View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Hulu desktop on Linux!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
http://www.hulu.com/labs/hulu-desktop-linux
LinHES users (only in testing so far)
Code:
sudo pacman -Sy huludesktop
You'll then find it under Online Streams. You'll need to edit /home/mythtv/.huludesktop for your remote. Additionally, you have to run lircd w/ -r switch. Once this has been testing more, it will be placed in core and installation will be via the Service Menu > LinHES Configuration > Software.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:56 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
For the moment, I've removed huludesktop. I've contacted Hulu to see if it is ok for me to repackage it for LinHES.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
Any known issues with running this on R5.5?

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
Thx for the work Cecil. Hopefully hulu will comply with our use. Does this frontend edit out commercials? I'm thinking if the ads are left in, hulu would be OK with it. But who knows...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
Too Many Secrets wrote:
Does this frontend edit out commercials? I'm thinking if the ads are left in, hulu would be OK with it. But who knows...

It looks like this frontend is being made available by Hulu, so I suspect it will not have the problems mythvodka had. I'm guessing the Cecil's concern was more to do with redistribution rights when packaging it into the LINHES distribution.

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 8:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 109
Location: Elgin, Illinois
I saw this too late to use pacman, so I downloaded the Ubuntu .deb and using deb2targz (which I installed using pacman -Sy deb2targz) it converted the .deb to a tar.gz file I could manually untar and run the huludesktop binary.

I had to edit .huludesktop and put in the path to the flash plugin, /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libplashplayer.so then I could run it.

Only problems I have noticed so far is that I can't change the size of the screen to be full screen, and using my remote also does stuff if mythfrontend is running. I'll have to try the lircd w/ -r switch command and see if that works.

If you don't here back from Hulu can you post instructions for people to manually integrate it into the frontend? Or maybe a script to take the .deb people download and then it installs it?

_________________
The Atomic Ant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:57 am
Posts: 106
Code:
[display]
fullscreen = TRUE


Seems to work for me to go full screen.

I'm still playing with this but first impression is I am not thrilled with the remote control functionality, especially when playing something. The menu stuff is OK but using the remote while playing seems rough. Much more mouse oriented.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:56 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
uteck, thanks for that post. I manually installed it to try it out, and it's working. My flash library was in a different location, but that was easily fixed.

Fullscreen mode worked, but I haven't tried getting the remote working. However, fullscreen playback performance is abysmally poor... maybe this is the bad Linux flash performance I have been hearing about. I'll need to fix that before it will really be usable.

_________________
MBE/FE: R6, P4 2.8 GHz/2 GB/2 TB, GeForce 6200 512 MB, PVR-150, Cisco RNG-100 cable box
FE: R6, P4 2.0 GHz/1 GB, GeForce4 MX 420 64 MB, diskless netboot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 2:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
No word from Hulu yet... So, I did the next best thing. Open an xterm (<alt><x>).
Code:
sudo pacman -Sy linhes-scripts deb2targz flashplugin
Next, get Hulu Desktop from http://www.hulu.com/labs/hulu-desktop-linux and place it in /tmp.
Code:
sudo install_hulu.sh
exit
You'll now find Hulu under Online Streams in the Media Library.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 3:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Ha! Very slick :)

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:57 am
Posts: 106
I was able to get the original before you pulled it but didn't play with it until later.

The is.xml file was "broken" because it was missing the open menu XML tag. Also I had to move it to themes/defaultmenu for it to be picked up. Not sure if thats because I'm running mythtv-svn but I thought I would mention these things just in case.

Since you had pulled it I didn't make a flyspray report.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:43 pm
Posts: 11
I just have to say Thanks!!! to everyone who works on Knoppmyth and now LinHES.

This make LinHes even more awesome.

But... could someone point me to where lircd is started, to add the -r flag?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:01 am
Posts: 670
Location: Salem, MA
Thanks for doing this Cecil!

However, I'm getting the following error:
Code:
deb2targz package not found, searching for group...
error: 'deb2targz': not found in sync db

_________________
LinHES 8.3, 1 BE, 3 FE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
cecil wrote:
No word from Hulu yet... So, I did the next best thing. Open an xterm (<alt><x>).
Code:
sudo pacman -Sy linhes-scripts deb2targz flashplugin
Next, get Hulu Desktop from http://www.hulu.com/labs/hulu-desktop-linux and place it in /tmp.
Code:
sudo install_hulu.sh
exit
You'll now find Hulu under Online Streams in the Media Library.


Can you post your PKGBUILD for this package and allow users to create their own packages? Seems like this is fundamentally no different than distributing a script.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:01 am
Posts: 670
Location: Salem, MA
Okay, I found my problem. I had to add core-testing and extra-testing to my pacman.conf. Sorry for the ignorance again...

_________________
LinHES 8.3, 1 BE, 3 FE


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu