LinHES Forums
http://forums.linhes.org/

Tweaker Digital Audio Feedback Thread
http://forums.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18457
Page 1 of 2

Author:  tjc [ Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Tweaker Digital Audio Feedback Thread

This thread is intended as a place for you to provide feedback related to Tweaker's auto-detection and auto-configuration of digital audio devices in R5.5. It provides directions on how to provide feedback for your particular sound card and output setup.

1) Use the lspci utility as root to get your hardware ID(s).

Code:
root@black2:~# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a1)

You're looking for the first number here, "00:06.0" so you can use it to look up the ID codes:
Code:
root@black2:~# lspci -nm | grep 00:06.0
00:06.0 "0401" "10de" "00ea" -ra1 "1695" "100b"


2) Report both of those along with what audio setting worked or didn't work for you.

Author:  pilesofspam [ Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:43 am ]
Post subject: 

Everything works, using a Chaintek AV-710 optical out to a Denon AVR-3805
Code:
root@mythtv:/home/dave# lspci -v | grep -i audio
01:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc. VT1720/24 [Envy24PT/HT] PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controller (rev 01)
01:0a.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)
01:0a.1 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [Audio Port] (rev 05)
01:0a.2 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [MPEG Port] (rev 05)
01:0a.4 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [IR Port] (rev 05)
root@mythtv:/home/dave# lspci -nm | grep 01:08.0
01:08.0 "0401" "1412" "1724" -r01 "1412" "1724"
root@mythtv:/home/dave#


Note- fixed the second grep command per tjc's comment

Author:  tjc [ Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

pilesofspam - I think you should have been searching for 01:08.0 not 00:08.0 in that 2nd command.

Author:  bobmyth [ Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:19 pm ]
Post subject: 

Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)

Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -s 00:04.0 -nm
00:04.0 "0401" "10de" "0059" -ra2 "1043" "812a"

Not sure what you want for the second part. I use "ALSA:default" for the audio output device and "default" for the mixer. I also had to create a script in /etc/rc.local to get the coax working properly.

Author:  jigawho [ Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc. VT1720/24 [Envy24PT/HT] PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)

Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -s 00:08.0 -nm
00:08.0 "0401" "1412" "1724" -r01 "1412" "1724"


After using twk_audio.pl --implement digital everything works for one reboot, then I have to change to adsp to get sound in myth (av710 optical out). Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)

Human, what exactly does --implement digital do?

Author:  Martian [ Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:23 am ]
Post subject: 

jigawho wrote:
Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)

I believe there is an option in Xine to allow AC3 passthrough. I think it's in one of the more advanced menus. I no longer use Xine so I can't tell you exactly where but with the help of Google you should be able to find it.

Martian

Author:  brfransen [ Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

jigawho wrote:
Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)


Open the xine settings, select the Audio tab and in the "Speaker Arrangement" pulldown select "Pass Through".

Britney

Author:  jigawho [ Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:22 pm ]
Post subject: 

I appreciate the help, but the solution was a little more involved than that as detailed in this tread:
http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18534

Also, this is the thread for audio tweaker feedback...

Author:  Human [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:07 pm ]
Post subject: 

bobmyth wrote:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)

Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -s 00:04.0 -nm
00:04.0 "0401" "10de" "0059" -ra2 "1043" "812a"

Not sure what you want for the second part. I use "ALSA:default" for the audio output device and "default" for the mixer. I also had to create a script in /etc/rc.local to get the coax working properly.

Thanks for your post. Please post the script you needed, and please also indicate whether you use digital or analog output.

Author:  Human [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:10 pm ]
Post subject: 

jigawho wrote:
Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc. VT1720/24 [Envy24PT/HT] PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)

Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -s 00:08.0 -nm
00:08.0 "0401" "1412" "1724" -r01 "1412" "1724"


I recommend turning off the onboard sound in the BIOS so your add-on card is always identified as the main sound device.
jigawho wrote:
After using twk_audio.pl --implement digital everything works for one reboot, then I have to change to adsp to get sound in myth (av710 optical out). Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)

See above. I've never had the fortitude to have two audio devices enabled and only use one.
jigawho wrote:
Human, what exactly does --implement digital do?

It sets MythTV, ALSA, and mplayer to use digital audio for your sound device, if possible.

Author:  jigawho [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

The onboard device is actually disabled in the bios, alsa just ignores that setting for some reason, and has since R5D1. I've already surmounted he problem of audio device order by manually setting the order the modules load in. Even with this set, the audio tweaker seems to only work for one boot.

I had a funny xine passthrough problem that I had never seen before where I had to change the passthrough device and was wondering if it was related to a bug in the tweaker, but it sounds like the tweaker doesn't touch that.

Author:  Human [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:02 pm ]
Post subject: 

jigawho wrote:
The onboard device is actually disabled in the bios, alsa just ignores that setting for some reason, and has since R5D1. I've already surmounted he problem of audio device order by manually setting the order the modules load in. Even with this set, the audio tweaker seems to only work for one boot.

You seem to be saying conflicting things. If it's disabled in the BIOS, only one sound driver will ever get loaded. (EDIT: Unless the BIOS has a bug? Have you tried a BIOS update?)
jigawho wrote:
I had a funny xine passthrough problem that I had never seen before where I had to change the passthrough device and was wondering if it was related to a bug in the tweaker, but it sounds like the tweaker doesn't touch that.

Actually, it does edit xine's conf (I keep forgetting that xine exists). Here are the relevant lines, which trigger depending on whether you're implementing digital or analogstereo:
Code:
   switch($option) {
       case "analogstereo" {
      $command1 = "echo 'audio.output.speaker_arrangement:Stereo 2.0 #TWEAKER' >> $xine_conf";
       }
       case "analogsurround" {
      # Not supported yet.
       }
       case "digital" {
      $command1 = "echo -e 'audio.output.speaker_arrangement:Pass Through #TWEAKER\naudio.synchronization.passthrough_offset:$device #TWEAKER' >> $xine_conf";
       }
   }

Author:  jigawho [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 5:47 pm ]
Post subject: 

I thought it was strange too. But I've double checked it many times, and this is only an issue with alsa, it doesn't show up in windows, and it didn't show up in alsa prior to the version in R5D1 (if I remember correctly, I actually downgraded because of the issue).

It appears the script is unrelated to my issues, but I did notice that xine was set to mono sound even after I ran the script, just FYI. The setting I had to change in xine was the device for passthrough, not the output device.

Author:  bobmyth [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:28 pm ]
Post subject: 

Human wrote:
Thanks for your post. Please post the script you needed, and please also indicate whether you use digital or analog output.

I put this in /etc/rc.local:
Code:
# Configure surround sound
amixer -q sset Master 90% unmute
amixer -q sset "Master Mono" 90% unmute
amixer -q sset PCM 90% unmute 
amixer -q sset Surround 90% unmute 
amixer -q sset "Surround Jack Mode" "Independent" 
amixer -q sset Center 90% unmute 
amixer -q sset LFE 100% unmute 
amixer -q sset IEC958 100% unmute 
amixer -q sset "IEC958 Playback AC97-SPSA" 0%
amixer -q sset "IEC958 Playback Source" "PCM"
amixer -q sset "Channel Mode" "6ch"   
amixer -q sset "Duplicate Front" mute 

I also use the digital output.

I have been watching some threads on mythtv-users mailing list, any chance we can include the AVI file that allows user to test 5.1 audio?
http://download.tfm.ro/w32/test_ac3.rar

Author:  manicmike [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:59 pm ]
Post subject: 

bobmyth wrote:
any chance we can include the AVI file that allows user to test 5.1 audio?
http://download.tfm.ro/w32/test_ac3.rar


Hi Bob,

You can use the speaker-test thusly:

Code:
speaker-test -Dplug:surround51 -c6


Gives a nice hissing sound all around you.

Mike

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/