View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 1:32 pm 
hello all, i'm very new to linux but i have a plan!

i've had an xp based divx box for some time now but i've wanted to explore linux for a while (all the cool kids are doing it!) and i was very interested with the idea of mythtv and freevo. - just to make the box easier to use and to learn a bit of linux.
i've been playing with knoppix for about a day! - so please bear this in mind when replying to me!!

the ultimate goal is to have a server under the stairs with a few boxes scattered about the house all wirelessly networked etc etc

step one however is to get a SIMPLE, STANDALONE box running for playing the occasional divx, mp3 and genesis rom - the same as i had with XP but under linux. (i don't intend to capture TV just yet but that will follow shortly)

i have knoppix installed to my hdd and running fine, all my divx's run fine as do my mp3s.

What i need your help with is the installation of some sort of front end, like myth or freevo because although i like the look of knoppix on my monitor it is too fiddly for the tv, i just want a menu that says

PLAY DIVX
PLAY GAMES
PLAY MUSIC

this instead of the desktop for knoppix - this is what i understand knoppmyth to do - however i keep reading that i need this and that and a tv tuner and mysql and a backsystem and a front one etc...

what i want to do should be simple, can anyone make it simple for me?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 1:57 pm 
well first lets define what knoppmyth is. It is not a program it is an entire linux distribution, so it would be installed instead of knoppix not on top of it.