View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Nashville, TN
I've be digging around alot on multiple issues and seemed to have resolved them all with this wonderful forum and its many posts, all but this one.

I see this in the hints for upgrading that seems to reference something wrong with a file related to my remote, and moving it so it will not copy over your currently working file.

Quote:
4) If you have a MCE USB remote, do the following: Code:
mv /usr/local/share/knoppmyth/remotes/mceusb2/etc/init.d/lirc /usr/local/share/knoppmyth/remotes/mceusb2/etc/init.d/lirc.stale


This will avoid overwriting a good script with a stale version when configuring this remote.


What is the work around if it is a new install? Obviously I do not have a file that works currently so my remote is (at least I hope that is what is causing it) useless at the moment.

Thanks for all the implicit help from your other posts....and future thanks for helping me with this....

Setup:
Sony Q170A-B2 18X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Logitech Cordless Desktop EX 110
MSI PM8PM-V P4M800 PRO Celeron D, P4, P4EE, Pentium D 1066FSB LGA775 DDR2 M-ATX Motherboard w/Audio, LAN, Serial ATA
Intel® Celeron® D 336 Processor 2.80GHZ, 533FSB, 256KB Cache, Socket 775
Corsair VS512MB533D2 512MB DDR2-533 PC2-4200 Value Select Memory
Hitachi Deskstar T7K500 250GB Serial ATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive w/8MB Buffer
Antec New Solution Series NSK1300 Mini Tower Case
PVR-150 tuner card w/usb IR and Silver Remote
Geoforce MX-420 64MB Video


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Get the other file off the CD. Go to the wiki and search for "rescue". The instructions here will do: http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=BlackScreenAfterInstall

Once you get the HD mounted, copy the file from "/etc/init.d/lirc" to "/mnt/hda1/etc/init.d/lirc". Then reboot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Nashville, TN
So...if I am getting the file from the cd, what is the difference from allowing the installer to copy the file over.

I must be missing something if all I am doing is copying it into the directory.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
As the note from the upgrde hints posting implies, if the lirc setup script detects an MCEUSB2 remote it copies a bad version of the file from /usr/local/share/knoppmyth/remotes/mceusb2/etc/init.d/lirc over the good version of the file in /etc/init.d/lirc. Getting it from the CD restores the good copy. After getting the good one back, you can do the following diff to see the changes involved:
Code:
diff /etc/init.d/lirc /usr/local/share/knoppmyth/remotes/mceusb2/etc/init.d/lirc

The mceusb2 version hasn't been fixed to get the right device name under udev.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Nashville, TN
figures that even when I read hundreds of posts and try to be knowledgable about things before I ask newb questions, I overlook what you are saying...haha!

I did the move command so the installer err'd when it attempted to copy the /usr/local..... version so I can diff that and see where to go.

I hope I get it from there,

Thanks for your help tjc....you sure contribute alot here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Nashville, TN
OK, I made those changes, and it still does not work.

After reading some more posts I saw a suggestion to do this:

Code:
mode2 -d /dev/lirc0


When I do that I do recieve pulse and space entries on the screen so I have a working connection I would gather.

Any thoughts as to why that connection would seem to recieve a signal but not convey it to the MythTV menu's?

lirc.conf:
Code:
#! /bin/sh
#
#

load_modules ()
{
        local MODULES_MISSING=false

        for mod in $*
        do
                modprobe -k $mod 2> /dev/null || MODULES_MISSING=true
        done

        if $MODULES_MISSING; then
                echo "#####################################################"
                echo "## I couldn't load the required kernel modules     ##"
                echo "## You should install lirc-modules-source to build ##"
                echo "## kernel support for your hardware.               ##"
                echo "#####################################################"
                echo "## If this message is not appropriate you may set  ##"
                echo "## LOAD_MODULES=false in /etc/lirc/hardware.conf   ##"
                echo "#####################################################"
                START_LIRCMD=false
                START_LIRCD=false
        fi

        if test -x /sbin/udevsettle
        then
                if ! /sbin/udevsettle; then
                  echo "timeout waiting for devices to be ready"
                fi
        fi
}

build_args ()
{
        local ARGS="$*"

    ## Try to find an lirc device.
    ## udev uses /dev/lirc0
    ## static dev uses /dev/lirc
    ## devfs uses /dev/lirc/0
    if [ -z "$DEVICE" ]; then
        for dev in /dev/lirc0 /dev/lirc /dev/lirc/0; do
                if [ -c $dev ]; then
                                DEVICE="$dev"
                                break
                        fi
                done
        fi

        if [ -n "$DEVICE" ] && [ "$DEVICE" != "none" ]; then
                ARGS="--device=$DEVICE $ARGS"
        fi
        if [ -n "$DRIVER" ] && [ "$DRIVER" != "none" ]; then
                ARGS="--driver=$DRIVER $ARGS"
        fi
        echo $ARGS
}
test -f /usr/sbin/lircd || exit 0
test -f /usr/sbin/lircmd || exit 0
#test -f /etc/lirc/lircd.conf || exit 0
#test -f /etc/lirc/lircmd.conf || exit 0

START_LIRCMD=true
START_LIRCD=true

if [ ! -f /etc/lirc/lircd.conf ] \
        || grep -q "^#UNCONFIGURED"  /etc/lirc/lircd.conf;then
        if [ "$1" = "start" ]; then
          echo "##################################################"
          echo "## LIRC IS NOT CONFIGURED                       ##"
          echo "##                                              ##"
          echo "## read /usr/share/doc/lirc/html/configure.html ##"
          echo "##################################################"
        fi
        START_LIRCD=false
        START_LIRCMD=false
fi
if [ ! -f /etc/lirc/lircmd.conf ] \
        || grep -q "^#UNCONFIGURED" /etc/lirc/lircmd.conf;then
        START_LIRCMD=false
fi

if [ -f /etc/lirc/hardware.conf ];then
        . /etc/lirc/hardware.conf
fi


case "$1" in
  start)
    if [ "$LOAD_MODULES" = "true" ] && [ "$START_LIRCD" = "true" ]; then
        load_modules $MODULES
    fi
    echo -n "Starting lirc daemon:"
    if $START_LIRCD; then
      echo -n " lircd"
      LIRCD_ARGS=`build_args $LIRCD_ARGS`
#      start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec /usr/sbin/lircd -- $LIRCD_ARGS \
      start-stop-daemon --start --exec /usr/sbin/lircd -- $LIRCD_ARGS \
                < /dev/null
    fi
    if $START_LIRCMD; then
      echo -n " lircmd"
#      start-stop-daemon --start --exec /usr/sbin/lircmd \
      start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec /usr/sbin/lircmd \
                < /dev/null
    fi
    echo "."
    echo "."
    ;;
  stop)
    echo -n "Stopping lirc daemon:"
    echo -n " lircmd"
    start-stop-daemon --stop --exec /usr/sbin/lircmd
    echo -n " lircd"
    start-stop-daemon --stop --exec /usr/sbin/lircd
    echo "."
    ;;
  reload|force-reload)
    if $START_LIRCD; then
      start-stop-daemon --stop --signal 1 --exec /usr/sbin/lircd
    fi
    if $START_LIRCMD; then
      start-stop-daemon --stop --signal 1 --exec /usr/sbin/lircmd
    fi
    ;;
  restart)
    $0 stop
    $0 start
    ;;
  *)
    echo "Usage: /etc/init.d/lircd {start|stop|reload|restart|force-reload}"
    exit 1
esac

exit 0


I got this after I unplugged are re-plugged the device in syslog:
Code:
Jan 12 22:06:14 mythtv kernel: usb 2-2: USB disconnect, address 2
Jan 12 22:06:14 mythtv kernel: lirc_mceusb2[2]: usb remote disconnected
Jan 12 22:06:17 mythtv kernel: usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3
Jan 12 22:06:17 mythtv kernel: usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
Jan 12 22:06:17 mythtv kernel: usb 2-1: reset full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3
Jan 12 22:06:17 mythtv kernel: lirc_dev: lirc_register_plugin: sample_rate: 0
Jan 12 22:06:17 mythtv kernel: lirc_mceusb2[3]: SMK eHome Infrared Transceiver on usb2:3


Any clues? Sorry for the bloated posting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
What does your /etc/lirc/hardware.conf look like?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Nashville, TN
Here is the hardware.conf:
Code:
# /etc/lirc/hardware.conf
#
# Arguments which will be used when launching lircd
LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Don't start lircmd even if there seems to be a good config file
START_LIRCMD=false

#Try to load appropriate kernel modules
LOAD_MODULES=true

# Run "lircd --driver=help" for a list of supported drivers.
DRIVER="default"
# If DEVICE is set to /dev/lirc and devfs is in use /dev/lirc/0
# udev uses /dev/lirc0 will be automatically used instead
DEVICE="/dev/lirc0"
MODULES="lirc_dev lirc_pvr150"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:02 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Nashville, TN
Ok, noticed that others had an entry for the MCE remote in the modules section of the hardware.conf. I added that in, but it made no difference.

I did notice this in my syslog though:
Code:
Jan 13 07:58:40 mythtv lircd-0.8.1-CVS-pvr150[4005]: lircd(all) ready
Jan 13 07:59:23 mythtv lircd-0.8.1-CVS-pvr150[4005]: accepted new client on /dev/lircd
Jan 13 07:59:23 mythtv lircd-0.8.1-CVS-pvr150[4005]: could not get file information for /dev/lirc
Jan 13 07:59:23 mythtv lircd-0.8.1-CVS-pvr150[4005]: default_init(): No such file or directory
Jan 13 07:59:23 mythtv lircd-0.8.1-CVS-pvr150[4005]: caught signal


I can't find where the reference is still telling it to use /dev/lirc anywhere.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Solved
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:26 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Nashville, TN
After reading:
http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=13126&highlight=reread+upgrade

I was able to solve the issue. I was afaid that script was what caused the original stale version of the lirc file that we have been attempting to avoid.

Holding my breath I ran it and answered the prompts for the newer MCE remote and voila! I have a working remote, irw works, everything that I was having issues with. Now on to bigger and better things, the channel change script....another day another forum topic!

Thanks again for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:50 pm
Posts: 6
So what would I need to do on a new install to make this work?

I think i have the same issue...and im kinda new to Linux

Thanks
Matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: New install
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 12:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 306
Location: CA,USA
Cloud1771 - you would need to manually edit some text files. Not sure how comfortable you are with that but I got mine to work by editing /etc/hardware.conf & changing the device to /etc/lirc0 from /etc/usb/hiddev0

_________________
Paul O'Flynn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New install
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 306
Location: CA,USA
poflynn wrote:
Cloud1771 - you would need to manually edit some text files. Not sure how comfortable you are with that but I got mine to work by editing /etc/hardware.conf & changing the device to /etc/lirc0 from /etc/usb/hiddev0


This seems to have moved to /etc/lirc/hardware.conf with R5F27, the same chg applies though.

_________________
Paul O'Flynn


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu