View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
I'm not understanding that parse error

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:06 pm
Posts: 32
that comes from this
Code:
$mbt1 = `$MBT_prog | grep "M/B Temp" | cut -c 15-17`;
    $mbt2 = `$MBT_prog | grep "CPU Temp" | cut -c 15-17`;
    $mbt3 = `$MBT_prog 3`;



change the 3 to another grep line similar to the ones above.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California


Last edited by marc.aronson on Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Heem wrote:
it takes 5 minutes to update. they are cron jobs that run. you could manually run the /usr/local/bin/rrd_MBtemp.pl file - but by the time you get this it's probably already been 5 minutes ;)


Interesting... if it runs as root shouldn't I see entries in my crontab? I'd like to change the update interval.

Edit: I think this is getting too far off topic so I started a new thread here.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: what do I put where??
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I need help. I've got the same situation with my Asus A8N-VM-CSM motherboards. I don't get any CPU temp data or motherboard temp data.

I have been looking though the thread and trying to see what items I need to put in the 3 different files you are talking about, and I think details have been left out.

What do I need to have in the various files?:
1. /etc/sensors.conf
2. /etc/rrd.config
3. /usr/local/bin/rrd_MBtemp.pl

Thus far, all I can tell you is that if I type "sensors" I get this:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# sensors
k8temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Core0 Temp:  +22.0 C
Core1 Temp:  +33.0 C

Does this mean I only have 2 sensors??

The /etc/sensors.conf file has these lines in it. Do I need to alter them?
Code:
chip "k8temp-*"

   label temp1 "Core0 Temp"
   label temp2 "Core0 Temp"
   label temp3 "Core1 Temp"
   label temp4 "Core1 Temp"


I tried to alter the rrd.config file to conform what I thought you were trying to convey in this thread.
Does the CPU temperature section look right?
Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl
#
#  Configuration file for the KnoppMyth rrd data collection routines.
#
########################################################################
# Global Configuration - config used by all the rrd_XXX.pl scripts:
#=======================================================================
$log = '/myth/rrd/log';      # location of the database (log) files
$png = '/myth/rrd/png';      # location of graph (png) files
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color = '#EAE9EE';      # background color used in the graphs
$Gwd = 600;         # graph width in pixels
$Ght = 100;         # graph height in pixels
########################################################################
# Individual Configuration for each collection type:
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_CPU.pl configuration:   # cpu utilization
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_cpuS = '#FF0000';   # color of 'System' area of the graph
$color_cpuU = '#0000FF';   # color of 'User' area of the graph
$color_cpuN = '#00FF00';   # color of 'Nice' area of the graph
$color_cpuI = '#EEEE00';   # color of 'Idle' area of the graph
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_Mem.pl configuration:   # memory utilization
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_memU = '#0000FF';   # color of 'Used' area of the graph
$color_memB = '#FF00FF';   # color of 'Buffered' area of the graph
$color_memC = '#FFFF00';   # color of 'Cached' area of the graph
$color_memF = '#00FF00';   # color of 'Free' area of the graph
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_Swap.pl configuration:   # swap utilization
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_swpU = '#0000FF';   # color of 'Used' area of the graph
$color_swpF = '#00FF00';   # color of 'Free' area of the graph
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_Net.pl configuration:   # network utilization
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_netO = '#FFFF00';   # color of 'Outgoing' area of the graph
$color_netT = '#888800';   # color of 'Outgoing' border
$color_netI = '#00FF00';   # color of 'Incoming' area of the graph
$color_netB = '#008800';   # color of 'Incoming' border
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_Disk.pl configuration:   # disk reads/writes
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_dskR = '#0000FF';   # color of 'Read' line of the graph
$color_dskW = '#FF0000';   # color of 'Write' line of the graph
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_MythFS.pl configuration:   # mount point space/inodes utilization
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$mnt_dir = '/myth';      # mount point to check
$color_mntS = '#0000FF';   # color of 'Space' line of the graph
$color_mntI = '#008800';   # color of 'Inodes' line of the graph
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_Count.pl configuration:   # count of files in a directory
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$CNT_dir = '/myth/tv';      # directory in which to count
$CNT_ex1 = '*.mpg';      # glob expression for first count
$CNT_ex2 = '*.nuv';      # glob expression for second count
$color_cnt1 = '#0000FF';   # color of 'First' count graph line
$color_cnt2 = '#008800';   # color of 'Second' count graph line
$CNT_prog = 'rrd_file_count';   # program to do the actual counting
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_Load.pl configuration:   # 1, 5, 15 minute load averages
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_avg1 = '#FF0000';   # color of '1' minute graph line
$color_avg2 = '#00FF00';   # color of '5' minute graph line
$color_avg3 = '#0000FF';   # color of '15' minute graph line
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_HDtemp.pl config:   # hard disk temperature
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$HDT_dev = 'sda';             # devices to measure
@HDT_colors = ('#0000FF', '#00FF00', '#FF0000', '#00FFFF', '#FF00FF', '#FFFF00');
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_MBtemp.pl configuration:   # Motherboard / CPU temperature
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_mbt1 = '#00FF00';   # color of 'motherboard' graph line
$color_mbt2 = '#FF0000';   # color of 'CPU1' graph line
$color_mbt3 = '#0000FF';   # color of 'CPU2' graph line
$MBT_mobo   = 'MB';             #
$MBT_core1   = 'CPU1';           #
$MBT_core2   = 'CPU2';           #
$MBT_prog = 'sensors';      # program & args to gather the data
#=======================================================================
#  rrd_MBfan.pl configuration:   # Motherboard / CPU fan sppeds
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
$color_mbf1 = '#00FF00';   # color of 'motherboard' graph line
$color_mbf2 = '#FF0000';   # color of 'CPU' graph line
$color_mbf3 = '#0000FF';   # color of case 'Ambient' graph line
$MBF_mobo   = '3';              #
$MBF_cpu    = '2';              #
$MBF_case   = '1';              #
$MBF_prog = 'mbmon -c 1 -F';   # program & args to gather the data
########################################################################
# vim: sw=4 ts=8
# End


Clarification appreciated!
Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 5:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Dude, you realize you resurrected a 4-year-old thread here, no? Is this even part of R7? I don't believe R5.5 is currently supported. My advice is update to R7 and use something like monitorix.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: remember RRD?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
graysky wrote:
Dude, you realize you resurrected a 4-year-old thread here, no? Is this even part of R7? I don't believe R5.5 is currently supported. My advice is update to R7 and use something like monitorix.
Yep, I know.
I'm still using R5.5, so it's still relevant.
Do you remember how RRD works?

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
I have a difficult time remembering what I did 4 days ago let alone 4 years :p

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RRD
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
graysky wrote:
I have a difficult time remembering what I did 4 days ago let alone 4 years :p

Funny guy! :D

Does RRD still exist in R6 and R7?

Can we compare the R6/R7 code with what I have?

Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
The configuration via /etc/rrd.config got lost along the way. Everything is hard coded in the scripts as of 6.0x.

Not sure how useful it will be to you, but I ended up patching the 6.04 scripts to use sensors and nvidia-smi (for GPU temps) like this:
Code:
[root@black3 log]# diff /root/rrd/rrd_mbtemp.pl.old /root/rrd/rrd_mbtemp.pl
20,22c20,23
< &ProcessHDD("mbtemp", "T 1", "Motherboard");
< &ProcessHDD("cputemp", "T 2", "CPU");
< &ProcessHDD("ambtemp", "T 3", "Case ambient");
---
> &ProcessHDD("mbtemp", "temp1:", "Motherboard");
> &ProcessHDD("cputemp", "temp2:", "CPU");
> # &ProcessHDD("ambtemp", "T 3", "Case ambient");
> &ProcessHDD("gputemp", "Temperature", "GPU");
32c33,39
<         my $temp=`/usr/bin/mbmon -c 1 -$_[1]`;
---
>         # my $temp=`/usr/bin/mbmon -c 1 -$_[1]`;
>         my $temp;
>         if ($_[0] =~ "gputemp") {
>                 $temp=`/usr/bin/nvidia-smi -g 0 | grep $_[1] | cut -d' ' -f2`;
>         } else {
>                 $temp=`/usr/bin/sensors | grep $_[1] | cut -c'15-16'`;
>         }


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I'll start new thread
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 8:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Maybe, I'll start a new thread for my RRD questions...

see:
http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22345

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Last edited by neutron68 on Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I had success! I documented my solution here:
http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22345

Part of the fix was using the single quote character which is on the ~ key of the keyboard, rather than the single quote character on the " key of the keyboard.

Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu