View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
This tipically happens when you do an auto upgrade. When you backup, /etc/mythtv/modules is backed and restored and part of the upgrade process. Newer version of ivtv don't like certain options that we exceptable in the past. To correct this, you'll need to edit /etc/mythtv/modules/ivtv and remove or comment any line than has
Quote:
options ivtv debug
or
Quote:
options tuner
in it. Here is a sample of a working /etc/mythtv/modules/ivtv
Code:
alias char-major-81 videodev
alias char-major-61 lirc_i2c
#options ivtv debug=1
#options tuner type=2
options msp3400 once=1 simple=1
install ivtv /sbin/modprobe tuner; /sbin/modprobe msp3400; /sbin/modprobe saa711
5;  /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install  ivtv
remove ivtv /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove ivtv && /sbin/modprobe -r saa7115
&& /sbin/modprobe -r msp3400 && /sbin/modprobe -r tuner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 6:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 11:45 am
Posts: 25
Location: Pennsylvania
In addition to the above changes, I had a line

Code:
options saa7127 enable_output=1 output_select=0


which I removed as the last step to get my PVR350 output to work.

_________________
Biostar TF720 A2+, AMD Athlon X2 6000 (3.1g Dual Core), (2) Hauppauge 1800, 2 GB RAM, 500GB PATA Maxtor HD
LinHES 6.0.3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:04 am
Posts: 263
Location: Toronto, Canada
Hey Cecil:

Could you please comment on to which versions these rules apply, as far as you know.

Thanks

shplad

_________________
KnoppMyth R5C7
Abit NF7-S
Athlon XP Mobile 2500+
Hauppauge PVR-150 + PVR-150MCE
nVidia Geforce 6600GT
Samsung Spinpoint SATA 120GB
NEC ND-3520A DVD
Seasonic Super Tornado 350
BTC 9019URF Wireless Kbd. w. Joystick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
If I remember correctly this showed up only in R5A15+ at least for publicly released versions.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 3:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Your best source for IvyTV info is the IvyTV mailing list. I don't know which version this behavior was changed. The simply fact of the matter is that is where I'd have to look if I wanted to find out. Sorry, I'm not tyring to put you off, but I cannot possible try and keep up w/ every little change for every program.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 10:04 am
Posts: 173
Location: Canton, MI USA
Yeah, this seems to be a big pita. What is it that keeps changing from one version of ivtv to the next that requires different configs...how frustrating.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 6
fixing this such that if you search for an error, you find the solution instead of someone telling you that you need to learn how to search better:

tuner: Unknown parameter `type'
ivtv: Unknown parameter `debug'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 6:08 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 9:54 pm
Posts: 617
shplad wrote:
Could you please comment on to which versions these rules apply, as far as you know.

It is probaly enough to know that these changes apply to the ivytv included with the latest knoppmyth (R5C7).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 8:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
The known issues related to upgrading to a version (e.g. R5C7) with the most recent "good" ivtv driver (which is currently 0.4.4, since 0.4.5 has some serious issues, and 0.6.x requires a new kernel) and how to fix them are documented on the http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=CompileIvtv page on the wiki.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: IVTV Mailing List
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:18 am
Posts: 79
Location: Conroe, TX
Well, I'm glad I stayed on the IVTV users mailing list. Usually only a couple of msgs per day, but a lot of info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:44 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Current good version of the file:
Code:
root@black2:~# cat /etc/mythtv/modules/ivtv
alias char-major-81 videodev
alias char-major-61 lirc_i2c
options msp3400 once=1
install ivtv /sbin/modprobe tuner; /sbin/modprobe msp3400; /sbin/modprobe saa7115; /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install ivtv
remove ivtv /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove ivtv && /sbin/modprobe -rsaa7115 && /sbin/modprobe -r msp3400 && /sbin/modprobe -r tuner

Note that the following options are now obsolete:
    options msp3400 simple=X
    options ivtv tda9887=X ivtv_std=X


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
In addition to the option changes above, going from 0.8.x to 0.10.x the various ivtv buffer options have become obsolete and will cause module loading errors.
    options ivtv yuv_buffers=X mpg_buffers=X vbi_buffers=X pcm_buffers=X


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 2:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 355
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Another bogus option.
After installing R5F27, my /etc/mythtv/modules/ivtv had a
Code:
option ivtv ivtv_
which caused my cards not to show up.
During bootup I was getting a Unknown Parameter 'ivtv_'
Commenting out the option made everthing happy.

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 2:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Ugh. I've got to get a fix to Human for the restore_fixups.sh script for the live patcher. It doesn't check for a leading space like it should. No idea what that was before the script chopped off the tail of it, since it doesn't look familiar, but it was probably either debug or buffer override option...

You should have a /etc/mythtv/modules/ivtv~ file there you can compare it with to be sure.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu