View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:32 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

I'd like to run my knoppmyth based backend with a serial console, but the kernel isn't configured with static serial modules so there's no way to get /dev/console output or early kernel boot messages over serial. Maybe there is a good reason for this, but I'll ask anyway: could serial console support be enabled in some future version of knoppmyth?

The main advantage is monitor/keyboard/graphics card can go away and consume less space and power.

Thanks,

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
I think it's a good idea, too. Anything that lessens the footprint of the backend server is great. I wonder about the boot-up phase, tho.

Do some motherboards allow you to do ROM BIOS setup via console? That would be a huge benefit for my frontend. It's in an entertainment center hooked to a projection TV. The TV doesn't multi-sync well and I can't use it for maintenance because the display won't sync to 640x480. (My current process is to disconnect it, dig it out of the entertainment center, and take it upstairs for maintenance.)

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
Good idea, however you aren't providing the details I require for a feature request. Less I get the details needed, this is being piped to /dev/null.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

I think the main thing that's needed here is to change the kernel config to include

CONFIG_SERIAL_8250=y
CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_CONSOLE=y

Then the end user can edit lilo.conf to get console working as described in various serial console FAQ's.

Regarding POST: some server class moboards support "console redirection" to com1 or com2. If yours doesn't (mine doesn't), then I guess you need a monitor/kbd around in storage to pull out for the infrequent events of reconfiguring the BIOS, debugging POST failure, and installing knoppmyth. Maybe the latter could be made to work, I don't know.

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
My question would be: If you configure a serial console that way, will it prevent IR Blasters from working on that serial port. I think there would be more people wanting to use IR blasters for their Knoppmyth boxes than serial consoles.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 3
The 8250 module would be initialized at boot and modprobe.conf could not pass options to it. Other than that, you have to pass a kernel command line option in order to get the kernel to actually use one of the ports as the console. Does that cause problems for irblaster people? I would think not but I'm not an irblaster user myself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Posts: 292
If I am not mistaken you could add the modules to the init ramdisk and force load them in the root and get about the same effect as compiling them in.

I don't know how to do this, but I remember someone doing this to get vesafb loaded in some distro. I use KM and Ubuntu.

Cliff

_________________
R5F27 using R5F1 Nvidia drivers
HD-5500 analog from NTSC Sat Rx, with OTA DVB too
GeForce MX-440 SVideo tvout to a TV
Older dual core 3.4ghz Intel CPU
Asus P5PE-VM Motherboard
2 GB RAM
1 TB LVM2
VirtualBox
Samba


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
Greg Frost wrote:
My question would be: If you configure a serial console that way, will it prevent IR Blasters from working on that serial port. I think there would be more people wanting to use IR blasters for their Knoppmyth boxes than serial consoles.
What he said.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:28 am
Posts: 696
Location: Germany
What about something like http://www.realweasel.com/

This would also give you access to the BIOS.

The down side is that it costs more than a graphic card.

_________________
ASUS AT3N7A-I (Atom 330)
TBS 8922 PCI (DVB-S2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi

Got me curious as I use to use the serial console a lot a while back :) A quick search in google "linux serial console" quickly stired up memories. I have not tried from the boot since Slakware was a pup but you can throw a tag into the append I belive to see the boot stuff.

I did an apt-get install mgetty,

added to intttab:

co:2345:respawn:/sbin/mgetty ttyS1

set up: nano -w /etc/mgetty/mgetty.config

init q

and tapping return a couple of times on my terminal brought up the login prompt.

Is that what you were seaking? If so maybe Cecil has room to stick it in the future iso?
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu