View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
I've set up a 6.0.4 LINHES mythbox that I intended to use primarily as a backend recording system. When I configured it I set it up as frontend + backend so that I could run the various configuration utilities. My intent was to mostly use vnc and x11vnc to remote into the machine. All was well while I had it connected to a real display, but once I moved it to it's final resting spot, where there is no physical display nearby, X11 and VNC no longer work. A peek at kern.log shows the following error messages:
Code:
Apr 17 17:22:49 mythsonoma agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP 2.0 bridge
Apr 17 17:22:49 mythsonoma agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 4x mode
Apr 17 17:22:49 mythsonoma nvidia 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 4x mode
Apr 17 17:23:05 mythsonoma agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP 2.0 bridge
Apr 17 17:23:05 mythsonoma agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 4x mode
Apr 17 17:23:05 mythsonoma nvidia 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 4x mode
Apr 17 17:23:20 mythsonoma agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP 2.0 bridge
Apr 17 17:23:20 mythsonoma agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 4x mode
Apr 17 17:23:20 mythsonoma nvidia 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 4x mode


It looks like things are in a loop due to no display being attached. I could have sworn I had done this successfully before, but perhaps not.

So... is there a way I can get it so I can access the frontend via vnc without having to have the machine connected to a display? Thanks!

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
Still no success, but I found the following additional info in the Xorg.0.log file:


Code:
(--) Apr 18 08:57:00 NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6200 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) Apr 18 08:57:00 NVIDIA(0):     none
(EE) Apr 18 08:57:00 NVIDIA(0): No display devices found for this X screen.
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: Farmington, MI USA
You'll need to capture the EDID from a monitor with nvidia-settings and point X to that with the CustomEDID option. See http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpos ... stcount=26


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Don't use X11VNC - use tightvnc.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tightvnc

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
slowtolearn, thank you for that suggestion. I subsequently found a somewhat simpler solution for my situation. I added the following line to the device section of /etc/X11/xorg.0.conf:

Code:
    Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"


garysky, vncserver looks like a better choice but it isn't pre-install on LINHES 6.0.4 and "pacman -S vncserver" tells me that the package doesn't exist. Any suggestions on how to install vncserver would be appreciated...

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu