View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:02 pm
Posts: 134
[quote="Xsecrets"]my suggestion go find a modeline generator on the web, I always have to google for them, and create yourself a 640x480 60hz modeline. you can use 30-50 as the horz should be fine. and try that.[/quote]

So the XF86Config-4 file without the "NTSC-M" but with the "HD480i" line should work fine if I can find the correct modeline entry?

Is there an online DB where one can look up specs/modelines for known TVs?

Adrian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 8:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
This works for me on a lowly Nforce2 builtin MX4...

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "PS/2 Mouse" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option "AllowMouseOpenFail"  "true"
        Option  "NoPM"  "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
        ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/PEX"
# Additional fonts: Locale, Gimp, TTF...
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
#       FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/75dpi"
#       FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/100dpi"
# True type and type1 fonts are also handled via xftlib, see /etc/X11/XftConfig!
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/western"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/decoratives"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
#       FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/openoffice"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-bitstream-vera"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/latex-ttf-fonts"
#       FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/defoma/CID"
#       FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/defoma/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
#       Load  "ddc"  # ddc probing of monitor
#       Load  "GLcore"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "v4l"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "bitmap" # bitmap-fonts
        Load  "speedo"
        Load  "type1"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "record"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "keyboard"
        Option      "CoreKeyboard"
        Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
        Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "PS/2 Mouse"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
        Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "70"
        Option      "SendCoreEvents"  "true"
EndSection

# Auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
#       Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
        Option "TVStandard" "HD480i"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
#       Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
        Option "TVOverScan" "0.7"
        Option "NoLogo" "1"
        VendorName      "Panasonic"
        ModelName       "CT-27SF22T1"
        HorizSync 30-50
        VertRefresh 60
        #DisplaySize 204 153 # 100 DPI @ 800x600
        DisplaySize 271 204  #  75 DPI @ 800x600
        #DisplaySize 535 415 # Real measurements
        Modeline "640x480" 25.175 640 664 760 800 480 491 493 525 #60Hz
        Modeline "800x600" 40.12 800 848 968 1056 600 601 605 628 #60Hz
        # 800x600, 85.0Hz; hfreq=53.67, vfreq=85.06
        ModeLine "800x600"       56.25  800  832  896 1048  600  601  604  631 +hsync +vsync
        # 800x600, 75.0Hz; hfreq=46.88, vfreq=75.00
        ModeLine "800x600"       49.50  800  816  896 1056  600  601  604  625 +hsync +vsync
        # 800x600, 72.0Hz; hfreq=48.08, vfreq=72.19
        ModeLine "800x600"       50.00  800  856  976 1040  600  637  643  666 +hsync +vsync
        # 800x600, 60.0Hz; hfreq=37.88, vfreq=60.32
        ModeLine "800x600"       40.00  800  840  968 1056  600  601  605  628 +hsync +vsync
        # 640x480, 85.0Hz; hfreq=43.27, vfreq=85.01
        ModeLine "640x480"       36.00  640  696  752  832  480  481  484  509 -hsync -vsync
        # 640x480, 75.0Hz; hfreq=37.50, vfreq=75.00
        ModeLine "640x480"       31.50  640  656  720  840  480  481  484  500 -hsync -vsync
        # 640x480, 60.0Hz; hfreq=31.47, vfreq=59.94
        ModeLine "640x480"       25.17  640  648  744  784  480  482  484  509 -hsync -vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        VendorName  "Shuttle"
        BoardName   "nVidia GeForce 4 MX"
        #Option     "RenderAccel" "1"

        # TV Out Setup - Does this still belong here?
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
#       Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
        Option "TVStandard" "HD480i"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
#       Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
        Option "TVOverScan" "0.7"

        Option "NoLogo" "1"
        Option "NoDDC" "1"
        # sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
        Option      "sw_cursor"
        # Other options...
        #Option     "hw_cursor"
        #Option     "NoAccel"
        #Option     "ShowCache"
        #Option     "ShadowFB"
        #Option     "UseFBDev"
        #Option     "Rotate"
        #Option     "DigitalVibrance" "0"
        # The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
        #BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     1
                Modes "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     4
                Modes "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     8
                Modes "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     15
                Modes "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     16
                Modes "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     24
                Modes "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     32
                Modes "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "DRI"
#       Mode 0666
#EndSection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:15 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:02 pm
Posts: 134
thanks tjc,

I'm afraid that this config file doesn't work for me (because none of the modelines worked).

I'm stumped..

Adrian


Last edited by adrianbc on Sat Sep 18, 2004 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 3:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:02 pm
Posts: 134
I reinstalled the driver again and got tjc's config file to work. Unfortunately I'm still getting the soft picture.

Adrian


Last edited by adrianbc on Sat Sep 18, 2004 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 8:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
If you're using that "as is" you're probably running at 800x600 which means that it's doing scaling. You can check this in your log file. Look for a line like this:
Quote:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "800x600"
To fix that go into the "Screen" section and change all the lines that say:
Code:
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
to be just
Code:
Modes "640x480"
I've done this before and know that it works with the modelines there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 3:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:02 pm
Posts: 134
thanks tjc - I was able to get the display running 640x480 (I also have the LIVETV profile running at 640x480). I'm convinved that the picture is looking better but I've still got a little blur left . I'm still playing around with the nvidia-settings. BTW are you using any deinterlacing and/or xvmc?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 3:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:02 pm
Posts: 134
actually - all of a sudden I've got a interlacing problem (with or without the deinterlacing checkbox set).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 4:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
adrianbc wrote:
BTW are you using any deinterlacing and/or xvmc?

xvmc - no
deinterlacing - yes, although I don't generally see much difference


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 4:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
ok just for the record, because some of the last posts make it sound like there is some confusion.

XvMC = no deinterlace no mater if the box is checked. postprocessing filters do not work if xvmc is turned on at all ever.

If XvMC is turned off you have the option of using the postprocessing filters or not. I know I can tell a large difference using the deinterlace filter when xvmc is off particularly at resolutions other than 640x480.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 5:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 1:50 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Palmdale, CA
Xsecrets wrote:
ok just for the record, because some of the last posts make it sound like there is some confusion.

XvMC = no deinterlace no mater if the box is checked. postprocessing filters do not work if xvmc is turned on at all ever.

If XvMC is turned off you have the option of using the postprocessing filters or not. I know I can tell a large difference using the deinterlace filter when xvmc is off particularly at resolutions other than 640x480.



That's odd. I was under the impression that the new drivers supported XvMC with interlacing. I must be misinformed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
the new drivers support an interlacing output mode, that works with or without xvmc on, but the deinterlace filter will never run with hardware decoding, or any other filter for that matter, because it is hardware decoding.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:08 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:02 pm
Posts: 134
Hi Everybody I just wanted to follow up with you all as I managed to get a sharp display, finally. Thanks for everyone's help. In the end, I picked up a $50 FX5200 card and reinstalled the new 6111 drivers - I also re-linked the library file as per tjc's instructions in this thread.

Out of the box, the 5200 with the new drivers looked better than my on board TV-out but it still wans't sharp. I ended up messing about with the nvidia-settings application which you have to run on the actual machine not on X (Thanks Xsecrets). On the TV-Out menu of the nvidia-settings app I noticed a few different options that weren't available for my onboard TV-out. In particular there was a Image Sharpening slide. Also there is a flicker control slide which on my system was cranked all the way up (this is significant).

So to increase the overall sharpness first I made sure that both the flicker control and the sharpening slides were all the way down. (You display may dance around a bit - mine did). Then you gradually increase the flicker control setting just until the display looks static - but not any further. I noticed that if the flicker control is too high it actually dulls the picture - so only apply as much as you need. That was my problem all along.

Once the flicker control is appropriately then THEN you can start to increase the sharpness using the Image Sharpening slide. Don't just crank this all the way - too much sharpening looks bad. You have to play around with things to find the right amount. With these controls you van actually sharped the image a little bit more than the broadcast but you have you really use a light touch. There is nothing worse that an oversharpened picture.

My display isn't perfect but I got rid of that annoying fog over everything. Now I need to just reposition the frame a bid and then I think I've got a little noise coming in on the capture side of things (PVR 250.....A nerd's work is never done. I'm wondering if there is a way to boost the signal before it goes into the capture card. I'm already using well shielded cables and I think that they are well isolated from power cords, halogen lamps, cordless phones etc....

I'm using a XF86Config-4 borrowed from tjc but I never got the HD480i working on my Analogue 27" Sony TV so I'm just using NTSC-M.....

[code]Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "PS/2 Mouse" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"
Option "NoPM" "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/PEX"
# Additional fonts: Locale, Gimp, TTF...
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/75dpi"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/100dpi"
# True type and type1 fonts are also handled via xftlib, see /etc/X11/XftConfig!
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/western"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/decoratives"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
# FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/openoffice"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-bitstream-vera"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latex-ttf-fonts"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/defoma/CID"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/defoma/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
# Load "ddc" # ddc probing of monitor
# Load "GLcore"
Load "dbe"
Load "v4l"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "bitmap" # bitmap-fonts
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "record"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "PS/2 Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "Emulate3Timeout" "70"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
EndSection

# Auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
# Option "TVStandard" "HD480i"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
# Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TVOverScan" "0.7"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
VendorName "Panasonic"
ModelName "CT-27SF22T1"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
#DisplaySize 204 153 # 100 DPI @ 800x600
DisplaySize 271 204 # 75 DPI @ 800x600
#DisplaySize 535 415 # Real measurements
Modeline "640x480" 25.175 640 664 760 800 480 491 493 525 #60Hz
Modeline "800x600" 40.12 800 848 968 1056 600 601 605 628 #60Hz
# 800x600, 85.0Hz; hfreq=53.67, vfreq=85.06
ModeLine "800x600" 56.25 800 832 896 1048 600 601 604 631 +
hsync +vsync
# 800x600, 75.0Hz; hfreq=46.88, vfreq=75.00
ModeLine "800x600" 49.50 800 816 896 1056 600 601 604 625 +
hsync +vsync
# 800x600, 72.0Hz; hfreq=48.08, vfreq=72.19
ModeLine "800x600" 50.00 800 856 976 1040 600 637 643 666 +
hsync +vsync
# 800x600, 60.0Hz; hfreq=37.88, vfreq=60.32
ModeLine "800x600" 40.00 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +
hsync +vsync
# 640x480, 85.0Hz; hfreq=43.27, vfreq=85.01
ModeLine "640x480" 36.00 640 696 752 832 480 481 484 509 -
hsync -vsync
# 640x480, 75.0Hz; hfreq=37.50, vfreq=75.00
ModeLine "640x480" 31.50 640 656 720 840 480 481 484 500 -
hsync -vsync
# 640x480, 60.0Hz; hfreq=31.47, vfreq=59.94
ModeLine "640x480" 25.17 640 648 744 784 480 482 484 509 -
hsync -vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Shuttle"
BoardName "nVidia GeForce 4 MX"
#Option "RenderAccel" "1"

# TV Out Setup - Does this still belong here?
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
# Option "TVStandard" "HD480i"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
# Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TVOverScan" "0.7"

Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "NoDDC" "1"
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
Option "sw_cursor"
# Other options...
#Option "hw_cursor"
#Option "NoAccel"
#Option "ShowCache"
#Option "ShadowFB"
#Option "UseFBDev"
#Option "Rotate"
#Option "DigitalVibrance" "0"
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
#BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultColorDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "640x480" # 800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "640x480" #"800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "640x480" #"800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "DRI"
# Mode 0666
#EndSection [/code][/code]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:18 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:02 pm
Posts: 134
I forgot to mention that I'm now running my LiveTV encoder at 640x480 with a really high bitrate (I need to ease it down once I figure out the noise problem). Also deinterlacing is out and there are no interlacing artifacts during motion, no motion blur.

Also XVMC is on. I don't really notice much difference but fast motion seems more fluid and the CNN ticker as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 7:44 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:32 pm
Posts: 142
Could someone please advise with an idiot's quide as to how to install this new driver, or is it just install-nvidia.sh ???? And also how would you get into the new control panel program ???? Also the best settings for UK(PAL-I) for the XF86Config file

Sounds brilliant, I recently got a new small case which will fit into the tight gap on the tv stand, with a much better avermedia dvb card, and an XFX 128MB geforce 5500 with tv-out, loaded up myth, tv-out rubbish from base install of Knoppmyth, ran install-nvidia, which seemed to go through OK, but then X wouldnt start up at all.....

So i thought I would have to stick with my shuttle box stood to the side of the telly, £100 wasted on the new gear !!!!

If this drivers work well for tv-out, I will be well chuffed !!!! And then back to the age old problems of getting Mame and dvd's to work !!!!

Everyone keep up the brilliant Myth work, I love it !!!!

(Cesman, you still havent corrected the address for my UK mirror for Knoppmyth, it is http://www.a1ontheweb.co/uk/knoppmyth/)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Apologies. Fixed!

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu