View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
This thread is intended as a place for you to provide feedback related to Tweaker's auto-detection and auto-configuration of digital audio devices in R5.5. It provides directions on how to provide feedback for your particular sound card and output setup.

1) Use the lspci utility as root to get your hardware ID(s).

Code:
root@black2:~# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a1)

You're looking for the first number here, "00:06.0" so you can use it to look up the ID codes:
Code:
root@black2:~# lspci -nm | grep 00:06.0
00:06.0 "0401" "10de" "00ea" -ra1 "1695" "100b"


2) Report both of those along with what audio setting worked or didn't work for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:43 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:50 am
Posts: 102
Everything works, using a Chaintek AV-710 optical out to a Denon AVR-3805
Code:
root@mythtv:/home/dave# lspci -v | grep -i audio
01:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc. VT1720/24 [Envy24PT/HT] PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controller (rev 01)
01:0a.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)
01:0a.1 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [Audio Port] (rev 05)
01:0a.2 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [MPEG Port] (rev 05)
01:0a.4 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [IR Port] (rev 05)
root@mythtv:/home/dave# lspci -nm | grep 01:08.0
01:08.0 "0401" "1412" "1724" -r01 "1412" "1724"
root@mythtv:/home/dave#


Note- fixed the second grep command per tjc's comment


Last edited by pilesofspam on Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:20 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
pilesofspam - I think you should have been searching for 01:08.0 not 00:08.0 in that 2nd command.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 177
Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)

Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -s 00:04.0 -nm
00:04.0 "0401" "10de" "0059" -ra2 "1043" "812a"

Not sure what you want for the second part. I use "ALSA:default" for the audio output device and "default" for the mixer. I also had to create a script in /etc/rc.local to get the coax working properly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:18 pm
Posts: 112
Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc. VT1720/24 [Envy24PT/HT] PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)

Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -s 00:08.0 -nm
00:08.0 "0401" "1412" "1724" -r01 "1412" "1724"


After using twk_audio.pl --implement digital everything works for one reboot, then I have to change to adsp to get sound in myth (av710 optical out). Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)

Human, what exactly does --implement digital do?

_________________
MBE:AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (venice),MSI K8MM-v Motherboard (via chip based), PVR-500, Chaintech av710, IDE Hard drive
SBE:P4 3Ghz, Asus P4G800, PVR-250, IDE Hard Drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
jigawho wrote:
Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)

I believe there is an option in Xine to allow AC3 passthrough. I think it's in one of the more advanced menus. I no longer use Xine so I can't tell you exactly where but with the help of Google you should be able to find it.

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1016
Location: SC
jigawho wrote:
Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)


Open the xine settings, select the Audio tab and in the "Speaker Arrangement" pulldown select "Pass Through".

Britney


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:18 pm
Posts: 112
I appreciate the help, but the solution was a little more involved than that as detailed in this tread:
http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18534

Also, this is the thread for audio tweaker feedback...

_________________
MBE:AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (venice),MSI K8MM-v Motherboard (via chip based), PVR-500, Chaintech av710, IDE Hard drive
SBE:P4 3Ghz, Asus P4G800, PVR-250, IDE Hard Drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
bobmyth wrote:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)

Code:
root@mythtv:~# lspci -s 00:04.0 -nm
00:04.0 "0401" "10de" "0059" -ra2 "1043" "812a"

Not sure what you want for the second part. I use "ALSA:default" for the audio output device and "default" for the mixer. I also had to create a script in /etc/rc.local to get the coax working properly.

Thanks for your post. Please post the script you needed, and please also indicate whether you use digital or analog output.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
jigawho wrote:
Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -v | grep -i audio
00:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc. VT1720/24 [Envy24PT/HT] PCI Multi-Channel Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)

Code:
root@Retrospecticus:/home/rybeckman# lspci -s 00:08.0 -nm
00:08.0 "0401" "1412" "1724" -r01 "1412" "1724"


I recommend turning off the onboard sound in the BIOS so your add-on card is always identified as the main sound device.
jigawho wrote:
After using twk_audio.pl --implement digital everything works for one reboot, then I have to change to adsp to get sound in myth (av710 optical out). Still haven't figured out a way to get xine to passthrough DD or DTS (probably need a new asound.conf)

See above. I've never had the fortitude to have two audio devices enabled and only use one.
jigawho wrote:
Human, what exactly does --implement digital do?

It sets MythTV, ALSA, and mplayer to use digital audio for your sound device, if possible.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:18 pm
Posts: 112
The onboard device is actually disabled in the bios, alsa just ignores that setting for some reason, and has since R5D1. I've already surmounted he problem of audio device order by manually setting the order the modules load in. Even with this set, the audio tweaker seems to only work for one boot.

I had a funny xine passthrough problem that I had never seen before where I had to change the passthrough device and was wondering if it was related to a bug in the tweaker, but it sounds like the tweaker doesn't touch that.

_________________
MBE:AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (venice),MSI K8MM-v Motherboard (via chip based), PVR-500, Chaintech av710, IDE Hard drive
SBE:P4 3Ghz, Asus P4G800, PVR-250, IDE Hard Drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
jigawho wrote:
The onboard device is actually disabled in the bios, alsa just ignores that setting for some reason, and has since R5D1. I've already surmounted he problem of audio device order by manually setting the order the modules load in. Even with this set, the audio tweaker seems to only work for one boot.

You seem to be saying conflicting things. If it's disabled in the BIOS, only one sound driver will ever get loaded. (EDIT: Unless the BIOS has a bug? Have you tried a BIOS update?)
jigawho wrote:
I had a funny xine passthrough problem that I had never seen before where I had to change the passthrough device and was wondering if it was related to a bug in the tweaker, but it sounds like the tweaker doesn't touch that.

Actually, it does edit xine's conf (I keep forgetting that xine exists). Here are the relevant lines, which trigger depending on whether you're implementing digital or analogstereo:
Code:
   switch($option) {
       case "analogstereo" {
      $command1 = "echo 'audio.output.speaker_arrangement:Stereo 2.0 #TWEAKER' >> $xine_conf";
       }
       case "analogsurround" {
      # Not supported yet.
       }
       case "digital" {
      $command1 = "echo -e 'audio.output.speaker_arrangement:Pass Through #TWEAKER\naudio.synchronization.passthrough_offset:$device #TWEAKER' >> $xine_conf";
       }
   }

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 5:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:18 pm
Posts: 112
I thought it was strange too. But I've double checked it many times, and this is only an issue with alsa, it doesn't show up in windows, and it didn't show up in alsa prior to the version in R5D1 (if I remember correctly, I actually downgraded because of the issue).

It appears the script is unrelated to my issues, but I did notice that xine was set to mono sound even after I ran the script, just FYI. The setting I had to change in xine was the device for passthrough, not the output device.

_________________
MBE:AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (venice),MSI K8MM-v Motherboard (via chip based), PVR-500, Chaintech av710, IDE Hard drive
SBE:P4 3Ghz, Asus P4G800, PVR-250, IDE Hard Drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 177
Human wrote:
Thanks for your post. Please post the script you needed, and please also indicate whether you use digital or analog output.

I put this in /etc/rc.local:
Code:
# Configure surround sound
amixer -q sset Master 90% unmute
amixer -q sset "Master Mono" 90% unmute
amixer -q sset PCM 90% unmute 
amixer -q sset Surround 90% unmute 
amixer -q sset "Surround Jack Mode" "Independent" 
amixer -q sset Center 90% unmute 
amixer -q sset LFE 100% unmute 
amixer -q sset IEC958 100% unmute 
amixer -q sset "IEC958 Playback AC97-SPSA" 0%
amixer -q sset "IEC958 Playback Source" "PCM"
amixer -q sset "Channel Mode" "6ch"   
amixer -q sset "Duplicate Front" mute 

I also use the digital output.

I have been watching some threads on mythtv-users mailing list, any chance we can include the AVI file that allows user to test 5.1 audio?
http://download.tfm.ro/w32/test_ac3.rar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:59 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:07 pm
Posts: 821
Location: Melbourne, Australia
bobmyth wrote:
any chance we can include the AVI file that allows user to test 5.1 audio?
http://download.tfm.ro/w32/test_ac3.rar


Hi Bob,

You can use the speaker-test thusly:

Code:
speaker-test -Dplug:surround51 -c6


Gives a nice hissing sound all around you.

Mike

_________________
*********************
LinHES 7.4
Australian Dragon
*********************


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu