:
ls -al /usr/local/bin/ | more
is often passed off as user documentation.

This stuff takes a lot of of work, remarks like that make me wonder why I bother.

The hints are not an all encompassing cradle to grave installation manual. I specifically mention this right up front.
Quote:
This is also intended to be a supplement to Cecil's Pamphlet and change list rather than a replacement. As a result it tends to skip issues they cover, so don't forget to review those before you start.

I have no interest in producing such a document. I don't get paid to do this, and when I am getting paid it's to do heavy duty system engineering and software development (i.e. I am not a tech writer and generally don't enjoy writing tedious instructions at a 6th grade reading level or spending hours mucking with formatting). I do not have the hardware, the time, or the inclination to explore, exercise and document every path through the install or upgrade process. If you wanted to hire me to spend several months doing that full time at twice my normal hourly rate I would decline the job offer.

The hints are intended to be just that. A set of hints for dealing with the most commonly encountered issues. A guide to known pitfalls and how to avoid them. Perhaps most of all a convenient reference to point people to when either their searches fail or they fail to search.


Last edited by tjc on Fri Sep 14, 2007 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:22 am
Posts: 232
Location: SF East Bay, CA
tjc wrote:
BluesBrian wrote:
Sadly, in Linux land,
Quote:
ls -al /usr/local/bin/ | more
is often passed off as user documentation.

This stuff takes a lot of of work, remarks like that make me wonder why I bother.

I humbly apologize for the implication. Your suggestion was sound. My comment was directed at the Linux community in general and was not intended to be personal. And I apologize to everyone else on this forum, I was completely out of place.
tjc wrote:
The hints are not an all encompassing cradle to grave installation manual...

I understand that. Thanks for restating it for the less informed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 153
that reminds me.... thanks tjc for all your effort. It saves us all a lot of time.
Your thread is a very helpful to me in deciding when a release has been field tested enough. Still I usually only last a few weeks before the temptation is too great and I take the plunge.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 4:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:33 am
Posts: 400
Location: Kitsap Peninsula, Wa., United States
Wasn't sure this was the correct place but I found an issue with the Hints and Tips.

I am upgrading from R5C7 Clean install.

Quote:
1.2) Check that the backup worked! If you are upgrading from:

***************
- R5C7 - Use the /usr/local/bin/checkbackup.sh already installed on your system.
*************


I checked several locations manually for this script. It dis not seem to exist in my installation.

Followed the instruction for R5B7
Quote:
R5B7 and even earlier versions - Get the check_backup.sh script which can be found on the MythBackupAndRestoreHowTo page on the wiki. Note that you may need to make a simple change to the tar commands in that script...


That worked fine on my MBE.
On both of my SBE's it gave me expected errors in the Check DB dump and compare to Live Tables. That actually is expected I believe as the SBE does not have a SQL instance on it so it should appear different.

If you would like I can post the errors it gave me on 1 of my SBE's they appeared identical for both of them.

Now onto the final stuff..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 5:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Fixed. The good news is it let me make it simpler.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:24 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 6:24 pm
Posts: 17
You mention disabling the ir_kbd_i2c module but don't clarify where to do this. I checked ivtv file and didn't find it. Any suggestions?

_________________
- Andy
Tier2: http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=5826
PHP Book -- PHP Reference: Beginner to Intermediate PHP5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:08 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
ucffool wrote:
You mention disabling the ir_kbd_i2c module but don't clarify where to do this. I checked ivtv file and didn't find it. Any suggestions?


See this article in the wiki http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php? ... ld115HowTo

and this thread in the forum http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... t=irkbdi2c

Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 7:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:17 am
Posts: 359
Schedules Direct Membership -- $15
Blank CD for KM installer -- $0.17
This guide -- $0.00

A smooth upgrade Priceless


Thanks again !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Upgrade fumble
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 12:48 pm
Posts: 4
Hello, I'm a newbie with Linux in general - though I have a lot of computer experience - Windows, Netware and some Solaris. I've only been using KnoppMyth for about 6 months.

Of course, when I upgraded, I didn't realize that I would need to prepare for the Auto-Upgrade - as I thought the upgrade would just swap me to SchedulesDirect and leave the rest of the system alone. I suppose I've learned my lesson in this manner - I stay busy and barely have time to watch my videos, much less re-configure and troubleshoot this box for hours on end.

Apparently the symptoms I'm experiencing are probably because of the things I didn't do up front. I loved the previous version of KM because it was so easy to setup - but now I'm wondering how hard it would be to save my videos I like, but blow out the box and start all over.

I have a PVR-350 and the Silver/Gray remote....

In your opinion, would it be smoother to just start all over in this manner - I mean would a fresh install be smoother than all of the various problems I'm having now?

Thanks for your opinion(s)
-Cliff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade fumble
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 3:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:31 pm
Posts: 39
cgiddens wrote:
Hello, I'm a newbie with Linux in general - though I have a lot of computer experience - Windows, Netware and some Solaris. I've only been using KnoppMyth for about 6 months.

Of course, when I upgraded, I didn't realize that I would need to prepare for the Auto-Upgrade - as I thought the upgrade would just swap me to SchedulesDirect and leave the rest of the system alone. I suppose I've learned my lesson in this manner - I stay busy and barely have time to watch my videos, much less re-configure and troubleshoot this box for hours on end.

Apparently the symptoms I'm experiencing are probably because of the things I didn't do up front. I loved the previous version of KM because it was so easy to setup - but now I'm wondering how hard it would be to save my videos I like, but blow out the box and start all over.

I have a PVR-350 and the Silver/Gray remote....

In your opinion, would it be smoother to just start all over in this manner - I mean would a fresh install be smoother than all of the various problems I'm having now?

Thanks for your opinion(s)
-Cliff


I sometimes do a full rebuild.

When I do an install I make a text document of the actions/commands I perform. When I do a full rebuild it is easy to not forget things because of this.

I have separate disks for /myth/video and /myth/music so...

I just disconnect those drives and backup a few files like... lircrc, lircd.conf, fstab and if there are any TV shows in the /myth/pretty folder I want to watch I move them to the /myth/video folder.

Obviously not an exhaustive list of what I backup. The only real issue with the full rebuild I have found is that I then must reschedule all of my recordings and tweak it to my liking...but most of the tweaks I like are in my install notes. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Rebuild
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 3:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 12:48 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks FORKD - I'll use this as a guideline and probably rebuild - I suppose I won't be too heart broken if I lose anything in there now - though it would be nice not to. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:31 am
Posts: 195
Location: Secret Lair
ucffool wrote:
You mention disabling the ir_kbd_i2c module but don't clarify where to do this. I checked ivtv file and didn't find it. Any suggestions?

How about reading the rest of the section for known issue 5 which tells you exactly how to disable it, how to determine if it's safe to do that, and what your options are if it isn't?
tjc wrote:
5) If you are using a Hauppauge remote with the IR sensor dongle connected directly to the card and it only works sporadically you may need to disable the ir_kbd_i2c module. The ir_kbd_i2c and lirc_i2c modules simply do not play together nicely, with ir_kbd_i2c stealing events from lirc_i2c, and must occasionally be forcibly separated.

-> If you are not using a capture card which depends on the saa7134 module (typically DVB, HDTV and some other cards) you can either skip loading of the driver or remove it completely. Search your dmesg output for saa7134 to be sure:
Code:
dmesg | grep saa7134

The following chunk from my personal post install tweaks script comments out the loading of various dvb modules which happens whether you need them or not:
Code:
# Stop it from loading the dvb stuff which drags in the IR keyboard stuff
sed -si.orig -e 's/^\(modprobe dvb-bt8xx\)/#\1/' \
-e 's/^\(modprobe saa7134-dvb\)/#\1/' \
-e 's/^\(modprobe cx88-dvb\)/#\1/' \
/etc/init.d/KnoppMyth-tv
reboot

This is usually good enough, but I ended up deleting the driver because something else seemed to trigger the loading of those things regardless. Confused
Code:
rm -f /lib/modules/2.6.18-chw-13/kernel/drivers/media/video/ir-kbd-i2c.ko

--> If you do have a capture card that requires the saa7134 driver and thus the ir_kbd_i2c driver, your options look like this:

1) Avoid this combination of hardware. Not ideal.
2) Don't use the PVR card connection in system with a 7134 based card. Replace it with something like the StreamZap sensor. Basically solving the problem by tossing a little money at it.
3) Dummy out the guts of the ir_kbd_i2c driver or figure out how to remove the references to it in the saa7134 driver. This is the "sweat equity" approach. There is some coverage on it here: http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=16400


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 153
Two Issues people may want to consider when upgrading.

If you have an Air2PC version 3 and are changing to schedules direct, you may loose your xmltv ids for your QAM256 channels. I don't know how to get these other than manually entering them.

If you have a packard_bell remote for at least two of us it no longer works after upgrading.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
randomhtpcguy wrote:
If you have a packard_bell remote for at least two of us it no longer works after upgrading.

PM me the thread ID where this is discussed, and I'll see what I can do. There is an LIRC-related patch in R5F27's patcher now that probably wasn't there when you installed - maybe that'll do it.

TJC, shall I write up a list of things handled by R5F27's patcher? In some cases, R5F27 problems can be fixed by running LivePatch.sh. It'll reduce the scope of the documentation and fix some problems faster.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu